We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Mazatlan, maybe mexico.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Gaviotas, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 42 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Nolefan2008
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Mazatlan, maybe mexico.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

If you don't stay with Dorothy and Capt.Moe while in Mazatlan you will miss more than my words can express. I 'm considered a southern belle, so hospitatality is my middle name. This B&B is great, but the owners are awesome and so full of wisdom about the area, where and what to do, I would have missed so much. To Dorothy & The Captain I am eternally grateful. I will add my husband and I have bought a trust (property) in Mazatlan , my flowers are in potsso we do not have the lovely courtyards and flower bed that the B&B has. However, I will always have the freindship of 2 of the most gracious people you will ever meet,and they are not even from the deep south (Alabama).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
55
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I live in Mexico about 1/2 time and travel there extensively. Moe and Dorothy's place is the best place I've stayed. They are the most delightful and helpful hosts ever. The place is beautiful, relaxing, and close to everything. Breakfast is wonderful on the patio. Sunning up on the deck is great! The rooms are very comfortable. But best of all you get Moe and Dorothy too. They are so welcoming and helpful with anything you need. What a wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed 2 nights as our luggage did not make it the first night. Very happy we had another night at Captain Moe's in Mazatlan. Room was spotless, courtyard divine and breakfast offering is vast. There is no better value for this experience. I normally like to stay on the beach, but actually found this location about 3 blocks off the beach and in a really great neighborhood to be perfect. We could easily park our rental car. When our luggage did arrive, we had a bottle of wine break in our luggage and Dorothy was kind enough to help me with washing a few items to try and get the wine out. I would stay at no other place in Mazatlan!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

If you have been to Mazatlan and haven't stayed at Cap't Moe's B&B, then you haven't seen Mazatlan.

Absolutely beautiful, relaxing, charming B&B only 3 blocks from the ocean/shopping/restaurants. The best part of the stay was Moe & Dorothy. Absolutely charming, witty, fun people and if there is anything you want to know about Mazatlan, they know it. Where to go, where to shop, where to eat, where to play.

I think the best part of Capitan Moe's B&B is, that your next trip to Mazatlan, you have personal friends, know where they live, a great place to stay and while you are on vacation, they make you feel like home. They alone are worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed three nights at the beginning of our 4 week vacation and it set the mood for a wonderful trip. Very clean, well appointed, and within walking distance of the Golden Zone. Their recommendations we're very helpful and when it was time to leave, Mo gave us a ride to our hotel. Not expected but greatly appreciated.

We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I traveled with my daughter Danielle, her best friend Shannon, and her mother Kathy on there senior trip. The girls went right to the beach as soon as we got there, and Dorothy assured us they were safe; we were so happy the girls loved it. We all got manicures and pedicures in the relaxing court yard, that Dorothy arranged for us. Whatever we needed Dorothy knew right were to get it!! The Golden Zone was such a nice, safe place to stay in! We loved the friendly atmosphere that Captain Moe’s has. Generally in life, you get what you pay for, yet Capt Moe’s was an exception. It far exceeded what we expected for our budget. The view of the ocean from the patio roof was truly gorgeous. The rooms were clean and large and had everything we needed and more even a safe for are lap top.We made phone calls to the states for free ...Dorothy again... The daily breakfast offered was homemade granola, fresh fruit, a variety of danish/muffins, and we had fresh coffee waiting for us every morning. And, of course, the captain would make us eggs and bacon if we asked nicely. It was always a great way to start the day! It was great having our own fridge in the room with free bottles of water and water coolers available right outside the room. Overall it was a great experience that we plan to do again. Soon we hope!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Across_Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We have stayed here many, many times and we have never failed to appreciate Dorothy and Moe (and Zoe). They can advise you of some great places to eat very economically (don't miss the Shrimp Ladies). Over the years we have watched them help many people with things like unexpected medical emergencies, lost baggage, you name it- they will do everything they can to help you. They are truly wonderful people and you will enjoy visiting with them and their other guests in the morning over a relaxing breakfast that is sure to be delicious and enjoyable. We especially enjoy their roof top which has comfortable sitting and fantastic views of the sunset.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Gaviotas, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Golden Zone" of Mazatlan and within walking distance to the beaches, restaurants, shops and transportation, this relaxing Bed & Breakfast offers smoke-free rooms and is situated amongst a tropical courtyard and offers the following amenities: free phone calls to USA and Canada, private entrance, private bathrooms, refrigerators in rooms, separate courtyard, kitchen. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.