We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Opposite of Plain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast
Gaviotas, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Alberta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Opposite of Plain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My dad came down to visit in February and stayed, for the second time, at Captain Moe's. Barring a nuclear winter or zombie apocalypse, I think he will be back.

Moe's is more B&B than hotel, more natural than sterile, and more social than anonymous. Wireless internet and laundry were included, and the download speed was pushing 10 Mbps, so that solves a few problems right there. If you're not from around here, you can ask them anything and get a clear and independent answer, something that's hard to find at a hotel of any price.

It's not decorated as a hotel, certainly watering that many plants would drive the maids insane in a full size hotel. It's like a really comfortable terrace/garden in the communal areas, and there's only a handful of rooms so communal often means just yours.

Breakfast and coffee is a big plus, as are the people providing it. Just friendly and intelligent and kind, not a complicated formula nor need it be. If this sounds good to you, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
53
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and I had a great relaxing stay at Captain Moe’s this past February. Superb hospitality, as noted in other postings. We didn’t feel anxious about wandering around Mazatlan at all. We bicycled, walked and bused around all areas of the town and never once felt unsafe. The reports of violence are misleading...as one expert commented, “the Beach is not the Border”.
I recommend a stay at Moe and Dorothy's as a great antidote to the bleak Canadian midwinter blues syndrome.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I came back for the relaxed, warm and comfortable feeling I get when with Moe and Dorothy. The breakfast is great, with many choices - enough to last all day! The location is excellent - close to the Golden Zone, buses, etc. At the same time, it is quiet, safe, clean and comfortable. Often my breakfast would last for over an hour, talking to other guests, and a variety of others that might drop in for a coffee to visit Moe and Dorothy. Lots of information on what's going on and where to go. If you are looking for something other than an impersonal hotel room, this is the place for you - I highly recommend staying at Capt. Moe's.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at Moe and Dorothy's for two weeks in January 2012. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Mini-fridges were available in each suite. Breakfasts were varied and the food was excellent. There was always fresh fruit, granola, rolls, or do-it-yourself eggs in the outdoor kitchen. We couldn't have asked for better hosts. Moe & Dorothy have a relaxed attitude and are very flexible in meeting people's different schedules for breakfast and their food preferences. Each day there is a cast of characters who come by the courtyard of the B & B for visits. It is a mix of quirky personalities, a shared sense of fun and pure theater. And then there is the resident dog, Zoey. This wirey Jack Russell will shamelessly attach herself to anyone who looks like a meal ticket. If her people leave she begs to be taken care of and will make herself right at home in your room. In all, Moe and Dorothy's is more than a B & B, it is an experience. Tacoma Chef

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I can't thank Moe and Dorothy enough for the wonderful hospitality they showed me during my 25 day stay for dentistry in Matzatlan. They make the best breakfast's ever! They even accommodated my specific eating limitations because of the dentistry and treated me like a King. Moe made me belly laugh with his hilarious stories of his Kentucky childhood, his days as a river boat Captain on the Mississippi and roaming the Florida Keys and Caribbean. If you are the Grinch or grouchy- this won't be the place for you. I would recommend staying at Captain Moe's to everyone- I left there feeling like a part of their big fabulous family; and truly miss Moe, Dorothy and the daily Breakfast Club

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We prefer B&B anywhere we travel.When we booked Capt. Moe's, we didn't expect the attention that we received. We stayed an extended time and were treated like family the whole time. I would give this facility a ten plus and recommend it to anyone traveling to the Golden Zone in Mazatlan. The breakfast was more than adequate and choices that match most buffets in the area. If you miss staying with Dorothy and Moe, then you are going to miss the most pleasant experiences you'll be able to talk about for years. I will not hesitate in telling you that you need to experience the quiet atmosphere and personal attention you will get there. Gary (Mosie) from Iowa

Room Tip: Talk to Dorothy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolefan2008
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

What can one say about the charm, location and atmosphere of a great B&B? Dorothy and Moe are great hosts, know the area and their "home" is beautiful. Great location within easy walking distance of the Golden Zone but still in an area where you get the local atmosphere. Free calls to the US are a big plus. You won't go wrong staying with this great couple in a beautiful B&B

Room Tip: They all look over a beautiful patio. One room on the ground level all others upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Gaviotas, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Golden Zone" of Mazatlan and within walking distance to the beaches, restaurants, shops and transportation, this relaxing Bed & Breakfast offers smoke-free rooms and is situated amongst a tropical courtyard and offers the following amenities: free phone calls to USA and Canada, private entrance, private bathrooms, refrigerators in rooms, separate courtyard, kitchen. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Captain Moe's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list