We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Olas Altas No. 79 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
winnipeg
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed their 3 nites and it was very comfortable. It has great in room wireless. Beds were comfortable. Had a room on the ocean side and it was great watching the sunsets. The drain in our shower didn't work well, but was quickly fixed. My biggest complaint would be that the elevator only runs to the 9th floor and you have to walk up two flights to the bar and pool. Water is not "potable" as they warn you. But they do leave a free bottle in every room and you can get more in the bar. Great loaction..close to some good restaurants (The Shrimp Bucket). I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
29
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa clara, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

I did NOT stay at the Posada but I wished I had. I stayed with friends in a home 2 blocks from the Posada. 2 blocks away from the beach, and my air conditioned room at my friend's house was 83 degrees - no breeze from outside, so I kept the windows closed! I could have opened them at the Posada! It was an unusually HOT October when I visited.

My visit to the Posada occurred while taking a walk on the promenade by the sea. We looked up and saw the shadows of the turning fans in the top floor Cocktail Lounge. We entered the hotel, went up to the 9th floor, and walked up another flight to the open bar. The windows were open and the breeze was gently flowing in. Fantastic views, relaxing, we ordered sandwiches and cocktails. It was divine!

We then followed the sound of live music up one more flight to the Pool deck, where a band was playing and people were enjoying drinks around the quaint SMALL pool (not as big as it seems in photos). Again, breathtaking views and a nice breeze away from the heat that exists even 2 blocks away from the beach.

Stop here for a snack or drink in the evening. If I came again, I'd probably stay here - I am not interested in the overcongested touristy Golden Beach area!

The Posada is located only a few blocks from the old El Centro district, where you can meet many local Mexicans and American/European ex-patriates. There's a great seafood restaurant next door, and turn right at that corner to go 3 blocks to the Central Square where there are many find restaurants around a central plaza. Also nice art stores. And a few blocks from there, if you are adventurous, you can go into an authentic Mexican market, where they sell food, produce, meat, cheese, as well as clothing and tourist souveniers!

  • Liked — Quiet location near the Old Central district of Mazatlan
  • Disliked — Not disabled friendly - need to walk up 1 flight from the 9th floor to get to the bar, and another flight to the pool. No elevator beyond 9th floor.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

We needed one night before checking into our week at a timeshare, so from Best Western's website, this looked good.

It is old! We were very dispapointed. We paid more Best Western points here than anywhere else we've stayed. Has a very small pool, but is located on the beach. It does have a nice buffet breakfast included in the price. However, there's a sign above bathroom sink in that room saying "not potable". The water is NOT purified!! My husband went down in the evening to buy a water bottle from the front desk, but the man at the desk said he didn't have a key to the bar. So my husband, who does NOT speak spanish, went outside and walked around until he found an open market where he bought a bottle for 80 american cents. I would NOT stay there again!!

  • Liked — internet in room
  • Disliked — no purified water!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights in early Jan 08, room on level 8 was ok (on city side), clean and comfortable. Rooftop pool area is ok but windy & poolside furniture in need of replacement (rusty broken & has seen MANY coats of paint. Breakfast was so so. Reasonable rather than pleasing overall.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

This hotel is by far one of the best hotels in Centro, although not the cheapest. It has oceanviews, with views to the town also available. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are large and you have a sense of safety. The rooms are decorated with Mexican colors and comes with all the neccesities of a good hotel (TV, phone, Cable, Internet (wireless), buffet breakfast, maid service)

The buffet breakfast is well worth trying. The lobby area has seating with tables and chairs overlooking the ocean. Breakfast is included for guests, but anyone can come and try the breakfast for $70 Pesos.

The top floor has a banquet room, a bar and a pool. One of the best views of Mazatlan, not to be missed! Beers arent cheap there, but as a guest, you can use the pool freely. If you are not a guest of the hotel, you can still use the pool (which I would advise because I live here and use their pool!! hehehe) but you are expected to buy a beer or two (not hard to do in weather like Mazaltan's)
The staff there are friendly, all speak english and are very helpful. They can answer all your questions and suggest places to eat, walk around, or the local attractions ( of which there are MANY!)
Mazatlan is a great place to visit. I would strongly reccomend this hotel, as it will make your stay in Mazatlan a much more comftable one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbugmex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

We enjoyed staying at the Pasada Freeman Hotel, it was clean and the staff were friendly. We had a room over looking the ocean, really nice! The pool is located on the roof top, a great place for a drink at sunset.
note: If booking online make sure you bring your receipt, they had a problem finding ours.

The hotel is in a great location, very close to the Historic District, this is a fun area, great restaurants and lots of music. Zona Dorada is about 20 mins. by taxi and it's just to american even the prices all in US$ mexican souveniers were so over priced. It's better to shop on the back streets you can find all kinds of hidden shops, easier to bargain.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montclair
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Hotel was recommended by a friend. Rooms were nice, staff was cordial; breakfast was included and enjoyable..

The second time I stayed there w/o my Mexican contact, it seemed as if I was treated a bit differently; more like a tourist. Rooms were still clean and nice. Good view. Even though two breakfasts were included in the reservation, an additional charge was added for the second person. Didn't seem fair to pay twice. No consideration was given

Overall a good place.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express

Address: Av. Olas Altas No. 79 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada Freeman Express Hotel Mazatlan
Best Western Mazatlan
Best Western Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.