We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Olas Altas No. 79 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 74 hotels in Mazatlan
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Laid Back and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed in Posada with a sea facing room around the end of May. There was a strong breeze all the time.
Good internet connectivity. In house dining is also good.
very close to the good joints. The rooms have the old Spanish colonial charm, like wooden fans with lights on them. Old style bathroom decor, very tall and airy rooms,

Room Tip: Take one of the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
24
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent a week here on the 7th floor overlooking the beautiful ocean. Many days, there would be surfers surfing right outside on the beach. There is an amazing breakfast in the morning included in the rate. This is the quiet part of the Mazatlan beach scene, but there is still plenty of action. It was easy to take a bus or open air cab to the Zona Dorada, or other beaches. There are some minor maintenance issues-- the fridge rocked, toliet broke but was fixed promptly--nothing stressful. Perhaps the most outstanding thing, besides the amazing view and the incredible pool with a view and cold drinks, was the staff--super helpful,eager to talk to gringos who didn't necessarily speak Spanish, and very kind. I felt like family after a few days. They would check in with us about what we were doing, offer suggestions, and steer us away from bad ideas (like going on a boat to an offshore island when thunderstorm was expected.). All in all a great, relaxing vacation. i dont know why more people dont come to Mazatlan!

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views are worth the price. They all face out to the beautiful tall waves and you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Things started okay, but the power in the building went out, we were 150 steps to the lobby. Our phone in the room was dead, the Wifi was not working, the TV remote did not work, nor did the TV when the power was restored. As a result of the power failure, the water in the toilet and sink turned brown. We reserved a room with a view and did get it, however, due to the power outage (in the hotel only), we were moved to their other property in the Golden Zone and the room was very inferior to what we wanted. The hotel offered their apology but nothing else. I can go on, but I will stop here as the story is too long. Hopefully future guests do not experience a similar event.

Room Tip: Had the hotel not had a power failure, our stay would have been much better. If you stay in the Ola...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

On our 5th trip to Maz someone asked if we had ever gone to the rooftop bar at the Freeman Hotel and we had no idea of what they were talking about. The took us the next day - around sunset - and we LOVED IT!! The view from their outdoor rooftop pool area is awesome. A 360 degree view of the city and the beach. Perfect, perfect, perfect!!! They serve drinks both on the rooftop and also on the floor below it which has sliding glass windows and the same fantastic views. I believe Happy Hour was at 6pm which was perfect timing - enjoy a beverage (great 2 for 1 pricing) and watch the sunset! They also serve food; however, this for us is our new "sunset" must see spot. We will return - give it a try - the view is great any time of day, but OH BOY is it a spot for sunset!

Room Tip: Try for the sixth floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The wonderful staff made us feel really welcome and at home. Our Expedia reservation had not come in when we checked in, but Isaac at the front desk didn't bat an eyelash and put us in one of the best rooms in the house, on the 8th floor. We had an ocean view room and enjoyed sunsets and the sound of the waves crashing on the beach, but since we were so high up, we could hear very little street noise. There is a nice balcony with chairs to enjoy the sun or you can go to the rooftop pool.

As others have said, the buffet breakfasts are very good and Roberto and crew will order you an omelet or French toast if you like. The beds are firm but better than in other Mexican hotels. The rooms are clean, bright, and spacious, and the maid service is thorough and efficient. Note that there is no toaster or microwave in the room as on one of the websites. But there is a coffeemaker, hair dryer, safe, TV with a dozen or so English channels, and free wifi. The elevator is interesting but you get used to it, and as far as I am concerned, it is quite safe.

This hotel is not a five-star all inclusive, and that's not what we wanted. It is a budget hotel that offers a Mexican feel with English-speaking North American service. It's in the heart of the Old Town, and literally dozens of restaurants are nearby, offering Mexican, American, Sushi, pizza, coffee, the works. There's a bike rental nearby so you can ride up the Malecon to Valentino's, about an hour ride each way. It's a 10 minute walk to the ferry to Stone Island, or to the Plazuela Machado. Frequent bus service can get you to Mega or El Cid if you so desire. I'm definitely going back.

Room Tip: Book an oceanside room on the 7th or 8th floor to be above street noise but still able to hear the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We felt as though we were experiencing life among Mexicans instead of other tourists during our stay. Our balcony faced the ocean and the seawall where every morning we saw people going to work, taking their kids to school and walking their dogs. Delicious buffet breakfast included. Our waiter offered us choices not on the buffet. Clean rooms and gracious hotel staff. Lots of good restaurant choices nearby. Walking distance to Plaza Machado. All for under $100 C per night!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We were on a driving trip from Oregon to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, and decided to take a break from the driving by spending three nights in Mazatlan. After a previous stay, we knew we preferred to stay near the historic town center instead of the touristy Golden Zone. And because we had our car, we wanted a place with off-street parking. After an online search, we chose the Freeman, which is right across the street from the beach at Olas Altas. We were so happy with our choice!

We got a room with two comfy double beds with a partial ocean view. It was very clean, and had an armoire for hanging clothes, a safe, a desk, a nice bath with beautiful vintage Mexican tiles and a hair dryer. The very reasonable price of the room included an AMAZING Mexican breakfast buffet that included eggs with ham, chilaquiles, yogurt, fruit, cereal, milk, beans, salsas, fresh squeezed orange juice, good coffee, etc. The servers even offered to make custom omlets. It was quite a morning feast, and the servers were fun and personable.

The hotel was built in the 1940s and retains the old word elegance with beautiful artistic touches. The painting on the domed ceiling in the lobby is gorgeous. Also, the hotel is one of the tallest buildings in the area, and the 10th floor rooftop deck/bar offers perhaps the most stunning sunset views in the city.

A word of caution: We laughingly referred to the hotel elevator as "Lurch" because it made some weird sounds and sometimes shook a bit. But it was perfectly safe, and we felt comfortable after the first ride.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express

Address: Av. Olas Altas No. 79 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada Freeman Express Hotel Mazatlan
Best Western Mazatlan
Best Western Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.