We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay in the historic centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Olas Altas No. 79 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in the historic centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We felt as though we were experiencing life among Mexicans instead of other tourists during our stay. Our balcony faced the ocean and the seawall where every morning we saw people going to work, taking their kids to school and walking their dogs. Delicious buffet breakfast included. Our waiter offered us choices not on the buffet. Clean rooms and gracious hotel staff. Lots of good restaurant choices nearby. Walking distance to Plaza Machado. All for under $100 C per night!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
24
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We were on a driving trip from Oregon to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, and decided to take a break from the driving by spending three nights in Mazatlan. After a previous stay, we knew we preferred to stay near the historic town center instead of the touristy Golden Zone. And because we had our car, we wanted a place with off-street parking. After an online search, we chose the Freeman, which is right across the street from the beach at Olas Altas. We were so happy with our choice!

We got a room with two comfy double beds with a partial ocean view. It was very clean, and had an armoire for hanging clothes, a safe, a desk, a nice bath with beautiful vintage Mexican tiles and a hair dryer. The very reasonable price of the room included an AMAZING Mexican breakfast buffet that included eggs with ham, chilaquiles, yogurt, fruit, cereal, milk, beans, salsas, fresh squeezed orange juice, good coffee, etc. The servers even offered to make custom omlets. It was quite a morning feast, and the servers were fun and personable.

The hotel was built in the 1940s and retains the old word elegance with beautiful artistic touches. The painting on the domed ceiling in the lobby is gorgeous. Also, the hotel is one of the tallest buildings in the area, and the 10th floor rooftop deck/bar offers perhaps the most stunning sunset views in the city.

A word of caution: We laughingly referred to the hotel elevator as "Lurch" because it made some weird sounds and sometimes shook a bit. But it was perfectly safe, and we felt comfortable after the first ride.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great value for the price! Very good service, nice and full buffet breakfast, on site parking, wi fi, ocean view rooms, roof top pool and bar with happy hour, beach across the street and nice restaurants within walking distance as well as a liquor store :)

Room Tip: Get ocean view and higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Professional service, room with a view, great value for the price. A very nice full buffet breakfast is included which included everything from fruits, mexican dishes and traditional American choices.
The hotel has an upscale feel to it and we will definitely be back.
Great on sauté parking.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 4 or 5 closest to ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mazatland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

when in mazatland a must see is the freeman hotel.The view of mazatland is immpressive.The pool up top is wonderfull and the whole feel of the hotel with its rich history and charm are a must see.friendly staff and bar tender. food ok better resturants down the street .nice beach out frount but watch the undertow .

Room Tip: ocean view or old city view are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I am here at this facility right now and must say I am impressed wit the rooms. For the price it is nice with a great view of the ocean. The food for the free breakfast is not good however. There are some very good restaurants close by to fit the breakfast need but the hotel ois clean and the beds are nice. They need to get rid of these small old televisions though. Will stay here for my trips to Mazatlan in the future..... TIP THE MAIDS!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

attended a wedding at this small and intimate hotel.......the rooms are very basic but clean and for the 65 bucks a night including a very good breakfast cant be beat..........found all the staff to be very attentive........if you need anything ask juanny in sales and she will help you. thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express

Address: Av. Olas Altas No. 79 Sur, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada Freeman Express Hotel Mazatlan
Best Western Mazatlan
Best Western Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.