We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing time in Old Town Mazatlan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Romantica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Romantica
Save
You added Casa Romantica to your Saves list
213 Mariano Escabedo, Mazatlan, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
North Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Relaxing time in Old Town Mazatlan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent six great weeks in Casa Romantica during December and January.
The house is a beautifully designed with many elegant artistic touches, lofty ceilings, lots of light through huge french doors off the terrace, an abundance of stained glass , arched doorways, custom spiral staircase with stained glass inserts. It's a pleasure just to sit and admire the craftsmanship.The master bedroom and bath are huge and well equipped. The spiral staircase leads to a loft second bedroom equipped with a trundle bed and an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen is fully equipped with top of the line appliances including a dishwasher.
My wife has a small concern that the classy black granite counter top is a bit of a reach for her. The counter doubles as a eating area off the living room so is built at barstool height which is a tad high for a short person to work at on the kitchen side.
The private terrace at the back was fantastic to enjoy with a glass of wine or a morning coffee. December was a little cool for us to be lounging in the small pool but it will be nice to cool off in during warmer times. We also enjoyed the rooftop terrace for sunning and reading in the afternoons.
It was wonderful to enjoy a choice of restaurants on the Malecon just one block away or walk three blocks to Plaza Machado to see a wide choice of musical entertainment and dining.
All in all we had a fantastic relaxing stay in a place that was perfectly locatied to enjoy the best of Mazatlan Viejo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We have just come back from Mazatlan after spending a wonderful month at Casa Romantica in the historic area. The house is certainly beautiful and was very well maintained. The owner Peter had been there prior to our arrival to make sure that all was in order and he and Luis, the manager, couldn't have been more helpful. We spent most of the time outside enjoying the birds and warm weather and the evenings swimming in the pool. Location, location, location! It was perfect...close to the Malacon with all its outdoor patio restaurants and beautiful views of the sunset. We regularly visited the Machado, just a few blocks away, where the restaurants too were excellent. A few blocks the other way was the market where we shopped for fruit, vegetables and fish. Our neighbours were wonderful.....most welcoming, always there if we needed them and very anxious to help in every way. The Guide put together by Cheri and Peter is very helpful and their recommendations pretty much bang on. If you get a chance walk to the top of the Lighthouse to witness wonderful views of Mazatlan and enjoy a meal at the lovely little restaurant on the harbour, La Puntilla. Also try the smashed potatoes offered after 7:00 p.m. in a little stand on Zaragoza up a few blocks from the Malacon. The house has been newly painted and is gorgeous!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

How can you possibly describe paradise? Oh right, THIS HOUSE. Before I even start to comment on how perfect the house is, let’s start with the owner, Cheri. I had about 101 questions to ask her about the house and the area of Mazatlan and she would always promptly return my emails with not only the information I requested, but with lots more helpful info as well. She provided us with maps, and an amazing home made guide to the area comprised of information that her family and guests have learned over the last decade - she even translated how to ask for a cab to the house from the airport for us. The guide was not typical stuff you can find online, I'm talking about some of the best kept secrets of Mazatlan.

The house was absolutely perfect. Amazing stained glass, tall ceilings, A/C, full kitchen with fridge, stove, oven, grill, Jacuzzi out back with little waterfalls, upper level outside for relaxing in the sun, and the garden will blow your mind. We went for our honeymoon, and we will never forget this house! The pictures simply don't do it any justice.

We HIGHLY suggest going to "Isla de la Piedra" (Rock Island) to hang out with Eli (and family) who in part owns "Pizza Benji's" aka "Don Juan's". If you go soon you'll also meet Deepac, the British Indian who's been traveling the globe for the last two and a half years.

Feel free to ask Cheri for our contact info (Jon and Kayte) - we'll be a good reference for life!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We have rented this house for 1 week for the past two years. It is as beautiful as the photos, and in the old section of Mazatlan, which a relaxed and enjoyable area. There are art galleries, shops, market, beach all within walking distance. The people in the area are very friendly, the beach was fun and it was an overall great experience. We have two kids, and they both want to go back to the same house this year. The managers are great and are there to accommodate. Sounds like the people above were just cranky in general. Mexico is rustic, none of the houses have screens. You can't stop the birds from pooping. When you rent a house, there are certain expectations of the renter, like doing what homeowners do in Mexico, they sweep daily. We would highly recommend staying at Casa Romantica!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan,Alberta,Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We rented the casa for two weeks. The casa has been for sale for over 4 years and that is probably when the photos were taken. The house and yard needs TLC. The paint is peeling and the wrought iron is corroding. The cd/tape player, the oven, one stove element and the barbeque are not functioning. The outside courtyard is secluded with beautiful trees and bouganvilla, attracting all sorts of birds which were great to listen to. However, the outside patio furniture and daybed are left uncovered and are soiled with bird droppings. The spa-pool is also a receptacle for the droppings, making the water unsanitary. The only bedroom is located adjacent to the street, so tenants are subjected to pedestrian conversation and yelling, dogs barking, loud music from the open pulmonias and honk of car horns. To enter and exit the casa entails using three separate keys, so on a normal day, one would use the keys 18 times. It is very secure because of the locks and the second story razor wire enclosing the upper deck. The owner discourages use of airconditioning, however none of the doors or windows have screens, making the interior accessible to all sorts of insects, including a 5" spider. On the good note,the casa is located in an area making everything a tourist wants very accessible. However there are lots of other rentals available in the area for a more reasonable price. We also waited for 4 1/2 weeks for the prompt return of our damage deposit. No phone if an emergency did occur.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Romantica

Address: 213 Mariano Escabedo, Mazatlan, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Number of rooms: 229

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.