We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views, ocean breezes, take your camera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Phoenix
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, ocean breezes, take your camera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very nice course, well designed. the breeze off the ocean keeps you cooler but it is still humid. The staff was great, the Professional was very friendly, pro shop well stocked and they got us out before our tee time. The pricing after playing Cabo was a breathe of fresh air too. Mazatlan has the best prices we found on the entire trip.

Room Tip: We just enjoyed the property from a cruise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have traveled to mazatlan many times and play Estrella del mar every time, the course is always immaculate the staff and the golf attendants are great ..I would go back anytime at all. Love it.. The holes along the beach are beautiful of course with the wind you have to club down on 16.
Planning a trip again soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawissa, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent a week in a condo and it was paradise! July and August are the two hottest months of the year. There aren't a lot of people at the resort during these months. Which we felt was perfect! We had the pool and beach to ourselves for 3 of the 7 days there.

The resort is 10 min from the airport. They will pick you up and drop you off if you need them to. It's really nice to get your luggage, ck into your condo at the resort and head to the pool within an hour.
The grounds are immaculate. There are always people cleaning and servicing the grounds.

The golf course is breathtaking. There are 6 oceanfront holes. It was a beautiful course. We played early one morning and the views were great!

The staff at Estrella Del Mar was very kind and helpful. They will shuttle you anywhere you would like to go. We took a shuttle one day to Mazatlan and spent the day sight seeing and shopping.

We can't wait to return!



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We golfed here on may 29, 2013. We were in mazatlan staying at Hotel Playa for our wedding. We made tee times online before we arrived. The drive was a little long but well worth it once we arrived. The course was immaculate and the staff was wonderful. We weren't rushed in to starting before we hit some practice balls. We felt like we were the only ones on the course. Great facilities at holes 6 and 13 I believe as well as staff coming out to offer snacks and beverages.
The course is the best I've played and great ocean side holes! Rental clubs were nicer than my own. Not too happy about paying $10 (cash only) for "a dozen" use balls. we only got 6 and they were a little rough.
Overall though we Couldn't have asked for a better round of golf before our wedding day!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The value and course were great. Food was good. Rentals were Taylor Made R7s :)
Bring your own balls and tees as it can get expensive. A travel bag is almost the cost of rentals so bring your own if you are so inclined. Stayed in the Golden Zone about 45 minutes away but no worries it's a decent ride as an excursion

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelEDM, Gerente at Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear; highlanderrr

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again!. Dont forget we have in property a Wyndham Resort , Las Villas Resort & Spa.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 6699155850.


Sincerely,
Angel Macias
General Manager
Wyndham Las Villas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I took my family twice last year to this place. My kids said they would rather go back here than to any of the Hawaiian islands, I wouldn't go that far, but their point was that they enjoyed the beaches, amenities and especially the isolation. They espcailly enjoyed the 1 hour ($20) horseback rides on the beach, just ask the front desk!

We went to Mega and stocked up on all our supplies. The full kitchen and outdoor eating areas make this place a perfect family destination. Don't expect large crowds or party scenes.

Don't be intimidated with the crime and drug activities in Mexico. We felt safer here (daytime) than I would in may cities in the USA.

We booked our rooms privatley through VRBO, saving us about half of the going rates.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Estrella Del Mar from March 19 - 26, 2012 and were thrilled to find the hotel and resort even better than described. The first thing you notice when driving up to the resort is the cobblestone road lined with palm trees and the rich green foliage. You must pass through a security gate that is guarded 24/7 and the feeling of peace and tranquility hits you immediately. The hotel was beautiful with marble pillars, granite counters and tile flooring with iron accents, archways and beautiful fountains. Our room was immaculate, the cleanest I have ever stayed in and the view of the ocean was breathtaking. The staff were fantastic and enjoyed our attempts at speaking Spanish and helped us with anything we required. The food was great and the prices fair. We especially enjoyed Las Delphines restaurant and the maitre d, Victor, will take good care of you. The golf course was the best part for us as we love golfing and the course is challenging and rewarding with great ocean views on many of the fairways. I have a real fondness for this course as I got my first hole in one! The staff at the course were so great calling Mrs. Hole In One the rest of the trip. Thank you to everyone for making this one of the best trips we have had and we look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel, not the condo's, and really any room has an ocean view so you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

Address: Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 216
Also Known As:
Estrella Del Mar Golf And Beach Resort
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.