We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Catawissa, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent a week in a condo and it was paradise! July and August are the two hottest months of the year. There aren't a lot of people at the resort during these months. Which we felt was perfect! We had the pool and beach to ourselves for 3 of the 7 days there.

The resort is 10 min from the airport. They will pick you up and drop you off if you need them to. It's really nice to get your luggage, ck into your condo at the resort and head to the pool within an hour.
The grounds are immaculate. There are always people cleaning and servicing the grounds.

The golf course is breathtaking. There are 6 oceanfront holes. It was a beautiful course. We played early one morning and the views were great!

The staff at Estrella Del Mar was very kind and helpful. They will shuttle you anywhere you would like to go. We took a shuttle one day to Mazatlan and spent the day sight seeing and shopping.

We can't wait to return!



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We golfed here on may 29, 2013. We were in mazatlan staying at Hotel Playa for our wedding. We made tee times online before we arrived. The drive was a little long but well worth it once we arrived. The course was immaculate and the staff was wonderful. We weren't rushed in to starting before we hit some practice balls. We felt like we were the only ones on the course. Great facilities at holes 6 and 13 I believe as well as staff coming out to offer snacks and beverages.
The course is the best I've played and great ocean side holes! Rental clubs were nicer than my own. Not too happy about paying $10 (cash only) for "a dozen" use balls. we only got 6 and they were a little rough.
Overall though we Couldn't have asked for a better round of golf before our wedding day!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The value and course were great. Food was good. Rentals were Taylor Made R7s :)
Bring your own balls and tees as it can get expensive. A travel bag is almost the cost of rentals so bring your own if you are so inclined. Stayed in the Golden Zone about 45 minutes away but no worries it's a decent ride as an excursion

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelEDM, Gerente at Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear; highlanderrr

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again!. Dont forget we have in property a Wyndham Resort , Las Villas Resort & Spa.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 6699155850.


Sincerely,
Angel Macias
General Manager
Wyndham Las Villas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I took my family twice last year to this place. My kids said they would rather go back here than to any of the Hawaiian islands, I wouldn't go that far, but their point was that they enjoyed the beaches, amenities and especially the isolation. They espcailly enjoyed the 1 hour ($20) horseback rides on the beach, just ask the front desk!

We went to Mega and stocked up on all our supplies. The full kitchen and outdoor eating areas make this place a perfect family destination. Don't expect large crowds or party scenes.

Don't be intimidated with the crime and drug activities in Mexico. We felt safer here (daytime) than I would in may cities in the USA.

We booked our rooms privatley through VRBO, saving us about half of the going rates.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Estrella Del Mar from March 19 - 26, 2012 and were thrilled to find the hotel and resort even better than described. The first thing you notice when driving up to the resort is the cobblestone road lined with palm trees and the rich green foliage. You must pass through a security gate that is guarded 24/7 and the feeling of peace and tranquility hits you immediately. The hotel was beautiful with marble pillars, granite counters and tile flooring with iron accents, archways and beautiful fountains. Our room was immaculate, the cleanest I have ever stayed in and the view of the ocean was breathtaking. The staff were fantastic and enjoyed our attempts at speaking Spanish and helped us with anything we required. The food was great and the prices fair. We especially enjoyed Las Delphines restaurant and the maitre d, Victor, will take good care of you. The golf course was the best part for us as we love golfing and the course is challenging and rewarding with great ocean views on many of the fairways. I have a real fondness for this course as I got my first hole in one! The staff at the course were so great calling Mrs. Hole In One the rest of the trip. Thank you to everyone for making this one of the best trips we have had and we look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel, not the condo's, and really any room has an ocean view so you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Eatrella Del Mar from Dec 21st to the 24th. Overall the property looked very nice, but... First of all, the service staff were forever telling the guests to tip in cash not on the bill. Well after tipping in cash for the whole stay, upon checking out we were flabergasted to find numerous tips writen in by the staff after the fact, sometimes in the 30-40% range. If this practise is happening, management should warn guests at check-in and/or fire the offending staff. Next, there was one service supervisor, I think, who would do nothing but annoy the guests, while the other two service staff did all the work. Finally, we asked one day if we could get a ride to Stone Island on the shuttle. We were told it would cost $40 US and they didn't have the time to spare the driver. So we walked to Stone Island, 2 hrs and 30 mins. At times, we felt like prisoners with no place to go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilCarben, Internet Marketing Assistant at Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Firstly, we would like to thank these guests for taking the time to bring their concerns to our attention. We have attempted to contact them for further information in an effort to investigate their comments more thoroughly – especially with regard to the service staff and service “supervisor” - but unfortunately so far we have not received a response. We remain open to and encourage further contact from the guests to assist us in this regard.

We pride ourselves on our professional standards and friendliness of service and of course do not condone this sought of behavior - the first time something like this has been brought to our attention. Our goal is to firstly verify the accusation by determining exactly where the guests stayed, what was charged and then to research the bills in question. We would then take the necessary disciplinary action in-house. Ultimately, we would like such concerns to be brought to the immediate attention of Senior Management at the time of discovery.

The private shuttle is subject to availability and should ideally be booked ahead for specific excursions, trips into Mazatlan or Stone Island, as quite often it is busy with other transportation needs within the resort, to/from the airport, downtown Mazatlan, etc. Depending on the length of notice, it is not always possible to supply a driver if he has been called away for duties elsewhere. Nevertheless, we sincerely apologize that we were not able to assist you with your request at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Wife and I stayed at Estrella del Mar for a week over Thanksgiving holiday and cant say enough about the time we spent there. We stayed in the new Wyndham Las Villas Resort and it was awesome!! The staff is more then helpful and very kind. The y were able to help us with the thing s we had forgotten to bring such as boogie boards for the ocean and rackets and balls for the tennis courts. We used the spa facitlies to freshen up after walking and playing on the beach (literally a 9 iron from our room). The golf course was the highlight for me. True ocean front holes(6 of them), changing conditons(ocean breeze), course was in flawless condition and the best part is the unhurried no waiting no pressure pace of play, you very well might be the only person out there so its very easy to hit a mulligan without feeling like your holding up a group behind you. Overall it was very warm welcoming and we hope to return this hidden gem again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

Address: Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Hotel Mazatlan
Estrella Del Mar Golf And Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.