We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in everyway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic in everyway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband & I stayed at Estrella Del Mar from March 19 - 26, 2012 and were thrilled to find the hotel and resort even better than described. The first thing you notice when driving up to the resort is the cobblestone road lined with palm trees and the rich green foliage. You must pass through a security gate that is guarded 24/7 and the feeling of peace and tranquility hits you immediately. The hotel was beautiful with marble pillars, granite counters and tile flooring with iron accents, archways and beautiful fountains. Our room was immaculate, the cleanest I have ever stayed in and the view of the ocean was breathtaking. The staff were fantastic and enjoyed our attempts at speaking Spanish and helped us with anything we required. The food was great and the prices fair. We especially enjoyed Las Delphines restaurant and the maitre d, Victor, will take good care of you. The golf course was the best part for us as we love golfing and the course is challenging and rewarding with great ocean views on many of the fairways. I have a real fondness for this course as I got my first hole in one! The staff at the course were so great calling Mrs. Hole In One the rest of the trip. Thank you to everyone for making this one of the best trips we have had and we look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel, not the condo's, and really any room has an ocean view so you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Eatrella Del Mar from Dec 21st to the 24th. Overall the property looked very nice, but... First of all, the service staff were forever telling the guests to tip in cash not on the bill. Well after tipping in cash for the whole stay, upon checking out we were flabergasted to find numerous tips writen in by the staff after the fact, sometimes in the 30-40% range. If this practise is happening, management should warn guests at check-in and/or fire the offending staff. Next, there was one service supervisor, I think, who would do nothing but annoy the guests, while the other two service staff did all the work. Finally, we asked one day if we could get a ride to Stone Island on the shuttle. We were told it would cost $40 US and they didn't have the time to spare the driver. So we walked to Stone Island, 2 hrs and 30 mins. At times, we felt like prisoners with no place to go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilCarben, Internet Marketing Assistant at Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Firstly, we would like to thank these guests for taking the time to bring their concerns to our attention. We have attempted to contact them for further information in an effort to investigate their comments more thoroughly – especially with regard to the service staff and service “supervisor” - but unfortunately so far we have not received a response. We remain open to and encourage further contact from the guests to assist us in this regard.

We pride ourselves on our professional standards and friendliness of service and of course do not condone this sought of behavior - the first time something like this has been brought to our attention. Our goal is to firstly verify the accusation by determining exactly where the guests stayed, what was charged and then to research the bills in question. We would then take the necessary disciplinary action in-house. Ultimately, we would like such concerns to be brought to the immediate attention of Senior Management at the time of discovery.

The private shuttle is subject to availability and should ideally be booked ahead for specific excursions, trips into Mazatlan or Stone Island, as quite often it is busy with other transportation needs within the resort, to/from the airport, downtown Mazatlan, etc. Depending on the length of notice, it is not always possible to supply a driver if he has been called away for duties elsewhere. Nevertheless, we sincerely apologize that we were not able to assist you with your request at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Wife and I stayed at Estrella del Mar for a week over Thanksgiving holiday and cant say enough about the time we spent there. We stayed in the new Wyndham Las Villas Resort and it was awesome!! The staff is more then helpful and very kind. The y were able to help us with the thing s we had forgotten to bring such as boogie boards for the ocean and rackets and balls for the tennis courts. We used the spa facitlies to freshen up after walking and playing on the beach (literally a 9 iron from our room). The golf course was the highlight for me. True ocean front holes(6 of them), changing conditons(ocean breeze), course was in flawless condition and the best part is the unhurried no waiting no pressure pace of play, you very well might be the only person out there so its very easy to hit a mulligan without feeling like your holding up a group behind you. Overall it was very warm welcoming and we hope to return this hidden gem again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

For this trip we traveled as a family. Everyone was an adult, however we had few younger (21 yo) people on board.
We had a very nice 3 bedroom condo, overlooking the beach and pool.
It seamed as at the time we were there, there were only few people in the resort.
Extremely secluded and quiet. Most of the times we were the only people walking on the beach or in the pool.
Pool bar was closes, so we had to buy our own alcohol and make drinks

There was a store on the property, but it barely had anything in it. Good shopping place is when you go to Mazatlan and go to MEGA Superstore.

Place was clean and specious. the only problem was that we didn't have AC, only cling fans.

If you wanted to go to the city, either at the day or night it was not easy to say the least. There was a shuttle from the hotel that we used once. The times it was leaving and returning did not work with our schedule. It is a 45min taxi drive to go to the city it ranges anywhere from $30US-$40US. We spoke to concierge and his dad (taxi driver) would come and get us every night at the previously set up time and wait for us after we went out in the city.
Los Delfinos restaurant was open, food was overpriced and not very tasty. Same as drinks. Club House restaurant was the same way. We had a cook coming to the condo and she made the bast authentic Mexican meals you can ask for.

City is nice, not very big. If you are looking for a night scene entertainment, there are rotating parties from club to club. You pay ~ $25US entrance fee, drinks and entertainment are free. Quality of drinks is low, sweet and not enough alcohol, however you can always ask for additional shot and make it somewhat taste like a drink.
My favorite party was a Foam Party at Bora Bora. Nice place outdoor and fun music.

Mazatlan has a lot of interesting places in the tourist areas that is called- Zona Dorada (Golden Zone). It is walking distance to the main attractions, shops, markets, restaurants and clubs like: Bora Bora (foam party every Tuesday), Valentino's (Friday Ice Party) Sambawa (Beach Party, Thursday) and Senor Frog's (Mardi Gras Party on Wednesday).
Right in the same location there are a lot of fun bars like Gus Gus (karaoke bar) and plenty of other Margarita Gardens.
Multiple restaurants that cook real (not tex-mex) Mexican food.
There are little cart taxis that charge you about a $1-$2 for a ride and can take you anywhere around the city. They are safe and fun, also this is the only city in Mexico that has this kind of transportation.

On the main beach in Zona Dorada there are multiple places that provide, para-sailing, kite surfing, surfing, snorkeling, kayaking and God knows what else?

Overall hotel is nice, private and quiet at least at the time of our stay. If you are a young person that likes to go out, explore and have fun I DO NOT recommend it, beacuse it is too far away from the city. If you are looking to escape, relax, walk on the beach, sit by the pool and be ready to go to bed by 9PM -that would be the ideal location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at Estrella Del Mar. It was wonderful. The condo was beautiful, spotless and very comfortable. The service was excellent and the all the staff were so friendly and helpful. The view from our balcony, of the pool and beach was priceless. Just a short walk to the ocean. The golf course and property were so beautiful and very well taken care of. The restaurant had excellent food and "killer" margaritas! I tdefinitely would recommend staying here and have told everyone that asked about our trip that "it was the place to go".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

My partner and I enjoyed a phenomenol honeymoon at Estrella Del Mar Golf resort. We soaked up the peace and quiet as well as the sun. Every morning we drank coffee watching the sunlight hit the crest of the waves. The resort is pristine! Immaculately maintained with staff that bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We strolled the beach each day finding sand dollars. Afternoons found us swimming in the beautiful pool. Evening were filled with wine, food, and more relaxation. We are already looking forward to going back and bringing friends with us next time around!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Spent a few days at Estrella Del Mar with the wife recently. We were fortunate to stay in the Villas Hotel and Spa portion of the resort and found everything the resort had to offer to be top notch.

The location is excellent if you are looking for a relaxing getaway. I felt like I was in on some sort of secret here, as I didn't see more than 10 other guests for the 3 days I was there. Also, the fact that you can land, clear customs, travel to the resort, and be on the 1st tee in less than 45 minutes is something to brag about.

The staff here is second to none. Everyone was very attentive (probably because they outnumbered the guests 2 to 1 the weekend we were there) and had a lot of good suggestions. We were always well taken care of at the small pool side cafe and restuarant that accompany the hotel.

The golf course is very well maintained, but the greens are dry and hard (or maybe my shots were to blame). It is hard to complain, however, when the backdrop to your struggling game is the blowing palm trees and soothing sounds of the ocean.

My only complaints: the rental clubs were not that impressive (but they are rentals, so I shouldn't have expected much more), the golf cart broke down on the 11th hole, and the beds were hard as rocks.

Other than that, we were very well taken care of for our weekend. I say the place will work for you because I always felt that the staff was working for me that weekend, and always had a friendly smile.

They will indeed show you Mexican Hospitality to the fullest.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

Address: Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Hotel Mazatlan
Estrella Del Mar Golf And Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.