We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful hotel, with wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort
Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 74 hotels in Mazatlan
miami beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a beautiful hotel, with wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Everything was top notch. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and a great size. Our room was overlooking the beach, which was spectacular. The food and service was great at all the outlets.
We enjoyed lovely walks on the very private beach, and the turtle preserve.
I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, and especially for golfers, as the course is wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed in the hotel here for a week and enjoyed the peacefulness of the resort with it's long private beach and golf course. The staff throughout the resort were courteous and helpful. One drawback for us was that it's a 45 min taxi ride to the city each way if you want to go sightseeing, shopping, or try different restaurants. Lastly, the bathroom in our room had a really bad smell the entire week - not sure what that was about.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I came to Estrella for a break away from the stress, the cold, the sheer length of the British winter. I found peace, a lovely apartment, fantastic pool with horizon view out to sea, dolphins swimming only a few hundred yards off shore, palm trees to provide shade in the heat of the day, a gorgeous sunset in the early evening and a picturesque golf course for those who are into hitting gutta percha. In addition, an amazing turtle sanctuary which harvests the eggs laid in the sand, nurses the babies and, when they're strong enough, releases them into the sea - magical. All it lacks is a better-equipped on-site shop for the self-catering apartments and a credit card/phonecard phone at the hotel for people whose cells don't work.
It's great for the airport (15 mins from Mazatlan) but a longer drive into the town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed for a week at the Estrella Del Mar this Christmas in a ground level condo in phase 1 that we rented directly from the owner. This is a fantastic place. The unit was very spacious, clean, and had every possible amenity that we could possibly need. The unit was steps from a super clean pool and nice hot tub. We shopped in Villa Union the first day in a more than adequate supermarket - had everything we could possibly need at super cheap prices.
Each night there was a spectacular sunset from our patio. Additionally, the pristine beach made for really nice walks. About 1 hour down the beach there is the most spectacular river that empties into the ocean where many different species of birds gather - quite amazing, bring your binoculars. We also used the gym at the new hotel, this is a well equipped with a beautiful view of the ocean. Honestly, we went into Mazatlan one day, but it was not the highlight of the trip. This place is perfect for those who appreciate natural beauty, are happy with a quiet atmosphere and want to have a peaceful vacation. That being said, there were other vacationers who went into Mazatlan for the nightlife and took a cab back.
I would also like to mention that we felt very welcome there as many of the condo owners went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. There was even a stretching class by the pool three times a week. The whole area is very clean, everyone picked up after themselves and you did not see cigarette butts on the beach or empty cups everywhere. This place is truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fircrest, WA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We recently took 80 of our closest famili and friends to Mazatlan for our wedding. We had our wedding at the Estrella del Mar and everything was perfect. Roberto (the one in charge or coordinating weddings) was fabulous to work with. He took care of all the details. The food was amazing and the service staff were great! I cannot say enough great stuff about Estrella del Mar and their staff. I would do it all over again the same exact way! My husband and his family and friends golfed the course a few times and loved it. We were able to corrdinate transportation to and from Estrella with one of the "red truck" drivers. We asked him to pick us up at certain times and he was ALWAYS there. Estrella del Mar is quite a ways from the Golden Zone, but very do-able. I have great pictures and more insight if anyone is interested.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

For the 2nd year in a row we spent a week at EDM from March 20-27. This year it was in Phase 2 #2208. Once a gain it was a great time. We preferred the Phase 2 condo was more then the one in Phase 1. The unit was very clean and was kept so with daily housekeeping. Conversely, we liked the pool and beach setting of Phase 1 over Phase 2. Golfing was fantastic. No one pushing or delaying us. Very reasonable rates $52 w/cart after 1:00. We meet some great people (owners/visitors) and it was good to see the staff from last year. The cost incuding the accomodations, golf (7 rounds), meals, groceries, shutlles, tips was around $2,100.00.

We didn't see any whales this year but we did see a few of dolphins. Tried some surf fishing...had a few hook-ups but nothing brought to shore. The waves were much bigger this year which may have lead to the slow fishing but made the bogie boarding awesome.

Found lots of shells and quite a few sand dollars.

We would highly recommend this resort for those that want to get away from it all. We didn't go into to Mazatlan this year and didn't miss it at all. One trip to Google Earth will clearly show it is isolated and a fair distance from Mazatlan. Though only about 15 miles to Mazatlan it does take a while to drive due to the traffic level and numerous lights. I'd leave the driving to the locals because it does get crazy. So take the bad reviews/low rankings of some of these reviews with a few grains of sea salt. Do some research read the reviews and determine what kind of place you're looking for. It's an awesome place. Unfortunately we won't make it back next year but for sure in 2012.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

My friend and I won a golfing trip and a weeks vacation at Estrella del Mar. Their website offered very little information, but we received some great advice and tips from fellow Trip Advisor users.
We typically had the entire pool to ourselves, and on "busy" nights were one of maybe ten at the restaurant, several times we were the only two eating outside altogether.
The shuttle to town didn't run the entire duration of our stay, so we had to book a taxi. This was disappointing, since we would have liked to go to Mazatlan more and didn't realize how secluded Estrella del Mar actually was.
The staff was all very friendly, and the entire place was extremely clean. You won't meet a lot of other guests, the main clientele owns homes or condos on the property.
I really enjoyed the turtle tank.
Please feel free to contact me for more information about this resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort

Address: Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra | La Oliva, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Hotel Mazatlan
Estrella Del Mar Golf And Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Estrella Del Mar Golf & Beach Resort to your Saves list