We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Maria Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Maria Beach Club
Save
You added Playa Maria Beach Club to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Sabalo Cerritos No 1, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I bought a week here when it was still Playa Maria.... I love the fact that it is a small resort, with only 30 units. It is right on the beach, and nice and quiet. The pool is right at the beach, so the view is wonderful. There are no beach vendors to bother with, and now that the hot tub has been finished, it is great!!
I've owned here for 10 years, and love the place.
the downfalls.... don't eat the breakfast out by the pool, as the cost of $18.00 per plate (US) is high for what is there.
If you want to go to Mazatlan and just unwind with little interaction with people... here ya go...

Room Tip: the rooms in the beach building are ofcourse the best for the view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gresham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Good: We are Owners at Playa Maria (now renamed Torrenza Boutique Resort) since 2004. There has been significant improvements to the property and rooms as of last year. The rooms are beautiful, classy and include flat screen tv's. The beach is very clean, private and goes on for miles. Very good swimming beach. The grounds are well maintained and beach chairs are nice and new. Staff is very nice and friendly,
The Bad We have always traveled during low season so these comments may be due to lack of guests at the hotel. I would not truly describe it as a resort, more like upscale condos as there is not much in amenities such activities and restaurant choices like you would have in a larger hotel resort. The infinity pool is nice but last time we were there (june 2009, the pool was so dirty you couldn't see the bottom, I was with my kids and they would not get in. I bugged them for three days to clean it and still nothing, finally I told the timeshare shark there that if she could get the pool cleaned in 24 hrs I would attend a presentation, I was at my wits end and guess what? finally i saw one worker attempting to clean it, by the fourth day is was fine. There are no water sports available, no entertaiment and, limited internet access (one little table and chair in a corner) Very limited food choices (one restaurant) anything you want to order poolside usually took a while to get, however the prices were very reasonable and the food was good. There is a little mini mart just two doors down for little necesities but its better to go into town for real selection.
Summary: Because my kids are now teenagers, they require more activites and entertaiment so staying at playa maria aka torrenza is no longer the best choice for us. If you are looking for quiet, lay by the pool and read type vacation with not much expectation from hotel amenities then this is the resort for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We are timeshare members at the Playa Maria Beach Club. We bought into the Timeshare before it was built in 2000. We have stayed each year during parts of October and November. We enjoy staying at the Playa Maria it is a nice quite place with a pretty view of the sunsets. Our problem is they keep trying to raise out Timeshare maintance fees and adding taxes that we paid in full at our closing back in 2000. We have a frozen fixed Maintainance fee. This year they are trying to do it again adding a very large amount of money to our fees plus extra taxes and other costs. Also they want to increase it every year. We do not understand how they can break our Legal contract. So buyer beware of this place. They have even changed the name of the resort to The Crown Bay during our stay last year.
This is a sad thing to happen to such a nice little resort and people on a fixed income.

  • Liked — pool and sun nice small place
  • Disliked — Getting harressed about going to other timeshares each and every time you walk in and out of the lobby
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha,NE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We booked our trip through Interval International. First the good points, the pool and the beach are amazing. The rooms were quiet, alittle out-dated, but fine for sleeping. The resort is very quiet, peaceful, and away from the main Golden Zone. Very safe, and staff is very helpful and friendly. If you go-find the pool bartender-Martin'-he is fabulous-ask for his special drink-he makes them up--wow!
Now for the not so good! The restaurant closes at 3:30, and isn't open on Mondays, neither is the bar. The rooms are only about half full, so if you have small kids there is nothing for them to do, but swim. They must have gotten new cooks because the food is good, but we only ate breakfast there. We walked down the beach and ate lunch at nearby hotels. At night, we took the bus to the Golden Zone. Don't leave w/o going to Bar LaCosta and Panama Bakery-great prices and food. Ask Martin', the pool bartender-where to go and what to do..he is great! Tip him well and he will keep you happy-speaks English pretty well. We also had a great time at Deer Island, Stone Island, and the city tour.
We had a great time-took our parents with us and they enjoyed it too. Would have liked there to be more people so our little girl could play, but still had fun. Here is a hint-There is construction going on EVERYWHERE you go. The construction right next to the Playa is completed and it is very quiet at night. Ideal place for Family Reunion- or couples 30-90.

  • Liked — The pool, beach, and pool bar!
  • Disliked — There is not a full-time restaurant at the resort.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

We have been staying at Playa Maria for several years over Christmas. Over the years they have let the place go downhill a bit, but it still a pleasant experience. The room was cleaned daily and the staff was wonderful.

We like the fact that Playa Maria is very small. This past Christmas we were the only people at the pool for 3 of 7 days. We felt like we owned the place! Sadly, the bar wasn't open the entire time we were there this year.

We did not eat at the restaurant this year. There didn't seem to be many that ate there. We took the bus each night back to the Gold Zone. Since busses only run until 10 at this time of year we would taxi home. The cost for a taxi was about $3 plus tip.

If you are looking for a small, quiet hotel, this is the place. If you are looking for lots of activity, probaly not. We have already booked for 2 weeks next December.

  • Liked — quiet, beautiful beach for walking
  • Disliked — distance from the Gold Zone
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

First time to Mazatlan and it was incredible!
We had a Junior suite that was in the building closest to the beach. The view was fantastic! There were a few things that weren't perfect .. the toaster only browned on one side and the coffeemaker pot was a replacement that didn't fit the unit and so the first pot went all over the floor...toaster and coffeemaker were both replaced within the day of letting the office know. Some trouble with TV reception but hey..we weren't there to sit on our bums and watch tv..lol !
Restaurant seemed to be out of staple items (cheese..so no nachos) and the first week there the pool bar had decent hours and happy hour but the second week they started closing early. First week they were out of triple sec so they weren't making margaritas : (
My Father had the master suite next to us and they showered in our unit several times because they had little or no hot water most of the time.
To us these things were really small in big scheme of life so it didn't bother us.
Housekeeping staff was great! And we enjoyed all the other staff there as well.One small exception was the gal at the front desk... when I asked several days before we were going to leave how much a TAXI would be to the airport she told me $35.00 (it had been $29.00 for TAXI from the airport) Long story short..day before we were to leave I observed another guest dickering in the lobby with a taxi driver about fare to airport... it came down to the guest saying he would call another taxi and it would be cheaper! Taxi driver and desk gal had a short conversation and the driver agreed to the fare of $25.00. I jumped in at that time and told the driver "GOOD! You can pick us up tomorrow and take us to the airport for $25.00 as well!" That followed with the desk clerk and the taxi driver having another conversation and the driver finally said ok, the desk clerk said ok but we weren't to tell anyone else (I don't think so!). Desk clerk will NOT be getting her little kick back! The driver was there on time to pick us up and we had a very enjoyable trip to the airport..he was quite friendly! We gave him a $5.00 tip at the airport but we told him "NO TIP FOR DESK CLERK! IT IS ALL YOURS!" I guess it was just the principle of the matter that angered us.
Loved Mazatlan and we are now planning to go next year for a month... will be staying in an apartment though but if we were going for a short time we would consider the Playa Maria again.

  • Liked — the view and it was clean
  • Disliked — My Father would say the lack of hot water in his unit
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

We had a great stay over New Year's, the weather was cold but that's life. The restaurant wasn't open all the time but most people seem to cook in their rooms. The staff were warm and friendly and most spoke good English (or would try). Only down side was we when checked in were told the time share had been sold to a bigger co. and we had to go there to see what the new benefits were. WRONG, it was a time share "free breakfast"!

It is definitely a long way from any excitement but a nice easy stay if looking for a "get-away" holiday.

  • Liked — the view is great
  • Disliked — long way from excitement
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Playa Maria Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maria Beach Club

Address: Av Sabalo Cerritos No 1, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Maria Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Playa Maria Beach Hotel
Playa Maria Beach Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Maria Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.