We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Island (Isla de Venados)

Deer Island (Isla de Venados)
El Cid Marina, Mazatlan, Mexico
Update attraction details
Ranked #16 of 54 attractions in Mazatlan
Type: Islands
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Amphibious vehicles take vacationers to this uninhabited island off Mazatlan for snorkeling trips and other beach activities.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not worth it..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took this excursion for about $50 USD and it was a rip off. They take you on a catamaran along the coast and then to the island for a 5 minute ride of banana boating. Then they tell you that you can snorkle and kayak... The snorkeling was awful! Can't see a thing in the Ocean! Then you sit around on the beach for a few hours. They do serve you lunch (fajitas) but I could have gotten that on the resort.
Then they take you back on the catamaran.... Not very fun at all.

I heard Stone Island has horse back riding and more fun things for cheaper! I think $32 USD. Allwell.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    9
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Deer Island Boat Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Skip the all inclusive tours offered by the hotels and take a short walk to Aqua Sports Center who are located a short walk from EL CID hotels where we stayed (El Moro Tower). They own a huge tire powered boat ( travels on land and sea) that takes you across to the island for $12.00 round trip per person. Check out their web-site they have lots of pictures and they bring the banana boat too...off course that is extra and they do have the food and rides for additional cost. Raul runs the place and his men are all qualified and courteous too. My husband took the boat ride with another older couple and their 6 year old grandson.
He even got to be up front with the driver! Their boat is too cool..kids love it.
The water is too murky to snorkel anyway and way to rough with huge rocks, but on the left side of the island as you are approaching it there is a lovely spot to swim..sand is great and not too deep. There are chairs to sit on and umbrellas too, but definitely pack a snack and skip the food on the island..sounds like its not worth it.
There was a small fee to use the bathroom $1.00! We spent two hours there and it was a perfect memory, collecting sea glass and shells and my husband even saw a large animal near the trash cans, which was harmless. He talked to the guy that lives on the island as a caretaker with his two black dogs who are friendly and one of them had just given birth to puppies.
No electricity, but heck you're on an island what do you want!!!
Enjoy the beauty and peace of nature...there's plenty of food and entertainment at your hotels, right?!?!?!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Over all.. Terrible..
The boat ride there is not a catamaran, it's a small very poorly build boat.
Once you get to the island (about 20 mins), the beach is incredibly dirty- cigarette butts and garbage everywhere. The shore is filled with rocks, as well as the beach, so swimming isn't really an option.
The banana boat ride was less than 2 mins and you could only go once. And the kayaking/snorkelling.. You were given the tools but expected to find your own spot on your own and know what to do.
The food was the only decent thing- extremely salty Marlin fajitas.

Long story short, don't waste your money on this excursion.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Not worth it - especially if you are staying at an All-In”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Not worth the money (approx. $125 for 2 adults and 1 child) for approx. 5 hours. We slow motored to the island for an hour and then we only got to ride the banana boat once, the kayak once and snorkel once for about 15 minutes. And the food was not good - sliced Marlin stew (for tortillas), rice and beans. And since we were staying in an All-Inclusive resort, the free drinks didn't matter to us. When we returned to the hotel, everyone on our tour from our hotel went straight to the hotel buffet. So......I would not recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallaceburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great catamaran ride to Deer Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Activities include Banana Boat rides, snorkling if the weather cooperates and horse back rides-did not see this. Lunch is on the beach-around 1 pm-wraps with warm meats and vegetables and fried beans -not wonderful-OK-all drinks on the island are included as well as drinks on the catamaran. Sounds like the Stone Island tour has better barbecue lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deer Island (Isla de Venados) also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Deer Island (Isla de Venados)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Island (Isla de Venados), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.