We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Punta Pacifico to your Saves list
Punta Pacifico
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Av. Delfin 110 Cerritos, Mazatlan C.P. 82100, Mexico (Formerly Residence Club La Jolla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from 6 nights here. The good points were the close proximity to the beach from our room, unlike most of the mega resorts. This placewas small by comparison. The grounds and pool were very well done. We were in the "old section" consisting of 4 buildings with 4 units each. We were in 107, upstairs in the second building from the beach. Upper units get a lot more sun in the afternoons than the lower units. Now the not so good. The location, while serene, is at the extreme north end, next to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay. We were 10K to the marina and another 10 K into the Gold Zone. You couldn't see out of two of our windows as they were so dirty. The main 5 story building is mostly unfinished but the one room the timeshare people were showing was much nicer than our building. The timeshare people occupied all the shade areas in the morning unless I got up early and occupied one of them. The restaurant only open for breakfast and lunch and the bar was minimal. The road to the resort was not paved so lots of dust.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    4
    6
    17
See reviews for
20
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ferrisburg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The resort boasts how "quiet" it is-- YUP. Dead as a doornail.The resort was dead in April with no one there. The pool is very small. The sand on the beach is rocky and unappealing. The restaurant is small and very plain. Depressing to eat there. Look around friends! There are gorgeous resorts all around ! don't settle for La Jolla!
The time share presentation is a scam. Not not all timeshare salesmen lie-But these guys DO. They assured us they could sell our other timeshares for a really good price but that didn't happen. A total lie., They look sincere, and you want to believe them. Don't. Any salesman in any resort who offers to buy your other timeshare in a resale is lying.
If you do sign a contract, know that by Mexican law you have 5 business days to cancel! They won't tell you that. They just stamp :FINAL SALE' all over the contract. When I brought up the 5 day grace period law, they told me there would be a big penalty fine. Another lie. There is no penalty fee.Don't give up on owning a timeshare though. We are very happy with a couple others we own in Mexico and have been treated with complete honesty with other resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I visited La Jolla this March and is a nive place, all the staff is friendly, the location is amazing and you have a lot of activities to do. The rooms are clean, the swimming pool is big and the food is delicious. Is the best place in Mazatlan when you want to relax. I´ll return soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I just got back from my trip to La Jolla and I have to say it exceeded all of my expectations. I tend to travel quite a bit, so I was excited to meet the friendly staff and see that the room was up to my standards. This was a short trip so I didnt get to experience many of the service, but the food was great and this spot was definitely off the beaten path. The next time I'm in the area I am definitely going to stay at the Residence Club La Jolla above all else, and I would recommend it to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: I didnt have a suite, but I heard they were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at La Jolla, and we have been here before. they seem to be getting a bad rep online for the timeshare sales but all of Mazatlan and Mexico seems to be the same way...Just ignore them or tell them you are leaving the next day and skip the tour. The resort itself is clean, the staff is super friendly, the views are great and it is just overall great! We really enjoy spending time there the pool area is beautiful, and the beach is great at Sunset! I definitely recommend La Jolla and will most likely visit again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have recently returned from 2 weeks at La Jolla and couldn't be more pleased.The staff, from the bell man, Alex, to the front desk staff, the reservation staff and the restaurant staff are, in our opinion, outstanding!
The developer .is to be congratulated on his careful, meticulous finishing of the units. Obviously, probably due to the economy,a number of the units in the main building are not yet finished but the work is progressing slowly without compromising quality.
The interior finish of the completed units is very classy and attractive. Top of the line appliances and fleece blankets for those occasional cool nights.
The atmosphere at La Jolla is peaceful with none of the beach vendors and the hurly burly of the closer in resorts. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All of the units are great and have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

last week we went for a timeshare presentation to la jolla & the place is amazing, the people very nice to us, the food & the service very good, unfortunately we couldn't buy, but if you go to mazatlan go & check it out by your self.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCLAJOLLAMANAGEMENT, Guest Relations Manager at Punta Pacifico, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear George,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Jolla Resort, you are more than welcome to come back and enjoy our place.

Best Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punta Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Pacifico

Address: Av. Delfin 110 Cerritos, Mazatlan C.P. 82100, Mexico (Formerly Residence Club La Jolla)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusivity and privacy define the atmosphere that Residence Club La Jolla offers its guests in all of its luxury suites and villas. All the rooms are elegantly decorated and have all the amenities, including marble and granite finishing, kitchenette, balcony with ocean views and LCD TV. Located in Nuevo Mazatlan, the Emerald Bay provides the majestic scenery that inspires the most beautiful sunset views from any of our 16 spacious villas and 47 luxury suites in our resort tower. The infinity pool, beautiful grounds, the exquisite international cuisine, and the warm and personal service of our staff, will make you wish that you could extend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, EasyToBook and Travelocity so you can book your Punta Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.