We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel & fabulous restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Save Saved
You added Villas El Rancho Green Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Sabalo Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
El Paso,Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel & fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

If anybody wants to go to a clean & beautiful hotel in Mazatlan please go the EL RANCHO VILLAS. You will be speecless. It is a dream come true & very reasonable priced. Beautiful swimming pool. Your villa is right on the ocean front. The employees are the best, all well informed of the port & anything you need to know or question they would take care of immediately. Very well secured & wonderful parking. Very attentive bartenders & wonder private beach atmosphere. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    69
    10
    24
    21
See reviews for
179
61
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles Ca.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

My wife and I booked in this hotel, looking for a nice vacation with our 3 teenage kids, we wanted to rest and have a good time as a family. When we arrived, we had a very good treatment from an excellent staff, we found a nice Mexican style decoration, warm service,and we felt secure. The restaurant "La fonda" has a delicious Mexican cuisine, but the best of all, and purpose of our vacation was relax, relax, and more relax.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

The reservation was not honored and we had to pay more for the location we wanted in the complex. They then insisted on photocopying our passports - in incredible opportunity for identy theft- and never asked at the resorts or condos I have visited. Utterly without precedent, without need. They also demand to have charge card information. We had cockroaches, ants and pervasive mold smell in our unit. The staff is quite nice, the location excellent, the facilities and management deplorable. This place is to be avoided.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Dear Contessadiroma,

We are surprised and disappointed that you were not pleased with your experience, and will do everything that’s fair and reasonable to make you satisfied, because that is our goal for all of our guests. Please contact us at guestrelations@elrancho.com.mx so that we can resolve your complaints directly.

In the meantime, allow me to respond to the comments you made.

I’m surprised that you’re opposed to having us check your passport. We’ve started doing this to increase the security of our resort. We honestly thought our guests would appreciate knowing that we were protecting them more carefully. While it’s not common practice in Mazatlan, there are many hotels and resorts throughout the world that check passports as their standard practice.

As for insects, with the lush tropical gardens surrounding the villas throughout the resort it’s impossible to totally eliminate them, but I assure you that we have a contract with a very reliable extermination service who sprays regularly to make sure that there are no real problems with insects.

Thank you for sharing your comments. We would love for you to come back and enjoy all the wonderful benefits of a vacation at El Rancho for many years to come!

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fircrest, WA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I have been vacationing in Mazatlan my whole life. I started going there with my grandma when I was little and I am still going there now, but this time we are taking 75 of our closest friends and family and I am getting married! There is no other place I would stay than at the El Rancho. This place is so special to my family and me. It just seems right to have everyone stay there. The food is great and the staff is so friendly. You are going to love the El Rancho!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2009
Dear LilWink,

It is such an honor to have your friends and family stay with us for your wedding. It has been a real pleasure to have your family vacation with us now for many years, and your wedding will definitely be a real highlight for all of us! And of course, you know that you can trust us to take great care of everyone! It’s going to be such a fun, relaxing time for all your family and friends!

We look forward to many more years of happy vacations as your family continues to grow!

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This was our first visit to Mazatlan and the El Rancho Resort helped to make it a memorable experience. El Rancho is a homey setting of single villas as opposed to the monsterous high rise resorts that surround it. El Rancho has a private beach right on the ocean.

The staff at El Rancho were all very courteous and helpful. They took us on a tour of the city, provided directions, and told us what places of interest we should see. The restaurant on premises is also very good. The rooms were a little outdated, but they were in the process of remodeling all of the villas when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
Dear Fishbo51,

We’re very glad that we could provide you with a pleasant experience on your first visit to Mazatlan! It’s a pleasure for us to offer an alternative to the mega resorts, and we’re delighted that you enjoyed the convenience of our individual villas, and also our private beach.

I’ll pass on your comments to our staff. It really means a lot to us to know that our efforts are appreciated! Thank you!

We are continuing the remodeling of our villas, and are committed to continuing to improve El Rancho in many ways. We look forward to you coming back many times over the years, and our hope is that each vacation will be better than the last!

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

El Rancho is a wonderful family place, that's great for relaxing. The beach is very beautiful, and I also really love the gardens. The staff also are very helpful. Honestly, I've been going for years, and I really love this place.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
Dear BetoBips,

We're delighted to know that you and your family really enjoy your vacations at El Rancho. Your enjoyment is the reason that we exist, and we'll continue to work to maintain everything that makes El Rancho wonderful, and make it even better!

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We have been vacationing at El Rancho for about 18 years and love it more every year. It is a small intimate property situated on the beach. The two storey two bedroom two bathroom units are like home. The full kitchens means you can just relax and not worry about going out for all meals though the restaurant on site is a good one. Were it not for the great facilities and ambience at El Rancho I doubt we would go back to Mazatlan every year. We have investigated many other options there and El Rancho tops them all. The sunsets from t he sea wall are spectacular. The regular bus service picks you up right out front, is inexpensive and fast. No need for a car to get around. This is a must stay here kind of place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMzt, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2009
Dear JacksonHole_9,

Thank you for your very gracious review. It’s so wonderful to have guests like you as part of our family!

It really makes us glad to know that you really enjoy our villas, and the ambience of El Rancho. We will continue to work hard to make sure that El Rancho is a place where you can come and relax and enjoy the beach while feeling totally at home, and also have access to all the attractions of Mazatlan.

Thank you again! We’re honored that you’ve put us on the top of your list for Mazatlan, and we’re committed to maintaining and improving El Rancho so we can stay there!

Sincerely,
Larry Flathmann
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Address: Av Sabalo Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only we are known as one of the top beachfront hotels in Mazatlan due to our great location, but also as one of the quietest because despite we are among tall buildings and large tourist developments we offer you the calm and privacy you're looking for, making us one of the best kept secrets in town. Come stay in one of our 28 villas with capacity of 6 people. All these Mazatlan accommodations have their living area and large and comfortable bedrooms, as well as kitchenette with everything you need to cook a meal and a list of amenities that you can enjoy on a weekend getaway or extended stays. Make these Villas in Mazatlan, Mexico your home during a beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas El Rancho Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.