We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mice and spiders” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villas El Rancho Green Resort to your Saves list
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Sabalo Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kaslo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mice and spiders”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We purchased a one week vacation for our children to come and stay close to us,it was one hotel away.First of all they couldn't find the reservation,that we had paid for,then they had to move to a different villa during their stay. Both saw mice in both places and giant spiders.The furniture was dirty,and the blinds didn't work.
The staff were wonderful,polite,at your service all the time,and the rooms were made up everyday.
The location was very good,right on the ocean.
I would NOT recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: This place is not for everyone,only those looking for a place close to the ocean.Not cheap over $200...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    78
    11
    27
    26
See reviews for
195
66
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Well its a good thing we are campers, between the mice and the spiders it was like a week camping at home! Except for the mouse that ran up my husbands leg in bed! I realize that the setting is a little more rustic and there are plenty of crevices for critters to make their way in but it was a little hard sleeping!
The place is clean though and the sheets always smelled great and everyone was welcoming. The staff kept the grounds very clean and well kept.
The resort could use some updating for sure, new shower heads, clean the couches and replace the bar palapa... the posters look terrible. Actually the bar could use a little updating altogether.

Luis, Winston and Danny kept my husband amused and we enjoyed the smallness of the place. We have mainly ever used all inclusive resorts and for only a week it would be the better way to go. This was our first time in Mazatlan, the location is far enough away that I enjoyed quietness but close enough that it was a short trip to the hustle and bustle of the downtown.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

The split level villas stand apart from the sterile 15 story neighbor hotels.
We have the same friendly staff every year.
Best gardens in the área.
There is no one closer to the beach. All new palapas add to the old México feel.
We're booked for 2016.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMazatlan, Public Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good day dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your time.

Guests are the most important for Villas El Rancho.

Come back soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Beautiful setting, friendly onsite staff. If you go there with the frame of mind that this a friendly local hotel you will be quite satisfied. But don't expect a resort experience. They had a lot of storm damage last fall but worked very hard to get it fixed up and they did. Wish they had solar panels to heat the pool and cushions for the chairs, but otherwise they are trying to improve

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMazatlan, Public Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your time.

We are pleased to heard that your stay at El Rancho, Mazatlán , Mexico was satisfying.

We hope to see you soon.

Have a nice day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

The ocean reached the steps of the hotel as we sipped cold, icy Margaritas from the lounge chairs, and the blue Pacific spread out before us like a Mother-of-Pearl necklace. Our "hogar" was not a modern calamity of plastic furniture but a wonderful collection of wooden chairs, Talavera plates and tile floors. The room had a feeling of old Mexico before the high-rises and condominiums. The grounds at El Rancho were sparkling clean and were swept and watered every morning. Bougainvillea, palm trees and tropical plants adorned the walk ways, and people smiled and greeted you with "Buenos Dias", and, of course, everyone spoke English.
One is challenged to find better food and service than at "Lupitas" restaurant at the hotel. A feast of lobster, shrimp, fresh fruit and drinks greeted us the first night of our stay. The presentation by Chief Luis was artistic and our waiters, Winston, Jose, and Paola provided us with impeccable service. Try dinning at sunset and be sure not to miss the fresh lobster and liquid libations.
Finally, check in with Luis, the day manager, if you need anything for your stay or advice on where to go in Mazatlan or the surrounding areas. If you're looking for a clean, relaxing and comfortable stay, be sure to spend some time at the Villas El Rancho Green Resort, you'll want to go back.

Room Tip: If you have children, go with a room that is poolside; if not, stay in the Garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

My family of four chose the Villas El Rancho because my parents have been staying there for 20+ years now.
We stayed a total of 12 night as we were not able to be accommodated for the additional 2 nights of our vacation due to a medical conference that was happening - we knew this going to Mexico and although we were very disappointed that we had to stay at another resort for our last two nights, we understood.
Our suite was located in the garden. I was hoping for something by the pool or even ocean view, however, when we arrived, the front of the property has been washed away by Hurricane Odile. This was heartbreaking to see, however, the repairs were being completed by a very friendly group of workers - always smiling and saying hello as we made our way past them to the beach - my husband even helped them out for a bit to get a taste of the hard labor that these gentlemen exert on a daily basis.
The condos themselves are definitely showing signs of aging - the calking in the bathrooms, the fixtures, the power outlets are just some of the things that I noticed, however, one has to remember that this is Mexico and humidity does tend to play havoc on these types of things. All of the basic, and I emphasize BASIC, necessities were provided, however, I still went to Wal-Mart and Mega to add my own personal touches such as dishrags, soap, and a bowl for ice cubes in the freezer - all of which I left behind for the next guests to enjoy.
The grounds were beautifully manicured. I do think that the grates that are throughout the grounds for drainage need to be repaired because if someone were to step on them the wrong way, feet could be hurt. The paving stones need to be re-leveled somewhat as I found myself tripping over them and my son, at one point, scraped the skin off one of his toes. Minor things, but attention to detail is key.
The staff at Villas El Rancho are superb and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is a 10 out of 10. The property manager, Omar, is a VERY friendly young man and was always inquiring about how we were enjoying our stay and offering assistance if there was anything that we needed - a definite asset to El Rancho.
The ladies in the office were very helpful and provided great service when there was something that we needed - for example, our toaster "died" and we requested another one by the next morning and we had another one there by the afternoon.
The restaurant/bar staff are amazing!!! Wiston, Gabby, Juan, and Miguel are fabulous, hospitable and continuously made sure that our needs were met whether sitting at the bar or up in the treehouse restaurant. The food was always up to par and the drinks were refreshing and tasted great!!!!
We are looking VERY forward to our next trip to Mazatlan and staying at the Villas El Rancho - I love the small, quaint, quietness of this "resort." It has the feel of home and you are made to feel at home and as we were leaving on our last night in Mazatlan, Wiston said "this is your home" - something that will always stay in mine and my husband's minds.
We love the resort and the staff and will definitely be back. Unfortunately it won't be next year as we are going to a wedding in the Mayan Riviera, however, Omar and his staff will be on our minds and will be missed hugely until we see them all again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden are VERY quiet. The pool suites are noisier especially if there are a lot of fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMazatlan, Public Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank for the time you dedicated us by publishing this review.

Is very important for us to know what our guests think to ensure we are giving the best quality service, and we have what's needed to make the best vacation time in Mazatlán.

We're pleased to hear your staying at Mazatlán was satisfying and that you enjoyed our great location, hotel areas and the services we provide to all of our customers.

Once more, we thank you for choosing us for your stay in Mazatlán, and we hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The Old resort is in a beautiful setting but there is a total lack of maintenance that has resulted in the units having mold in them. We had a problem with the mold and had to leave early becuase my wife started having trouble breathing. This was also happening to other people that were in the unit next to the one we were in.
The People running the operation admitted that the owner was not interested in spending the money necessary to fix the problems.
The Location is beautiful, but the mold is very dangerous.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMazatlan, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for visiting us at Villas El Rancho.
Your comments are very important for us, that is why I would like to give a response to your comments.
You mentioned that money was the problem, the person who told you that was lying, the real problem is that the beach has not let us finish the wall sea, as you know, natural phenomena come from God, so I would like you to understand our situation, we hope greedily, everything is going to be ready for next week.

Once more, thank you for your comments.

Have a nice day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Address: Av Sabalo Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only we are known as one of the top beachfront hotels in Mazatlan due to our great location, but also as one of the quietest because despite we are among tall buildings and large tourist developments we offer you the calm and privacy you're looking for, making us one of the best kept secrets in town. Come stay in one of our 28 villas with capacity of 6 people. All these Mazatlan accommodations have their living area and large and comfortable bedrooms, as well as kitchenette with everything you need to cook a meal and a list of amenities that you can enjoy on a weekend getaway or extended stays. Make these Villas in Mazatlan, Mexico your home during a beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas El Rancho Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.