We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving slowly but getting better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villas El Rancho Green Resort to your Saves list
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Sabalo Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Improving slowly but getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful setting, friendly onsite staff. If you go there with the frame of mind that this a friendly local hotel you will be quite satisfied. But don't expect a resort experience. They had a lot of storm damage last fall but worked very hard to get it fixed up and they did. Wish they had solar panels to heat the pool and cushions for the chairs, but otherwise they are trying to improve

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMazatlan, Public Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your time.

We are pleased to heard that your stay at El Rancho, Mazatlán , Mexico was satisfying.

We hope to see you soon.

Have a nice day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    77
    10
    26
    25
See reviews for
194
65
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The ocean reached the steps of the hotel as we sipped cold, icy Margaritas from the lounge chairs, and the blue Pacific spread out before us like a Mother-of-Pearl necklace. Our "hogar" was not a modern calamity of plastic furniture but a wonderful collection of wooden chairs, Talavera plates and tile floors. The room had a feeling of old Mexico before the high-rises and condominiums. The grounds at El Rancho were sparkling clean and were swept and watered every morning. Bougainvillea, palm trees and tropical plants adorned the walk ways, and people smiled and greeted you with "Buenos Dias", and, of course, everyone spoke English.
One is challenged to find better food and service than at "Lupitas" restaurant at the hotel. A feast of lobster, shrimp, fresh fruit and drinks greeted us the first night of our stay. The presentation by Chief Luis was artistic and our waiters, Winston, Jose, and Paola provided us with impeccable service. Try dinning at sunset and be sure not to miss the fresh lobster and liquid libations.
Finally, check in with Luis, the day manager, if you need anything for your stay or advice on where to go in Mazatlan or the surrounding areas. If you're looking for a clean, relaxing and comfortable stay, be sure to spend some time at the Villas El Rancho Green Resort, you'll want to go back.

Room Tip: If you have children, go with a room that is poolside; if not, stay in the Garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

My family of four chose the Villas El Rancho because my parents have been staying there for 20+ years now.
We stayed a total of 12 night as we were not able to be accommodated for the additional 2 nights of our vacation due to a medical conference that was happening - we knew this going to Mexico and although we were very disappointed that we had to stay at another resort for our last two nights, we understood.
Our suite was located in the garden. I was hoping for something by the pool or even ocean view, however, when we arrived, the front of the property has been washed away by Hurricane Odile. This was heartbreaking to see, however, the repairs were being completed by a very friendly group of workers - always smiling and saying hello as we made our way past them to the beach - my husband even helped them out for a bit to get a taste of the hard labor that these gentlemen exert on a daily basis.
The condos themselves are definitely showing signs of aging - the calking in the bathrooms, the fixtures, the power outlets are just some of the things that I noticed, however, one has to remember that this is Mexico and humidity does tend to play havoc on these types of things. All of the basic, and I emphasize BASIC, necessities were provided, however, I still went to Wal-Mart and Mega to add my own personal touches such as dishrags, soap, and a bowl for ice cubes in the freezer - all of which I left behind for the next guests to enjoy.
The grounds were beautifully manicured. I do think that the grates that are throughout the grounds for drainage need to be repaired because if someone were to step on them the wrong way, feet could be hurt. The paving stones need to be re-leveled somewhat as I found myself tripping over them and my son, at one point, scraped the skin off one of his toes. Minor things, but attention to detail is key.
The staff at Villas El Rancho are superb and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is a 10 out of 10. The property manager, Omar, is a VERY friendly young man and was always inquiring about how we were enjoying our stay and offering assistance if there was anything that we needed - a definite asset to El Rancho.
The ladies in the office were very helpful and provided great service when there was something that we needed - for example, our toaster "died" and we requested another one by the next morning and we had another one there by the afternoon.
The restaurant/bar staff are amazing!!! Wiston, Gabby, Juan, and Miguel are fabulous, hospitable and continuously made sure that our needs were met whether sitting at the bar or up in the treehouse restaurant. The food was always up to par and the drinks were refreshing and tasted great!!!!
We are looking VERY forward to our next trip to Mazatlan and staying at the Villas El Rancho - I love the small, quaint, quietness of this "resort." It has the feel of home and you are made to feel at home and as we were leaving on our last night in Mazatlan, Wiston said "this is your home" - something that will always stay in mine and my husband's minds.
We love the resort and the staff and will definitely be back. Unfortunately it won't be next year as we are going to a wedding in the Mayan Riviera, however, Omar and his staff will be on our minds and will be missed hugely until we see them all again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden are VERY quiet. The pool suites are noisier especially if there are a lot of fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMazatlan, Public Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank for the time you dedicated us by publishing this review.

Is very important for us to know what our guests think to ensure we are giving the best quality service, and we have what's needed to make the best vacation time in Mazatlán.

We're pleased to hear your staying at Mazatlán was satisfying and that you enjoyed our great location, hotel areas and the services we provide to all of our customers.

Once more, we thank you for choosing us for your stay in Mazatlán, and we hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The Old resort is in a beautiful setting but there is a total lack of maintenance that has resulted in the units having mold in them. We had a problem with the mold and had to leave early becuase my wife started having trouble breathing. This was also happening to other people that were in the unit next to the one we were in.
The People running the operation admitted that the owner was not interested in spending the money necessary to fix the problems.
The Location is beautiful, but the mold is very dangerous.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMazatlan, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for visiting us at Villas El Rancho.
Your comments are very important for us, that is why I would like to give a response to your comments.
You mentioned that money was the problem, the person who told you that was lying, the real problem is that the beach has not let us finish the wall sea, as you know, natural phenomena come from God, so I would like you to understand our situation, we hope greedily, everything is going to be ready for next week.

Once more, thank you for your comments.

Have a nice day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Not only were the cooking facilities not usable (stove had one working burner), rest was very rusty, but there were small bugs throughout the unit -got into everything. The electrical was the most dangerous. Individual wires ran to the 220 V water heater which you could only use when the breaker was pushed hard "on" and held there. A/C would only work in the same manner. Most lights and lamps either had only one bulb (four bulb fixture) or no bulbs. Many switches and outlets did not work at all. While the large surfaces were wiped or swept, any small surface was covered in dirt and who knows what all? The overall property is very run down, with the pool leaking 4-5" of water daily.
In addition, this property has suffered great damage from the recent hurricane and repairs are very slow, if at all.
They offered us a "ocean view" for an additional USD $100. We looked at the unit. There was no electricity, it was very dirty and one door did not lock. We turned that down.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Villas El rancho brings back memories of old Mexico -kitchens and baths inundated with ants, hot tubs that are cold or don't work, water turned off in the middle of the day, gate men who turn the parking lot over to young thugs, security guards who drink on the job and don't do anything and poorly equipped kitchens.

I feel sorry for the wonderful people who work there,

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

nice place in mazatlan where you can rest and enjoy the beautiful sunsets in this amazing city. the hotel offers everything youll need during your visit and has a very calm environment, avoiding noisy people all the time. service is great and is well comunicated with the rest of stuff to do in mazatlan.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElRanchoMazatlan, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we want to thank for the time you dedicated us by publishing this review.
Is very important to us to know what our guests think to ensure we are giving the best quality service, and we have what's needed to make the best vacation time in Mazatlán.
We're pleased to hear your stay in Mazatlán was satisfying and that you could enjoy our great location, hotel areas and the services we provide to all of our customers.

Once more, we thank you for choosing us for your stay in Mazatlán, and we hope to see you very soon. You can follow us in Facebook & Twitter for more information.

Best regards,

Thamara M. Pérez
Customer Service & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Address: Av Sabalo Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only we are known as one of the top beachfront hotels in Mazatlan due to our great location, but also as one of the quietest because despite we are among tall buildings and large tourist developments we offer you the calm and privacy you're looking for, making us one of the best kept secrets in town. Come stay in one of our 28 villas with capacity of 6 people. All these Mazatlan accommodations have their living area and large and comfortable bedrooms, as well as kitchenette with everything you need to cook a meal and a list of amenities that you can enjoy on a weekend getaway or extended stays. Make these Villas in Mazatlan, Mexico your home during a beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas El Rancho Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.