We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid the restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Save Saved
You added Villas El Rancho Green Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Sabalo Cerritos 3140, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 72 hotels in Mazatlan
Mazatlan, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“avoid the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I rarely write a review or complain about food quality, but this outing was an event where the cost was far in excess of the value. We received the promotional beach flyer for the "sea food-meat dinner" for two which of course looked attractive. We returned later that evening and possibly being the only ones in the restaurant was a promontory sign. The waiter informed us that our dinner for two was the cheaper one on the menu in spite of the difference in name between brochure and menu. We held our ground, he phoned his manager and the 80 peso differential was waived. Given the disparity between the offer and waiter's intention we should have left, which was what we were about to do when the situation appeared to resolve. What followed was wonderful presentation at odds with preparation and taste. It was unnecessary to ask us how we wanted the meat done, as it was all overcooked...with a cold gravy on top to hide the fact. The vegetables were cold, the potatoes had sat in water and were mushy,although presented very nicely in tin foil swans, and the lobster had died of old age...A one star would be generous however the view was magnificent. Possibly the "two for one drink offer", which we did not use, could anesthetize one's palate enough to improve the star rating..there are many other choices and let your pesos talk.

Room Tip: did not stay on the premises
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    65
    8
    22
    20
See reviews for
163
59
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatfield, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We loved that the resort was small and intimate. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The layout of the condos was excellent, but we felt a little more upkeep was needed, i.e. the hot tub was never very hot, the plumbing leaked, and a few kitchen amenities were missing (dish soap, dish rag, toaster...). We very much appreciated the bottled water that was furnished, and the on site bar and restaurant were awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

First time in Mazatlan and though the resort is a bit removed from the downtown area, the trip to downtown was $100 pesos about $7 USD. Though older, the rooms were comfortable for two couples and had all the necessary items for preparing food in the rooms, breakfast lunch and dinner. Bottled water provided as well. The resort amenities are simple a pool and a hot tub, small restaurant and bar. Jose made the best margarita's on the beach, hands down. The room we had faced the beach and was beautiful to enjoy the sunset on the back area above the beach. privacy was not a problem and with the thickness of the walls between units, they were quiet in the evenings as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was the first time we visit Mexico, and UNIQUE , as they say it in their website is the way my family and myself would describe this Resort.

We enjoyed everything at this place because it is small and private. The staff was very friendly, mexican style, they paid attention to anything we needed.

The facilities are very nice, all the units have two bedrooms. We stayed by the pool and enjoyed them very much, while the kids were swimming we enjoyed the comfortable units, watching our kids from inside.

We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: choose a room in front of the pool and near the hotels restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent place to spend your winter vacations, the staff is pretty friendly ,food is one of a kind, delicious and very clean, and Mazatlan is one of the most beautiful places I ve ever been. Definitively I will come back next year!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Resort is good for rest. Not to much going on. The only problem is that the Kitchenware is dirty and I don't thing that they do a good job checking it before the unit is ocupied. Also they have the air AC controler lock up. Also the units seems like they don't be fumigated often. the one that we got had insect and fllees that i gave usa rush.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

i spend a great vacations with my husband.
the costumer service is really good, the food in the restaurant La Fonda it's nice.
the Villas are really comfortable, and it's a quiet and relax place to be.
i'm pretty sure that i'll come back the next year.
is a place i really recommend.

Room Tip: the ocean side are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel
Address: Av Sabalo Cerritos 3140, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and relaxing boutique resort, with only 28 villas, each with direct access either to the beach or pool area. Each villa is extremely spacious, comfortably sleeping up to 6 people and includes special touches of authentic Mexico - quite a contrast to the typical generic hotel room. Beach has soft, golden sand with shady palapas and a beachfront jacuzzi. Beachfront restaurant with excellent view. Refreshing tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas El Rancho Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.