We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Save Saved
You added Villas El Rancho Green Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Sabalo Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
1 review
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Villas El Rancho is an excellent place for a relaxing vacations. I've been there for at least five times and certainly I'll be there on my next planned vacations to Mazatlán. It's a homely place away from the rest of the hotels where, once you enter, you don't need to go out for anything because you can find everything you need to enjoy your stay.
The service is excellent, the friendly personnel is always ready to serve and take care of the guests.
Facilities are just great, the pool, the green areas, the restaurant, jacuzzi, free internet, the spacious villas, etc.
This is undoubtedly the best place to enjoy the sunset view in the town and get relax.
Thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    69
    9
    24
    21
See reviews for
176
61
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Year after year we take our vacations at Villas El Rancho, small and beautiful, out of the noise but very close to the beach, lovely views, very quiet ambiance and excelent for family vacations. See u next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We enjoy el rancho go twice year lovely place too visit safe and enjoyable place to relax and enjoy. Mazatlan is wonderful place too sit relax and safe I would never stop visiting there so if ya want a relaxin vacation go to el rancho and enjoy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

What a great place for a Mazatlan vacation. Excellent location, great resort atmosphere with friendly service! Staff went out of their way to treat us like special guests. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I checked with friends who had stayed at El Rancho. They were very complimentary of the resort which was one of the reasons we booked there. They were not wrong. From the moment we arrived it was much like being in a tropical paradise. We wanted a vacation that was peaceful, relaxing and more of a family atmosphere. (We have had our share of party hotels! No thank you.) The staff was very pleasant, helpful and seemed really interested in providing top-notch, friendly service. Our villa was lovely and comfortable. We enjoyed the restaurant and loved the view from there. It was also nice to have a kitchen so that we could have our choice of eating out or in our villa. We enjoyed the pool as well as the beach. We had a wonderful time and look forward to going back. In the meanwhile, our daughter is getting marriied in September, part of our gift to them is going to be a week at El Rancho. It is a perfect place to honeymoon.

Room Tip: Being villas, you don't have someone making noise below or above you, seems much more private an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I dont ever go out of my way to write a bad review. The resort is however a picture of beauty that is substandard. It rained 2 times during my staff, 1st rain killed the air and flooded our bathroom from the leak, they moved our room after a day of horrible heat. The 2nd room we moved to had great air but was leaking in two places 2nd floor on my bed , they offered to air the mattress or turn it over so I wouldnt sleep on the couch. wasnt that great? any how.. the bathroom downstairs also flooded during the rain so i opted for upstairs bathroom to shower, the shower wasnt working upstAirs.. sigh.. did i mention the great staff and hotel service?? It was excellent the restaurant food was delicious, waiters ready at hand, housekeeper and cleaning crew from the sewage run off that went into the pool gave us a sympathetic nod. OH yea.. couldnt use the pool 3 days out of our stay it was flooded by sewage over run. We did have a great view of the ocean, hotel is small and quaint but after we didnt buy time share from these people our request for adequate stay were left w/ a lot of shrugs and im not sure who is in charge looks. Dont be fooled by these beautiful pictures, underneath lies mold and mildew. Sorry. but this property needs a total renovation,its severly in need of general repairs. Do you say green to imply you dont use electricity? Because that also went off a few times???? If you stay here dont pay more than you would for a 1 bed hotel stay downtown.. just saying at least downtown ur walking distance to EVERYTHING.

Room Tip: fitness room doesnt exist onsite, and they say massage at your door but after you dont get a time sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Villas El Rancho Green Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Lovelybee63,

Thank you for vacationing with us at Villas El Rancho, and thank you for sharing your comments.

First of all, we want to apologize for the horrible weather that affected your vacation experience. It is not at all normal for us to lose power, but the storm that hit while you were staying was exceptionally powerful. It truly was the kind of storm that only happens once every hundred years, and it hit the entire city of Mazatlan so hard that it caused the problem with the city sewer line, which has never happened before.

However, we would like to point out that despite the extreme nature of the storm, we had the damage cleaned up very quickly. Therefore it seems very strange to us that you were complaining that it took a long time to clean up, because most people seemed impressed with how quickly we recovered, considering the level of damage we sustained.

We also apologize for the problems you had with leaks in the roof. Unfortunately we were in the middle of doing maintenance on the roof when the storm hit, otherwise there wouldn't have been any leaks even with the heavy rain. As you can see, no one else has made any comments about leaks.

We are glad that you appreciated the service offered by our staff, and that you enjoyed our restaurant. We are proud of them, and the way they handled this difficult situation confirms what we already knew - that we have really great people.

As always, we are committed to providing the best atmosphere possible for a relaxing vacation. We are sorry that the weather (which was out of our control) affected your vacation, but we hope that you return soon to enjoy a quiet and relaxing vacation, hopefully with better weather! :)

Sincerely,
Villas El Rancho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Wonderful place with very very helpfull staff!!!!!!!!!!! "Will definately recomend to everyone visiting.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas El Rancho Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Rancho Green Resort

Address: Av Sabalo Cerritos 3170, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Rancho Green Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Beach Resort formed of 28 spacious villas, with sea, pool and garden, where you can comfortably accommodate 6 people. All our villas are fully equipped with two bedrooms, living and dining area, kitchen, satellite TV, air conditioning, so you can feel at home.Our excellente location in New Mazatlan, makes it possible that in less than five minutes you can be in La Marina, where you find the diversity of activities that Mazatlan offers and visit other places like Mall Gallerias, Wal-Mart, Convention Center, a Golf Club and more..In your stay you can visit our Restaurant-Bar Lupita*s, where you can taste, delicious breakfasts, snacks during the day, and at night our specialty, already famous the Seafood Grilled with lobster, shrimp and fish, all at very affordable prices, so you can enjoy your vacation and forget about cooking. Take the chance and come visit us soon! Villas el Rancho Green Resort, the BEST CHOICE for a family vacation in Mazatlan, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villas El Rancho Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Rancho Green Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas El Rancho Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.