We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best beach spot on the Malecon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Corriente

La Corriente
Avenida Del Mar, Mazatlan 82013, Mexico
+52 9837300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 248 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best beach spot on the Malecon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

You wouldn't know it was, unless you knew it was there. On the Malecon across the street from Hotel de Cima, and down the stairs sitting on the beach is the coolest lunch and cocktail bar around. Under palapas with groovy chandelers and contemporary furniture is a great little restaurant. We went there for cocktails on our way downtown for dinner, it is a spectacular place to watch the sunset. Although I have not had lunch there, a local said it was really good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Won't Give Them our Business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My guests went in the evening and both drinks were drugged. Besides that ambiance is okay and food was okay, nicer then some other beachside restaurants, but won't go there ever again and won't advise anyone else to go there as well.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location, Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

La Corriente is located right down on the beach, just below the Malecon - very unique tacos and seafood selection - shabby-chic decor in a very cool palapa - clean washrooms - great place to spend the day at the beach on the individual loungers - or the dining room - perfect place to watch the sunset!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Check out this Beach Club!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This place is the first beach club on Playa Norte. Big comfortable loungers under palapas, cool music at just the right level, buckets of beer on ice, delicious food and great service. We ate lunch here twice and loved it. The location is right in front of the Le Cima hotel and you can eat at your lounger, in the covered bar area, or in another covered restuarant area. I would give this place 5 stars for their washrooms alone, no smelly port-o-potti's here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elegant dining on the Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

When my plans for a 25th Birthday Party fell through at our condo I looked around for another spot here in Mazatlan that had good service, central location, and good food. I found excellence in all three at La Corriente. The staff is very professional, the food plated beautifully, and the ambiance of dinner on the beach at sunset was stunning. The staff waited patiently for all 14 of our guests to arrive being very attentive to each individual whether it be an adult or a child. Highly recommend the Fish and Chips. Crusted perfectly and moist and tender inside. Very good prices for this restaurant. Enjoy! Take your family or just the two of you for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Corriente also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to La Corriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Corriente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.