We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge Bistro

Water's Edge Bistro
Sixto Osuna #48, Centro Historico | Sixto Osuna & Ninos Heroes, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
669-136-0895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 269 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Water's Edge Bistro located in the heart of Centro Historico on the corner of Ninos Heroes and Sixto Osuna just 2 blocks from the Plaza Machado. Come and enjoy fantastic food in a beautifully restored historical property. Chef Alastair and his culinary team has created a wonderful, eclectic menu with a variety of fresh daily specials. We are dedicated to serving only the best food using the freshest, most sustainable ingredients. We would love to see you soon!
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very nice evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

For the last three or four years, the recommendation for that "special occasion" meal in Mazatlan has been Topolo's. This is correct IMHO, but there is a strong challenger now...Waters Edge, at Casa Lucila, at the south end of Olas Altas, just part-way up the hill.

We went the other night, and it was a beautiful evening, with a view over the bay to die for. We actually ate outside...what we ate doesn't matter too much, actually a romaine salad and a panella and tomato salad, and for main the crab pasta, and I had the Asian noodle basket with filet added in. The menu is on the net, but while the menu is not as extensive as some would like, every dish is carefully prepared and presented. And the hosts and wait staff have to be the best trained in town.

Prices are reasonable for the extra experience, so add it to your bucket list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    25
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Finally some fine-dining in Mazatlan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Elegant atmosphere, appears to be run by ex-pats.
Even the local servers spoke with nearly un-accented English. The view
would be nice in the light, but is lost once the sun goes down. The
flatbread was tasty, topped with goat cheese, sundried tomatoes, and
mushrooms (although the mushrooms were slightly burnt). The summer
salad was also good and a generous enough size to easily split between
two people. The Cuban Mojo Shrimp was bursting with garlic and lime
flavor, very good, although the Shrimp were just a touch overcooked.
The standout of the meal was the Tagliatelli with Crab and English
Peas, which was perfect with big chunks of crab, what appeared to be
fresh peas, and a rich cream sauce. We wrapped up with a decadent
chocolate mousse cake. The wine list was modest, but well-selected
and decently priced, as was the menu in general. We had wine,
appetizers, and dessert and still paid less than at the resorts in the
Gold Zone, for much better food and ambience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place was a bit upscale for me but it was pretty close to my hotel so I thought I would give it a gtry. It is very nice atmosphere, again, a bit high rent. The service was prompt and friendly, the food tasty and well prepared. The wine list was extensive and expensive. The food was pricy but not over the top.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The view from the terrace is the best in Mazatlan, overlooking the Olas Altas beach and bay, the islands and the skyline of Mazatlan. Absolutely gorgeous. If it's windy and coolish, you'll be inside without the great view, but the ambience is wonderful and there is often live music. We went twice on our recent week-long stay in Mazatlan, and our dinners at Water's Edge were a highlight of the trip. The waiters were attentive and friendly, the food was truly outstanding, and the menu a nice change for us. And the value for the dollar (peso) was amazing. I recommend Water's Edge to anyone planning a trip to Mazatlan. The walk after dinner to Plaza Macado, thru the historic streets of the old city, is a delight.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day fixed dinner menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have had dinner at the Water's Edge for the past 2 years for Valentine's Day and have had a wonderful experience. Although the menu was fixed, there was a choice of entrees and everything was excellent. I agree that the tables on the terrace offer a wonderful sunset view, and those inside are somewhat hampered by the small windows with bars. I need to go back and have a regular dinner/appetizers so I can compare the value for the excellence of the food. $400 pesos per person for a 4 course dinner was not exceptionally expensive, and probably justified for a holiday. It just seemed a little high for the area. Its great to see the old buildings in the Olas Altas part of town being put to good use and I will return to this scenic spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Water's Edge Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.