We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic decor, great food, terrific value . . . don't miss this spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge Bistro

Water's Edge Bistro
Sixto Osuna #48, Centro Historico | Sixto Osuna & Ninos Heroes, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
669-136-0895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 269 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Water's Edge Bistro located in the heart of Centro Historico on the corner of Ninos Heroes and Sixto Osuna just 2 blocks from the Plaza Machado. Come and enjoy fantastic food in a beautifully restored historical property. Chef Alastair and his culinary team has created a wonderful, eclectic menu with a variety of fresh daily specials. We are dedicated to serving only the best food using the freshest, most sustainable ingredients. We would love to see you soon!
Port Orchard, WA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Chic decor, great food, terrific value . . . don't miss this spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've been visiting Mazatlan for 53 years and have seen it morph from its entirely downtown-centric traditional society to one much more dependent on tourism and cookie-cutter resorts in the Gold Zone five miles away. On our most recent visit, we paid our regular hommage to the old classic center and discovered three new boutique hotels and several new restaurants - despite some of the most challenging economic times in the past half-century. Water's Edge Bistro was the last of our finds, and we returned with friends for dinner the next evening. It was the best dining decision of our week.

Water's Edge sits at the front of one of those new boutique hotels, the Hotel Lucila. That's important to know if you ask your hotel/resort concierge to make reservations. The bistro is unknown to most locals and our resort staff accessed the bistro number via the Hotel Lucila listing. Note that the hotel is also very modern, attractive and among the best options if you choose to avoid the Gold Zone and stay in a traditional Mexican downtown. This small complex sits on a rise at the south end of Olas Altas and offers sweeping views of the bay from the outside dining terrace as well as several of the rooms and small roof pool. Our party of four opted for indoor dining, and every table was full at our 7:30pm reservation time.

Service was prompt, friendly and efficient. Chilean wine as priced typical of the market at $22 but the rest of the menu was, well, INEXPENSIVE! Our four entrees ranged from $8-12 and were all delicious and filling. My Asian noodle bowl with chicken, yakisoba noodles, and bright, julienned vegetables was on par with any similar dish I've had anywhere. Our senior friends both had tagliatelli and said it was great.

We recommend this restaurant without reservation. It is a true Downtown gem and well worth the $10 in taxi fare round-trip from the Gold Zone - you'll still enjoy savings along with a better dining experience than is to be found at most places within the Zone. You'll also find menu choices that are not typical of local restaurants, and that is welcome no matter where you may travel.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    25
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This beautiful restaurant with both indoor and outdoor eating is on the side of a hill overlooking Olas Altos in Mazatlan. The sunset is gorgeous from there as well as the city lights along the water. The restaurant has contemporary furnishings with cloth tablecloths and napkins. We were concerned because others on the internet warned of small portions. Our concerns were discussed as the waiter brought us the smallest dinner rolls that I have ever seen. But they were delicious. As it turns out we were confused by the reports of small sized portions as none of us thought our portions were too small. There were 6 of us and we had beef filet, Cuban shrimp, and chicken. All of us agreed that the food was not only well presented, but delicious. There was a guitar player and flutist entertaining and the atmosphere was fabulous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
full time rver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place if you want a little romance and get away from mexico food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

love the restaurant. the only negative i would say would be that should have a daily special for us who go there frequently. prices are typical for this type of restaurant.
You have to try their flat bread...love it
when the weather is warm and the winds don't blow have a drink outside and watch the ocean and sunset.

wait staff has always been great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Needs Work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were headed to The Presidio but they are either not open on Wednesdays or we were just to early, so we diverted to The Water's Edge. The location at the south end of Olas Altas, in one of the hottest boutique hotels in Central America, is hard to top. The atmosphere on the terrace or in the dining room is excellent. The service is top-notch for Mazatlan. The entertainment (a jazz trio) was pleasant.

The cuisine needs work. Everything was OK, which is unsatisfactory given everything this place has going for it. The Water's Edge has impeccable taste, except when it comes to the food, in which case it must be said that there is a significant lack thereof.

My wife had "The Catch of the Day" which happened to be mahi mahi, which is not the easiest fish to get right, although restaurants all over Mazatlan manage it. It was way over done (dry) with not enough of a decent almondine sauce, that itself was simply out of its depth in Mazatlan.
My seafood soup was too bland and was dominated by the same mahi mahi.

In retrospect, the tone was set by the roasted garlic appie that somehow had been drained of nearly all of anything faintly garlicy. And the crab cake appie, while ok, just lacked any character and did have too many remnants of shell.

We had an apple strudel of sorts with a large scoop of "ice" cream on top. The strudel was quite good but was damaged by the absolutely poor quality of the "half and Half" ice cream with shards of ice distributed throughout.

I suppose that my biggest problem with this place is that it thinks that it can get away with serving mediocre American style upscale cuisine because of the fact it is located in Mazatlan. This is a city of Carnival and fireworks and Banda music and beautiful, voluptuous women and some of the best damned seafood in the world.

A second level scrawny fashion model restaurant does not cut it in Mazatlan.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey G, Owner at Water's Edge Bistro, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Tanzio_it,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review about your dining experience at our restaurant on Wednesday, January 16, 2013. Your positive comments about our location, our service, and our jazz trio are very much appreciated as we work very hard to ensure the overall enjoyment of our customers. It is thriough the feedback from our guests that we are able to learn and continuously improve our restaurant. We are committed to ensuring that each and every customer has an enjoyable experience every visit and I'm sorry we weren't able to achieve this for you on this visit.

We have shared your comments with our team and expressed to them the importance of food quality and consistency to ensure that every guest has a great food. We work hard to develop a menu that is attactive to the customer as well and having the ingredients consistently available here in Mazatlan. We are sorry that you didn't let us know about your concerns at the time of your visit so we could have the opportunity to correct them immediately.

Again please accept us apology for your experience at our restaurant not meeting your expectations and we hope we have the pleasure to host you again.

Should you have any other questions or wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at: tracey@thewatersedgemaz.com

Sincerely,
Tracey Grantham,
Owner,
The Water's Edge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“World's Best Bloody Mary + Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went for Sunday brunch with a group of 8. We did not have reservations and they were very accommodating and put together several tables for us. I had a screwdriver with fresh-squeezed orange juice and my wife ordered a bloody mary, which we agreed was the best bloody mary we had ever tasted, made with fresh tomato juice, lime and spices.

As for the food, I had the bacon and cheddar benedict made with thick sliced bacon like you get in the states and very fresh eggs and a side of salsa picante. My wife had the coconut and pear pancakes (which are really crepes). Everyone in our party thought the food was delicious! I wish we had gone earlier in our trip so we could have gone back again for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Water's Edge Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.