We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
trenton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

hi spent 2weeks here, very nice resort. the food was very good . better than some places we have been too. the staff were friendly no problems there. if you go all inclusive you will have to sign every time you eat or drink ,sometimes it got a little annoying but you go with the flow , room was great we had a master suite only draw back is travel site stated they have balcony's and they don't we asked that's when we found out.. the men went golfing and they had a good time no complaints about the courses they tried, we found a canandian bar down town near dairy queen called the salon great place friendly staff it is owned by 2 ladies from Canada this place is a must go to for a break from the resort. you must check out the market it is something different, but if you go to the food side have a strong stomach the smell , all in all I would recommend this resort ,also a heads up this is a time share resort. but we did not get bugged about time shares

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    299
    112
    53
    44
See reviews for
448
476
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

..............This is not for food poisoning, too much alcohol or bad water...This was just from laughing so hard the entire trip !!

To recap I traveled with a girl friend basically both of our first trip with out family/kids Feb 23- March 3, 2014 and this was my BFFs first time out of the country.

We stayed at Best Western Milwaukee Airport..flew out of Milwaukee and great flight to MZT. Airport was quiet and we exited it fairly fast. Found out transfer, about 7 couples on bus. We were going to take alternate transportation just because of the location of the resort and the amount of stops we would have to take. No need, we were the first ones to get dropped off.

Arrive and went into lobby ..not busy. Proceed to front desk...NO welcome drink, no cooled clothe (these are not a must , but can be really a nice touch) and not even at warm welcoming from the front desk...NO how was you flight, NO welcome to Mazatlan, No welcome to PBEB. Front desk people were horrible !! This was not a good way to start a vacation and the thoughts of booking the wrong resort was flying around in my head . From the time we stepped into the lobby till exited it ...this was just so wrong... just not an acceptable way to treat your new guest. The lobby employees for the rest of the trip was pretty much the same.. It was like pulling teeth to get money/bill broken down or and exchange of any kind. They were always out of money. Asking a general question or needing information...it was as if I had 3 heads...they just looked at you with a blank stare...Pretty much this area of the resort got a big fat -0- ZERO from us !! Many of the other resort guest that we spoke with had the same feelings...

We finally saw a smile when the gentleman was helping us with our luggage to our room. He wanted to put us on one of the little carts but we opted to walk so we could get a bit of a feel for the resort. He explain things about the resort and where things were located. Arrived at our building room #2240 third floor, corner suite with great view of the ocean.

Entering our room to the left our room consisted of 2 beds with master bath, down the hall a closet and a half bath..a few more steps you enter the kitchen, living area and dining area. Large windows to open up with a spectacular view. No balcony which was a little of a let down.

We unpack all of of clothing and set out for a new adventure around the resort. Went to the main pool and had lunch at the Sunset Grill . Finally get to enjoy some sunshine after our very long winter and the sight of the ocean was so peaceful. Food and drinks were great. Pool area was pretty busy with different levels of the pool to sit around. Wondered around the rest of the resort. Went to the Bistro area which was over by our room. This was were we decide that we would have breakfasts in the morning. In the evening we went to Kelly's and sat outside and had some appetizers and drinks. Was a long day and turned in early.

PBEM is not a large resort say as number of rooms but is is a large resort as far as the area it covers. It is stretched out along the ocean front.

We we found our "spot" at the resort ...Pretty much the duration of our trip a was spent by the Bistro and the pool area. Bistro food was wonderful breakfast had items like... Eggs Benedict, shrimp omelets, pancakes, french toast and many more choices. Every morning we start our day with a Mimosa and a Tequila Sunrise and of course a coffee and cappuccino...all so yummy !!!

Our first morning trying to pick a spot at the pool that would be fun and entertaining...well we placed our towel next to some ladies and this was our corner of the pool till the end of our stay. Needles to day we had tons of fun and laughs....this was sooooo good for the soul !!
So many great employees in this area..lets just say all of them !! Jesus was our main man..The Rooster ...LoL He pretty much spoiled us the whole vacation....what a great worker . Very please :)

Our absolute favorite place to eat was at The Bistro ...Great breakfast menu, lunch and dinner....couldn't of asked for anything better. Very happy with all of the people working in this area of the resort ....VERY attentive. All made us fell very welcomed .


Visited Kelly's almost every evening ..great drinks, they do have a menu for food, can be a fun crowd, music was good ..a nice place to hang in the evening to unwind from the long stressful day by the pool ...LOL

La Cordeliere...Had breakfast here one morning ..buffet style, nice. Sunday brunch...great. One evening we attended something like a Mardi Gras dinner very fun and had music.

WiFi is located by the deli...VERY hit and miss...mostly a miss :(

We did pamper ourselves with 2 massages....Can you say WONDERFUL~~~~ and love to the whole spa facility.

Stopped at PBM on one of our trips into town ... went to the pool area ..nice. Found a place to relax in the sun and waited for one of the serves to come and bring us a drink...and waited ...and waited...and waited. It was like we were invisible. Everyone around us was getting service ?!?!? Ready for our 2nd drink...waited...and waited and waited...had enough of the waiting game so we decided to go back to PBEB...boy sure is funny when you pick up your belongs to leave.. they come running for you to sign and get their tip :(

One evening we took a pulmonia ride for a bout 3 hours. Grabbed some beer and off we went. This was a few days before Carnival...everyone working hard to get this event underway. Went to Ice Box Hill / by light house ( I think this is the right name) what a wonderful view in the evening...WOW city lights gorgeous view :)

We really did have and exceptional time at this resort...with just a few hiccups...

My reports are usually more in depth ...but I have been working on this forever...so needed to finish up...I really do enjoying going into full detail on resorts ..it just may help out others... this is not one of my better reports.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Was a very nice facility. Weather was fantastic during our stay from April 3-2014-April 12 2014.

Staff was very attentive and helpful. Food was good and offered a vast variety of choices and was not too expensive.

Atmosphere was great ocean setting. 5 pools, hot tub, and at the villa we had our own private pool and hot tub as well as Jacuzzi in the master suite. BBQ grill on the Patio, TV in every room DVD player Free Wi-Fi at the villa.

It was a great vacation and Mazatlan itself was very interesting and educational. I was apprehensive about traveling to Mexico during there trouble with the drug cartels. But felt safe while there. Tho there was an abundance of local police and federales as well as the Mexican military patrolling the area.

We would definitely go again. Actually thinking about 2015

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, DE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I totally love this tropical paradise and look forward to my next visit IF I am ever able to make it down again. We are owner's from the East Coast of the U.S. and have found it pricey and hard to get there. I wish the hotel owner's could help on this front! I think over $800 in airfare and 30+ hours to get home is wrong and makes us leery of returning anytime soon.

The spa is wonderful! The pools are super. We love the beach in spite of the rocks since neither of us care to body surf or dive, they were no bother. It really is a perfect vacation spot if you need to unwind and relax.

Like others, I don't understand why PBEB can't provide free internet access. I was unable to connect at the free deli WI-FI but saw lots of others there who were able. It would be nice to be able to use a device from the room.

I'm up in air on the all-inclusive. It was nice in some aspects but the extra tipping that was expected ran our tab up much higher than anticipated and we questioned the value at the end. Non-participants will suffer as prices have really increased in the restaurants and bars since we visited 4 years ago presumably due to the all-inclusive addition. Cocktails seemed weaker too and I really missed exploring the local eating places this time around.

It is nice to see the Mazatlan economy thriving. We were amazed at how much the area has improved and grown in Nuevo Mazatlan.

Room Tip: We like buildings 1 or 2 for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a fabulous resort, and the online pictures really don't do it justice. Many have commented on the wonderful restaurants, landscaping, etc., so at the risk of sounding negative, I'll make a few observations of things that did disappoint us in hopes that it helps readers align expectations appropriately. Internet: While the website promotes that every room has high speed internet, the fact is that is costs $57 per week PER DEVICE. That did not go over well with our teenagers. I think the cost might have been covered if we were owners or paying by the night. Beach: rocky and not for swimming. We had a red flat the whole time we were there, while noticing that properties just around the point and through the Golden Zone had more favorable conditions and better sand/surf. Balcony/Terrace: I suppose it depends on the definition. We had windows that opened up and a six inch decorative "terrace". Balcony's are great when traveling with many, especially when from an early time zone. All Inclusive: this is not an all inclusive resort. It is a resort that offers a meal plan. And that part is super. But your refrigerator has nothing in it, and if you want to have coffee in your suite you have to buy it in the deli or order it from room service ($4 delivery charge fyi). Shuttle and Sister Resort: We took the shuttle a couple of times into the sister resort. That resort is smaller and more classical in design, and is located on a public beach with some persistent but polite vendors. That said, if you want some local feel, head over there. But with teenagers and a 20 year old with us, we were glad we didn't have the outside influences at night. With Emerald Bay you can let them run with no concern. Timeshare Presentation: this resort system has a really great and flexible program. We don't normally sit through the presentation and had we been interested in purchasing it would have been difficult not to. Don't believe them through when they say there won't be pressure. If the first two don't convince you, the big guy in the small room will try. I'm not sure what his approach would have been but he and his "manager" sure weren't happy when we refused to stay. City Tour: We didn't do the official tour, but instead hired a small white car/cab for $20 per hour from the sister resort to take us around to the spots. It was a great way to see things and the small vehicle allowed us to get to places a bus couldn't. In summary, this is a fabulous resort and we hope we can go back again.

Room Tip: If exchanging just recognize that you have little choice and that the "Master" suites ofte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Although we are not members of the Pueblo Bonito timeshare, we were able to trade a week from our Hawaii property for a week in Mazatlán. We couldn't have been more pleased with the exchange!

We took advantage of the breakfast and time share presentation the first morning of our stay and enjoyed the visit with our guide, Roberto, and were glad not to have a hard sell to deal with. We made it clear we would not be purchasing a membership during this visit, so were able to concentrate on getting to know the area instead.

The staff have been friendly and engaging, offering numerous activities for the entire family at the main pool in the center of the property. It has been fun to see the various birds and reptiles on the grounds.

Room Tip: There are several large supermarkets nearby so it is worth taking the time at the beginning of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time that our family visited PBEB. We bought a timeshare the first time we stayed; we were utterly enchanted and our second visit was just as wonderful as the first. The facility itself is unparalleled in its location, architectural design, immaculate grounds and proximity to the ocean, but what really connects us to this place is the employees. People like Edith, Lorena, Ghaddi, Eduardo and Domingo were warm, welcoming and delightful: they made us feel like we were returning family and they are true professionals. Our family especially loves the trivia games down by the pool, the beach volleyball, and making pulseras in the sunshine. Because we are a family on a budget, and the kitchens are so complete, we bought groceries for the week and just went out to dinner a few times. We recommend Brujas, and Costas Marinara for a family friendly atmosphere. We also thoroughly enjoyed the Fiesta Mexicana dinner night at the resort and danced into the night. We also have a family tradition of buying shrimp directly from the changeras at the merchado and sautéing them in garlic and butter back in our room for a fantastic, authentic dinner.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.