We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love this resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Love Love this resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We are timeshare owners at this resort & have never been disappointed with the people, the amenities or the food. The resort & rooms are beautiful. We have been coming here for several years & want to keep coming back for years to come. It is by far the best place that we have stayed at in Mexico & we have stayed at some high end resorts. We love the people such as Jose (the front desk manager), Jose (the bar manager) & Raul, both at the adult pool & all the waiters at Cordeliere & the Bistro restaurants. They all go out of their way to give us the best service possible. We also love the all-inclusive plan which is great value for the money & it is a nice option to be able to go to the restaurants at the Pueblo Mazatlan which are wonderful as well.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so great views from everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    265
    101
    50
    41
See reviews for
356
429
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay was built in 2001, and shortly after completion the parent company shifted its focus to Cabo, building five new resorts there in the intervening years. Which unfortunately means their attention (and money) has not been on maintaining and updating their Mazatlan property. Sadly, it shows in a lot of little things when you stay here.

The grounds are beautiful, although in some places starting to overgrow the walkways. We had to have a maintenance person come to our 3rd floor room to show us how to get hot water for the shower (tip: turn the hot water on in the sink and let it run well before taking a shower). We had to wipe our feet every night before getting into bed because the floors had enough dirt/sand on them your bare sole's would be covered. If you want Wi-Fi you need to huddle around the one deli that provides it for the entire resort. It feels like it has been years since they replaced the shocks on the bus that takes you into town.

We did the all-inclusive plan which in their case has service gratuity included. I usually supplemented that with an additional tip at each meal, but not at a high percentage since some was already being included. On one occasion I was surprised when the waiter returned to my table with the check and said "This must be in dollars?" assuming he felt the tip was too small. It's things like that you don't expect from a resort that would like to portray class.

That said, most of the staff is a joy to be around and truly helpful and friendly. We just returned from our second year to spend a week here. It was nice enough, but doubt we will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Although a bit far from downtown the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay is a beautiful place to stay. They have a free shuttle that runs on the hour to its sister hotel, Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, about 20 minutes away and from there you can take the pulmonaria, taxi or air conditioned city green bus to centro historico (old town).
Staying at either resort allows you the use of both resort facilities and restaurants and I highly recommend you try Cilantro's on the beach at the sister hotel. The staff were excellent and always helpful in both locations. The building style at Emerald Bay location is French Italian colonial and feels very luxurious. Each room has a view of the ocean and the 3rd and 4th floors give the best views. We stayed in the Machado Building on the 3rd floor and found it was centrally located to the restaurants, pools and central lobby as well as the gym and spa.
The bathroom could use some caulking around the tiles which would make it look clean and fresh at very little cost. Choose from the pillow menu as the pillows they put on the beds are quite lumpy. They will deliver pillows from the menu directly to your room at no cost.
They do try to get you to buy a time share if you accept their free breakfast but not as high pressured as some sales teams we have experienced. However there is a good discount on the all inclusive rate if you participate in the presentation breakfast.
The Cordeliere restaurant has some good theme nights but the buffet style can get a little tiring so go downtown sometimes and enjoy some of the amazing seafood. Mazatlan is the shrimp capital of Mexico and the chefs know how to prepare shrimp in so many ways. We liked the other restaurant best at PBEB (the Bistro with a la carte menu.) There was a shortage of Pool towels and had to use our own room bath towels one day during the week.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay and would stay there again without a doubt.
PS try the mango daiquiris and margaritas, refreshing and go down so well (maybe too well lol)

Room Tip: Choose 3 or 4th floor in the middle of the resort for the best all round location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We feel flattered after reading such a nice review, we really enjoy welcoming people with positive attitude like you. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable and fun stay at Emerald Bay and that you could also made some excursions, we really appreciate your tips that are very helpful for our future guests. Hope to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful week at the Villa at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay since friends were unable to use for the week. These are spacious 3 bedroom units, complete with 4 bathrooms, 4 TV's, computer and internet, large furnished kitchen, plus a private pool and hot tub. It's a short walk to the pool (depending on the location of your Villa and we enjoyed the peace and quiet!!
Weekends were definitely more crowded with locals, so it was a bit noisier near the pool area. The gym is well maintained and clean. The hotel offers a free shuttle service on the hour to the other Pueblo Bonito Resort, where you can enjoy the beach.

We'll soon be planning our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have a time share here, usually staying for 2 weeks. We have no regrets as we love Mazatlan & usually stay longer, but in different places, for example, in the old town, at Estrella del Mar, and in a townhouse on the beach just south of Emerald Bay.
As previous visitors to this site have done, I will list pros & con.
PROS
1.Great staff, always friendly & where possible accommodating.
2.Beautiful grounds, well maintained, great for exercise & just enjoying
3.Nice rooms, well kept & good maid service
CONS
1. Lack of internet in rooms. We paid for a week in our room. It did not work. Hotel said it was not their responsibility. After a lot of hassle at the front desk we got a partial refund. A resort of this calibre should have WIFI in more than one spot.
2. No control of chairs near pool. Most have been reserved by 9am with not a soul in sight.
3. With all-inclusive signing can be difficult. We were at the front desk at 11 pm one night as the restaurant wouldn't accept our son in law's signature, even though he had given it at check-in.
4. Maintenance is required in some rooms, eg caulking & tiles, toilets that run continually & checking that the list of supplies in the room is as stated. It is a nuisance to have to call for small items such as salt that pours, placemats etc. New sofas would greatly improve comfort. The cushions are constantly sliding.
5. In spite of the fact that we always tip well & in cash, I object to being asked for a tip.
6. Timeshare sales. Each year if you are an owner you are offered a breakfast to see the new deals. I had 2 broken toes, so said that I did not want the tour but just to hear what they had to offer. They said it was no problem. When it came to the sales pitch, they would not honour what we had arranged, even after speaking with the sales manager. The result is that we will never increase our ownership or purchase at another of their resorts. Their loss, not ours.
GENERAL
We love coming here & knowing what to expect is great. We have rarely seen people over the limit. Generally partygoers prefer to be in the golden zone.
Unless you eat & drink a lot I would not recommend the meal plan. There are so many great places to eat in town. However, if you have small kids & don't plan on leaving the resort, it could work well for you. We find that going every year & with little or no changes to the menu that we prefer to do our own thing. Having said that, a daughter with a 1 yr old & a 3 yr old said she was more relaxed in one day at the resort than a whole week in the Caribbean the previous year.
We are returning in 2014, one week at a villa & the 2nd at the resort. A different daughter with older kids will join us, so we will see how they enjoy themselves.
I would recommend one reads the reviews & make a decision accordingly. No place is going to please everyone all of the time, no matter how good.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor building K, middle Master Suite. There is continual noise from the heating /cooli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived the day of their Independence Holiday. I'll never do that again. The bus from the airport could not get up the driveway due to the patrons arriving by car. So, we had to drag out suitcases up the driveway to the bell boys. The check in was chaotic and noisy. So many people. We had scheduled a junior suite, but due to the number of people there, they upgraded us to a one bedroom with two bathrooms. This was great. We learned later that they had gone from 30% occupancy to 100% occupancy. The place was packed for the Sat. Sun. and Monday holiday. So many people with children and gramma along to watch them.

The resort is beautiful and is my favorite place to stay. I felt sorry for the work staff because the guests were demanding and noisy to them. I appreciate the hard work that these workers do on very little money.

After most of the people left on Monday, the place resorted to a nice pace and less screaming children and less diapers in the pool. The Bistro pool area was our favorite since it was quiet and very little people. The rain started then, but they staff maintained the overflow quite nicely. This went on for 3 days. I was thinking I'd go home with less tan than I had arrived with. Can't complain about the rain when the temperature was in the high 80's.

We spent two weeks here and enjoyed the sister city in town. We just love the beach there and the playing in the surf. A great place to swim and ride the waves. On several days, we were the only ones under a palapa and enjoying the day. Our waiter was so attentive and we have seen him there for many years. Sorry, I forgot his name. We opted for the all inclusive and think this was a good idea. We don't usually eat that much, but liked the convenience of just eating whenever and whatever. Mimosa's for breakfast are great.

I am a loyal Emerald Bay visitor. This year we finally purchased there. So, I will get to go back from now on. It is worth the wait.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My sisters and I stayed at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay the first week of September and it was fantastic! September is during the non-peak season for the area, so the resort was not busy. This allowed us to enjoy all of what it had to offer without having to worry about the crowds. Read on...

Resort:

On the beach, but only a small portion. The beach itself is probably about a 1/4 mile long, but very rocky towards one end. There are cabanas available on the beach where the sand is nice, but they are on a first come first served basis. In the evening, you can lay and watch some incredible sunsets! The resort has three pools, with the main pool being pretty big with a swim up bar. One of the two other pools does have a large jacuzzi as well. Most of my time was spent playing volleyball and drinking margaritas at the large pool. There resort has a company that handles pool activities and games, so there was always something going on in the afternoon. Very lively, and I can only imagine how it is during peak season! We understood that peak season for the resort is November to July, and then it starts slowing down in August. When you stay at Emerald Bay, you also have access to the other Pueblo Bonito resort in Mazatlan...Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. This resort is the older of the two, but has the better beach. Plenty of cabanas to take a nap under! Emerald Bay has a fantastic fitness center for those that want to get a workout in. The grounds at Emerald Bay are immaculate...with flowers and plants and waterfalls and such throughout the resort. It truly is an amazing place!

Dining:

Emerald Bay has several areas to dine in. The Bistro (with one of the pools right in front), the deli (where free wifi is available), and La Cordeliere (main dining room / morning buffets). There are also grill areas by the main pool. I HIGHLY recommend the fish tacos...they were wonderful with a Pacifico beer! The food is good to great, and the two seafood plates I got while there were outstanding! Those plates were shrimp plates, as Mazatlan is the shrimp capital of the world. There is one main bar at Emerald Bay (Kelly's Bar) and they showed nightly sports and it was lively to sit and enjoy an evening cocktail. If you make the visit to the other resort (PB Mazatlan), you MUST sit out and have dinner at Cilantro's...the sunset views from here are incredible! Angelo's is also a great visit for some very nice steaks. Bottom line, the dining experience at both resorts is very, very good!

Mazatlan itself:

This was the first time for all of us to go to Mazatlan. I've been to other parts of Mexico (Cancun, Puerto Vallarta) and I have to say that Mazatlan is much more "old school." We took a city tour the last day we were day and it was pretty cool. My sisters and I grew up in El Paso, Texas, and come from a Mexican family, so the tour was very much taking us back to our childhoods. We visited the busy mercado (market place) as well as saw the cliff divers ($200 pesos per jump). We saw another side of Mazatlan that isn't the big, beautiful resort area. Don't get me wrong, we weren't driving through the slums or anything, but it was refreshing to see raw old style Mazatlan.

Weather:

The weather was humid, and not terribly hot. We did get rain towards the end of our stay, but it would move out once the afternoon rolled around. If you go during the non-peak season (September - October, and even some of August), be sure to be prepared for at least some wet weather. The week after we left, the west coast of Mexico got hit hard with tropical storms and a hurricane.

Activities:
While on the beach at the older resort, we were approached by all of the vendors selling excursions and day trips, etc. Also, this was the beach where all of the vendors selling jewelry, hats, clothes, etc. will find you. My advice if you go during non-peak is negotiate any excursion down to what you want to pay. They are hurting for business. I went out on a 4 hour fishing excursion and paid $300 (U.S. dollars)...that was WAY too much as I later learned. Although, they did offer me either deep sea fishing (marlin) or bottom fishing (sea bass, snapper, etc.). I chose bottom fishing as they said it would generate more bites. We caught about 25 fish, with the biggest being about a 25 lb yellow tail snapper. It was awesome.

Time share:
My sisters and I all went through the time share presentation, and we loved the resort so much, we all bought a time share. They don't pressure you at all, and the presentation is probably about 90 minutes, but for us, we really, really loved it. My sister's went in on the big package, and I bought my own. I was even more excited afterwards when talking to existing time share owners and their thoughts and experiences of owning.

Bottom line, even if I wouldn't have purchased the time share, I would definitely go back to Emerald Bay. It was just fantastic fun, in a beautiful resort setting. I can't wait to go back in June! Ping me with any questions you might have. Enjoy!

Bobby

Room Tip: WiFi is located at the deli for FREE. Anywhere else and you have to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.