We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Centralia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This resort far exceeded my expectations-I loved it! I had never been to an all-inclusive before and wasn't sure that was my thing. Again-loved it. All the food was delicious. The only buffet was breakfast, all other meals were served and ordered off the menus.
My visit was the last week in May-very very quiet there as this is their off season. I loved that too. The weather was perfect. Low 80's during the day and low 70's at night. Slept with my top floor terrace door open to the waves. It's very safe and secure at PB.
I never visited the main pool as it was more of a party type atmosphere with music and such. Although, still allot of chairs available! Visited the adult pool one day, but most mingled around the bar and the busy server did not come out to the chairs. Had to order and then take my drink out myself.
Then I discovered the wonderful quiet, warm, large pool at the Bistro. I spent all the rest of my days there. Nice restaurant there for lunch or dinner. Pool service was provided for drinks and usually there were only 2 or 3 other couples or families there. Very quiet and peaceful. I strolled down the quiet empty beach picking up pretty shells to arrive there. All areas are so extremely clean and well cared for. The water must be salt as it is so soft,clear, and warm.
Yes, I am glad I did the time share 90 min presentation. In return I received 3 spa visits for the price of one , discounted to $45 and the $150 resort credit. I paid only $39 on my departure. It was great paying for everything up front and no surprises upon leaving.
There were two restaurants available and Kelly's bar. On Tuesday and Friday evenings Raphael Rodriguez plays great music at Kelly's. Because he was so good, I went to see him again at another venue at the Marina. Taxi was only $7. I met up with expats there who are living the good, inexpensive life in Mazatlan and loving it.
In fact Mazatlan itself was a wonderful surprise! It was not even in my top 25 places to visit-but it is now. I fortunately won 3 nights at Pueblo Bonito and added a couple more on my own plus the all inclusive option. I did the math after I received my final bill, and the AI option was very worth it. I've visited many other places in Mexico, but Mazatlan is still small, but large enough to have all the amenities.
I used the free shuttle and visited the other resort one evening for dinner at Angelo's. Best meal of the trip! Using this shuttle also get's you much closer to town if you'd like to visit. I enjoyed staying further out due to the peace and quiet.
I stayed in a Junior Suite which was more than adequate for my solo visit. It had a kitchenette that I only used to make morning coffee. I had a lovely terrace where I watched the sunset every evening. I had a tour of the other rooms and villas. A master suite would be perfect for a couple, although the one I saw did not have a terrace-only windows that opened to the sea. A master and junior suite can be connected. The villas are to die for with their own private pools, bedrooms with private baths-but no ocean view. The spa is lovely.
Would I go again? I certainly hope too! All the staff were friendly, polite, and happy. Service was extremely good.
From what I could see, Emerald Bay is by far the nicest resort in Mazatlan. Plus no beach peddlers. I'd now like to look into affordable retirement options in Mazatlan myself!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor views! Plus floors are all tile, so if on a lower floor, you will hear people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Catherine K,

We feel pleased after reading such a nice and friendly review, we are glad that you had the time to enjoy all of our facilities and that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    252
    96
    49
    40
See reviews for
346
406
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culiacan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I really like pueblo bonito Emerald bay but i have to say that the "welcome reception" at the front desk was desapointing, they act like they are doing you a favor instead of make you feel welcome! I was suposed to recieve a bottle of wine at my arrival as a gift because the hotel's aniversary but no bottle was placed in my Room i had to beg for it! That's not a five star attitude!!!!
Despite the front desk staff, everyone else is super friendly! The pool staff, the bar staff the restaurante staff all of them had the best attitude!!! Always wanted to please you in every way!
The hotel is beautiful, the gardens , the views spectaular!!!! But the thing is that you can not swim in the ocean because of the rocks. But everything else it's just Perfect!
I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrisburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

the grounds are spectacular. The pools are huge and beautiful. I enjoyed all inclusive because there was a great selection of restaurants to choose from. We loved taking the free shuttle into town to eat on the beach under a palapa topped place owned by Emerald Beach's sister resort and we were offered the "gourmet sampling" of 6 courses with our all inclusive, at a little Italian restaurant in town. Whatever you do, STAY AWAY from the timeshare presentation just next door, down the beach at La Jolla.My husband & I were walking the beach one morning and were lured in with an offer of $500.00. Should have known right there something was up. Long story short, they scammed us big time and now they have $7,000.00 and we have NOTHING to show for it. They are lurking right next door, so watch out.
Ask Pueblo Bonito staff about them and you will probably get an earful of others like us who fell into their trap. Anyway our week at Emerald Beach was very pleasant.

Room Tip: not all rooms have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Carole,
Thank you very much for writing such a nice review, and also for taking the time to review us. We feel very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay at Emerald Bay.
Hope to welcome you anytime soon.

Best Regards,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, TX
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This property is due for some attention which it will do now that the owner of Pueblo Bonito has taken a partner who will infuse significant money. Attention to grounds, service, elevators, adding outlets and the eventual completion of the golf course will help. The staff are generally very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. It's a wonderful location. I'm glad I own a timeshare there, but it won't stop me from pointing out the need for improvements. This year I spent two weeks instead of one which was more relaxing and easier. I still prefer the pool by Bistro to the main pool or the adult pool. The Bistro menu could be expanded. It would be lovely to Cordeliere have a menu sometimes instead of a fixed meal (buffet). View of the ocean are terrific. Despite advertising the opposite, the shuttle took over an hour to the airport and made multiple stops. There is a sales pitch which is optional but which has incentives. If you go, be prepared to make a decision on the spot. The spa is wonderful. Tours in town were long and not worth it.

Room Tip: Decide what pool you want to be near and ask accordingly (lower, main or adult)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had a very negative experience at PB Emerald Bay recently (May 24-28 2013) and it really boiled down to customer service. I had prepaid my stay several weeks ahead of time through Orbitz ahead of time to avoid the hassle. Upon check-in, the receptionist who helped me (I believe Esmeralda was her name on her badge) never once smiled or greeted me. I informed her that I was checking in and that I had a reservation. She quickly looked through a drawer and could not find me. I informed her that I had prepaid through Orbitz and offered a copy of my confirmation and travel itinerary. She then asked if I could email her a copy to which I did on the spot. She again looked through the drawer and couldn't find me. I asked what the problem was and was told that the gal who did the reservations doesn't work on the weekends and that I would have to wait till Monday. It was Saturday and I thought what am I going to do. I informed her politely that I had just given her both an email and printed copy of my reservation with a hotel confirmation number. She stated that was sufficient and that if I wanted to stay I would have to pay $4000 pesos and with that I began to become upset. I asked, "so you mean to tell me that no one on the weekend can access reservations because the one person who handles them is out of the office" and with a stern look was told that was the case. Now believe me that there was no miscommunication because I am a native born Mexican citizen and speak Spanish fluently but live in Washington State. I offered to call Orbitz from phone and was told that was unnecessary since again the gal who does reservations in not in till Monday. I had the option to leave or pay $4000 pesos. The reason I was charged the $4000 pesos is because I don't travel with Credit Cards and is why I prepaid in the first place. So I had no other option but to pay $4000 on my debit card which they state was a hold but hold or charge the funds were unavailable to me after that point. When I got to my room I called Orbitz and they informed me the reservation was emailed 3 weeks prior and gave me the email address it was emailed to. Then I was put on hold and the Orbitz rep called three times to the hotel but no one was answering the phone. I had to call downstairs and let them know Orbitz was calling. The rep from Orbitz informed them that everything was paid in full and offered to email the information to a different address since she got the same story that the gal who does reservations was out till Monday. They did not want another email (front desk at PB) and my rep from Orbitz apologized on behalf of PB and put me on top priority for Monday. On Monday I went downstairs and again (no smiles or greeting from the receptionist staff) and asked to talk to a supervisor. And guess what, they did not give me a name or phone number, all I was told that he was not in. I actually had to get the name from the time share reps which I thought was crazy. I found out later on Monday that my reservation was found but had to wait till the end of my staff for a refund. I asked to see my reservation and I find that someone else's receipt for 2000 pesos was stapled to my reservation and mine for 4000 was stapled to someone elses. The hotel itself was clean and the staff next to the pool was cheerful and very helpful. I cannot say the same for the front office and their poor customer service. I have stayed at PB Sunset Beach, Rose, and Blanco in Cabo and never have had such poor customer service. I will be returning to the CID Marina for all my future Mazatlan stays which is six times a years.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for the last few days of our 2 week vacation. We had a bad experience in town, so they were kind enough to make arrangements for us in a villa. The villas are amazing. Smart move on their part, too... as now we'll want to return to the villas in the future.

The restaurant service at Emerald Bay continues to lack any sense of urgency... but that's different review. As for the room, the room service and maid service were exceptional. The beds were comfortable, the pillows were in good repair, there's plenty of storage space. It doesn't feel like you're living out of a suitcase or making do in cramped quarters. Wonderful, wonderful.

There's some wildlife, too. We enjoyed watching jack rabbits, iguanas, and birds.

Room Tip: The villas are spendy, but if you're traveling with a large group and plan to eat in, they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while he was in Mazatlan on business. The resort is simply beautiful with lovely walking paths, waterfalls, beautiful statues and tropical birds at every turn. Great swimming pools, and an amazing beach. The rooms are very large, and the cleaning and room service staff did a wonderful job. It was super quiet, with almost no people around, (some days I was the only person on the beach!) which was perfect for me. All I did was relax and read my books. Always lots of chairs to choose from, and a wonderful staff to assist with anything that you might need. Certainly NOT a party hotel, but if you want a quiet peaceful vacation in beautiful surroundings, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.