We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Alberta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa

The
hotel is lovely as was the view from my room. The food was great as was the service.

I did have a problem at check in, however as they did not have my reservation from Expedia. Fortunately I had the confirmation with me. I then found in on my i-pad and took that to the desk. This all took a LONG time as they hotel was very busy. I was told that my reservation was under the wrong name. The nice young man at the check in desk did find me a room finally, but took my credit card to pay for it in case the problem did not go away. By the next day or two, he said he had straightened out the problem. He told me the problem was with Expedia, not the hotel.

That may have been the case; regardless, it was worrisome as it was at a very busy time.

The rest of my stay could not have been better. I will go back, but I will call ahead now to be sure that I do have a reservation.

Room Tip: The rooms all face the ocean, but some are closer than others. I would ask for a studio with an ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear MacKayAlberta,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us. We apologize for any inconvenience that the check in process may have caused you, but we are glad that everything worked out well. Hope to welcome you to Emerald Bay anytime soon.

Sincerely,

Roberto Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    232
    95
    47
    39
See reviews for
294
390
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

First time visitors to Mazatlan. Was a little skeptical reading some of the reviews here but found this location to be idyllic. Grounds are very well landscaped and right on the ocean. We stayed in building 19, ground floor, master suite and had more room than we really needed with an outside patio and beautiful sunset views. The room was clean, furniture well kept, clean linen, comfortable beds, everything in the room worked just fine.

There is a push to buy time shares on site and you have to go through the 'desk' at registration. We politely declined and they left us alone. I have done more than my fair share of 90 minute time share pitches and don't need to do any more.

We were 'all inclusive' and enjoyed the choices at the restaurants on site as well as at the sister hotel downtown. No problems getting the shuttle either way, we booked and always got the shuttle we wanted, never had to wait and shuttle's ran on time. I would certainly recommend the Bistro, good food, good service. I was a little less impressed with the main restaurant that had the theme evenings. Sometimes 'mass produced' buffet food just does not work but the good news is there are other choices. Would definitely recommend Kelly's bar, Ivan & Oskar and the guy's are good fun and a good end to the day.

As much as I like the all inclusive option which we choose for the convenience of not having to worry about how much we are eating or drinking I do notice that it sometimes brings out the worst in people. If there was any downside to this vacation it was some of the rude and intolerent (sad to say) fellow American tourists who really acted out and got louder and louder as the day went on. Full marks to the bar and restaurant staff for not reacting. Note to all.... hollering 'Hey Amigo" repeatedly in a loud voice time after time until you get attention is not a good way to win friends :)

We liked the activities that were available throughout the day every day (except Monday's). I would definitely recommend joining in which really helps to make the days fun although the day's really do fly by. Could not believe we were there a week. We seemed to blink and it was over. Please , if you do participate in some of the team games like Volleyball , please remember you are likely playing with or against folks who do not play this game other than on vac and are participating here so as to meet folks and have fun so 'spiking' the ball and getting 'in your face' is probably not a good idea so take your anti-competitive chill pills well in advance and have some fun without it being at the expense of others.

Definitely enjoyed this hotel and resort and definitely would recommend it to others. Not sure though if I feel as strongly about Mazatlan. A bit run down and a lot less to do here in comparison to Cancun or Puerta Vallarta.

Room Tip: We stayed in a master suite in building 19. Great views, quiet location, ideally located between two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our second year here. Our perspective is probably different from the people who have time shares and have visited for multiple years. We returned because we found it to be as nice or nicer than the higher end mass market all-inclusives at a significantly lower cost. I wrote a longer review last year, but the short version is that it has a great pool, really good food, good service and is a very good deal. There are two major downsides. One is the beach, which is not really useable. This is remedied somewhat by the availability of a beach at the sister resort, which is pretty nice. The second drawback is the that the fees for items that would normally be included at an all-inclusive, and the request for tips at every meal on top of the all-inclusive fee, is annoying and adds up. However, at the end of the day the number is not big enough to change the fact that Pueblo Bonito is a relative bargain.

We did not notice any significant drop-off in quality from last year to this year. We may try somewhere else next year just for a change of pace, but we would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beautiful grounds and a very friendly staff. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. Only complaint is not enough outlets but this not much of a problem. Lots of pools, we liked the one on the end near a restaurant. I think it's adults only. Restaurants on site are very good but we cooked many of our meals in the room. Their on-site gym and spa are first rate. Although this resort is a little far from town they have regular shuttles to their other resort which is closer to the tourist areas.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view towards the ocean. Higher rooms may have a slightly better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Gringobill,

We really appreciate your nice comments about our resort, it is great to hear you had such an enjoyable time at Emerald Bay. Looking forward to welcome you anytime!

Sincerely,

Roberto Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just returned from two weeks at our home resort in Mazatlan and we have to say that those reviews noting a slight decline are on the mark. We have owned here since 2006, and stayed here 4 times in the past.
Grounds are still beautiful, thought there has been some heavy handed pruning on some of the trees by the pool areas.
We also stayed in one of the original buildings (11) for the first time and the rooms are in need of some TLC.
Service and staff were friendly and helpful as usual, just a few things that take a bit of the luster off the stay. We have the feeling that the All Inclusive option has resulted in a bit of a decline in service around the pool area. Deli is still a good option for snacks, etc and the fresh made salsa is some if the best we had in our two weeks.
The menu change at Cilantros in PB Mazatlan has resulted in 'Americanized' Mexican food, not the high quality local specialties previously offered. Again this might be a result of the all inclusive program.
Food in the restaurants at Emerald Bay is just so so, and over priced. N. American prices for average quality Mexican food. We found many more options for better food, at much more reasonable prices, a short bus or taxi ride away at local restaurants.
We will go back again next year, but with our expectations set a bit lower than in the past

Room Tip: Higher the better - 3rd or 4th floor. Avoid rooms in buildings 10 and 11 - two of the original build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We loved this resort. Nice, clean room that was well-maintained. In fact, the entire property is beautiful and well-maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful and always ready to please. If you like swimming you'll love the various swimming pools. They're excellent.

We ate most of our breakfasts and dinners at the main restaurant, La Cordeliere. The food was excellent and is a buffet most of the time. The weather was great so we at outside overlooking the beach. Beautiful setting. We ate dinner one night at the Bistro which has a menu. Food was OK. Most lunches we ate poolside. Food was also good. Our favorite poolside waiter, Victor, kept us supplied with whatever food or drinks we wanted.

We did not buy the meal plan. Good thing. The price is $95 per day per person. Without the plan we spent about $55 per day per person. We ate all meals except one at the resort. The plan may make sense if you drink lots of alcohol. Otherwise, forget it.

Wi-fi? In the room it was about $12 per day per device and the signal was lousy. The Deli has free wi-fi and it worked great all except one day.

The resort is quite a distance from downtown Mazatlan and the other resorts. The taxi fare is $15 each way to downtown. It's really designed for you to stay put, especially if you buy the meal plan.

One annoyance was the high-pressure tactics to get you to take a tour and hear a sales pitch to be a condo/time-share owner. The sales people attack you as soon as you get there and dangle a discounted meal plan if you'll listen to them. I told them "no meal plan" in both English and Spanish. They continued to push and even called us after our second day. Avoid these people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our fifth year in a row at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay and it never disappoints. The setting is beautiful and every aspect of the resort is excellent. The breakfast buffet is excellent and all of the wait staff remember us from previous years and are very attentive.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Joseph,

We appreciate your kind remarks and the time you took to review us, we also would like to thank you for your preference on choosing Emerald Bay for 5 years in a row! Guests like you are what make us feel satisfied for the quality of the service we strive to provide each day.

Best Regards,

Roberto Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Address: Ave Ernesto Coppel Campana 201 | Camino Al Delfin, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite comes with a panoramic ocean view from your private balcony and has amenities like outdoor Jacuzzis, a beauty salon with mini-spa and tennis courts nearby. Relax below 150-year-old mangroves that surround a free-form pool and stroll the shoreline by the bay. Located next world famous sport fishing waters, golf courses, and the Gold Zone, you can enjoy any number of nearby activities on both land and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Hotel Mazatlan
Mazatlan Emerald Bay
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Mazatlan
Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.