We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd time at Costa Bonita, couldn't have been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabalo Cerritos 7500, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 72 hotels in Mazatlan
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our 3rd time at Costa Bonita, couldn't have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We spent 2 weeks (Dec 18, 2010 to Jan 1, 2011) there with our 16 year old twins, it was supposed to be just my wife an I, but the twins whined enough that we took them too, so much for a romantic vacation...

When reading in these reviews I see comments about the lack of maid service and one complained about insufficient towels/linens. I find these comments odd because they are complaining about "Costa Bonita" when it was not "Costa Bonita" renting them the condo, they rented a privately owned condo that happens to be in the "Costa Bonita" complex. They should take it up with the people they rented the condo from, not complain about the complex where the condo is situated in... As for organized activities, there are none, the building is not a hotel; the condos are all private residences in a complex on the beach. You have to find/make your own activities. This is probably not the place to stay if plan on spending all your time at the complex expecting to be entertained.

The condo and the resort is extremely clean and well kept. The restaurant and bar is run as a not-for-profit by the HOA so the prices are very low. There is a huge selection of books to trade in the room behind the jacuzzi. We found the snowbirds to be friendly and outgoing. It is a quiet place, no organized activities, but one of the snowbird ladies gives free water exercise classes each morning. We spent most of the time exploring Mazatlan, We signed up for several trips, rented a Hobie Cat 4 times (1 hour each time). we booked the Huana Coa Canopy Adventure zip line tour (12 lines) at the tour desk, what a blast!!!!!! They even include beers or soft drinks and a great Mexican cheese fondue meal after the zipppppingggggg. The guys are really funny and they know what they are doing, highly recommended!

The resort beach area is gently sloped, it does not drop off quickly like it does in many other parts of Mazatlan, you can walk out a long ways before it gets deep. The Golden Zone is around 10 minutes away by bus (60 cents), there is a bus every few minutes, so we didn't bother with a taxi (around 7 dollars) unless we were going back to the condo with a lot of purchases.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

No complaints whatsoever! We rented a 2 bedroom condo from an owner on vrconnection.com. The suite was very clean and well kept. They stocked it with everything that you would find in your own home. There were plenty of good quality towels and linens, lots of dinnerware, pots, pans etc. The washer and dryer came in handy. Having a 2nd bedroom with its own TV was great because we have 2 kids, we got to watch our programs for a change.

We had been to Mazatlan many times before; the hotels we stayed at in the Golden zone are all noisy until 2 or 3 in the morning. Costa Bonita is a quick 10 minute bus ride away from the noisy part of town, so we could spend time in the “touristy” area and go back to the condo for a quiet nights sleep. The complex is stunning, the staff and the resident snowbirds are super friendly. The suites are 3 or 4 times the size of a hotel room. The beach is undoubtedly the nicest in Mazatlan. The place is dead quiet after 10 at night.

We stayed there twice so far; 2 weeks in March of 2009 and 2 weeks in March of 2010, we are going back for 2 weeks at Christmas/New Years 2010 and another week in March 2011 without the kids. Yeah baby, hormone day at the mink ranch!!

Don’t believe what some grumpy heads are saying, maybe they forgot to take their meds, the place is great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

It was comfy, cozy, affordable, on the beach, just enough off the beaten path. Some people prefer glitzy but we liked it. Lots of retirees winter here. Only one restaurant, but the food was fine. Excellent pina coladas and friendly service!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

First time staying at Costa Bonita. i noticed that most of the negative reviews were from a few years ago, and most of the recent reviews were pretty good, so my expectations were mid/high. The biggest advice I can give is to make sure you bring CASH! This resort doesn't take credit cards. One must put $100 (or 1,000 pesos) as a deposit to eat at the restaurant and then at the end of the week, you are either refunded or owe from there .. again, CASH. The resort grounds are indeed beautiful. We were there off-season, so we were always some of the only ones at the pool; and sometimes it felt like the only ones in town. We like that though. The restaurant has terrific food, and very reasonable prices. If you want pool service though, you must get up to order - it isn't like a regular resort where they constantly check back with you. We even tipped very generously and it didn't change the attentiveness of the waiter. Very nice though.

We were looking for a quiet place to basically do nothing but lay in the sun all day, so this was the perfect location. If you are looking for nightlife or lots of activities; I do not recommend this place. The unit itself was less than average. The sofas had some stains on them and I agree with other reviewers that the beds were uncomfortable. The kitchen had pots/pans, but they were in really sad shape. And DO NOT use the dishwashers - apparently in talking with other people who have stayed there, the fact that our leaked all over the floor was of no suprise. We tipped our maid generously on a daily basis and she did our dishes each day.

The gym was only for owners which was a real let down for all of us. Since I am single, I wasn't comfortable walking/running on the beach in the mornings before my travel partners woke up (I get up earlier) and so I wasn't able to work out the entire week; which is iimportant to me even on vacation.

I will admit that upon first checking in, I thought that we might have to find different lodgings, but by the end of the week,we had settled in nicely and I would actually return; especially now that my expectations are set.

Pool - A+, Beach - A+, Service - B, Unit - B minus, Location - depends on your needs, but A for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I had previously read some bad reviews about this place but had already booked - boy were they wrong. People here are very friendly, they put on group activities that renters may attened & we've been invited out to dinner & given all kinds of helpful advice. Of the 2 pools, one is nicknamed the Canadian pool as it isn't heated & mostly the Cnds. use it. Volunteers put on water aerobivs 7 days a week - FANTASTIC place - just so you know that it is quite a ways from town - need to take a bus or taxi to get around.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

I would not recommend Costa Bonita to anyone!!! We were harrassed daily during our one month stay from a security guard and a couple of the owners. This place is not kid friendly and the owners have way too many rules. my children could not even laugh and splash in the pool. pretty bad!!! it is a place for old retired folks to spend. We felt like we were in a retirement home of crabby old people. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN!!!! I have to say though the food was great at the beach restaurant and the service was great there. And our CONDO was great!! the views are great and the location is ideal but just not family friendly. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I traveled to Costa Bonita the last week in October with four friends and family members. Al and Amy's condo was perfect for our stay. The kitchen and baths were well stocked for all our needs. There is a patio overlooking the pool and hot tub, and you can watch the sunset from there. The furnishings in the condo were beautiful and comfortable.

The staff at Costa Bonita were very friendly and helpful. Lounge chairs were set up for us as soon as we walked onto the beach. The weather and the beach were PERFECT all week. The little gift shop was extremely well stocked, including groceries. The complex as a whole is well maintained.

There is ample transportation in the area for getting to the downtown attractions and restaurants. All in all, we had a wonderful vacation at this resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Costa Bonita Condominium And Beach Resort
Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Hotel
Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Hotel Mazatlan
Costa Bonita Condominium Beach Hotel
Address: Sabalo Cerritos 7500, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.