We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sol La Vida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Sol La Vida to your Saves list
El Sol La Vida
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Avenida Ernesto Coppel #520 | Nuevo Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the time Ray picked us up until we left, I had a wonderful time. We were truly made to feel at home and Ray and Linda's beautiful house and garden, along with their great breakfasts, were the best part of the vacation. Two thumbs up – I definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Such a warm welcome from Ray, Linda and Leanne. Thank you for all your help planning our beautiful wedding in your paradise. The rooms are beautiful we the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on! A true place to relax, with plenty to do nearby. Could have stayed forever. Thank you

Room Tip: We had the sunrise suit which had a great private balcony, but all of the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just returned from our 8 day stay at El Sol La Vida. We had an amazing time and it was very hard to leave!

The hotel itself is beautiful. We loved the location being a little outside of the action of Mazatlan, but yet close enough to drive there in 10 minutes. It is a perfect place to be able to relax and unwind. The pool was awesome and there are plenty of areas around the pool to lounge.
We stayed in the Sunrise Suite and it was perfect. We liked having the balcony with an ocean view.

While the hotel, location and amenities are amazing, the real gem of the property are Ray and Linda. They go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of 100%. It blew us away how awesome hosts they are. It is hard to put into words how above and beyond they go to make sure you are having a great vacation. They have a gift at knowing what you want before you want it. They realized very quickly that I like having a coffee in the afternoon and only had to ask once for it, and then it was brought to me every afternoon after.

They are also really fun and interesting people to talk too. They were happy to show us some places around Mazatlan and if felt like going out with your friends at night. We really enjoyed their company and their hospitality.

We are typically travellers who just like to relax and keep to ourselves when we are on vacation and we certainly could do this here but in the end you will find yourselves wanting to talk and hang out with them.

Overall it was an amazing place and we loved every minute of our vacation. We would go back there in a heartbeat. It is a truly unique place with truly fun, unique owners.

Thank you for a great vacation Ray and Linda. We miss you guys already!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise Suite and it was very private and had a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Cheers guys for a brilliant review, we really enjoyed hanging out with you, didn't buy the ranch, and they still won't sell me the table!!! Take care Ray, Linda, Leanne, and all at El Sol La Vida and Surfs Up Cafe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a wonderful B&B. Everything was just great! The property is beautiful. The location is off the beaten path but close to town. Ray and Linda were gracious hosts. Would definitely go back. We didn't want to leave!!!

Room Tip: Any suite would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it means a lot to us, it was great to share your family reunion, look forward to the next one!!! All The Best, Ray, Linda, Leanne, and all at El Sol La Vida and Surfs Up Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Ray and Linda were very accommodating and made our stay one to remember for the rest of our lives. The location was quiet and absolutely fantastic. The food at the Surf's Up Cafe was excellent and would highly recommend the burger. I would recommend to anyone who want a quiet and beautiful vacation to definitely try this wonderful BB.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Sorry for the delay in replying, thank you for your review, you guys were truly great guests, who became great friends, good times!!! Ray, Linda, Leanne, & all at El Sol La Vida, and Surfs Up Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What can I say about El Sol la Vida that has not been said before, Linda and Ray go way beyond what is expected of hosts and make your stay memorable, welcoming and unforgetable. As previous guests have said the hotel is spotless, the room fabulous and the beds are amazing. Each morning when you go to breakfast the view of the ocean is breath-taking and you can sit for hours enjoying the tranquilty, watch the oyster catchers at work and hear them singing as they gather their catch, just magic. Every evening you can enjoy the sunset, lighting the sky with its memorable colours what a joy.
Every guest is treated as a member of the family and as previously said this beachfront B&B is an absolute jewel. We will be back as El Sol la Vida has stolen a place in our hearts making us want to return.

Room Tip: Would not be disappointed with any of the rooms, they are all to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! We truly enjoyed your company, and look forward to your return visit. All the Best! Ray Linda Leanne & staff at El Sol La Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

What can I say about El Sol La Vida that hasn't already been written? First of all, your hosts Linda and Ray, and Chef Leanne are jewels unto themselves. You'll feel welcome and treated like family, without any hovering. Ray picked us up at the airport, and brought us to this beachfront beautiful jewel... While the photos are gorgeous, nothing can convey the calmness, energy, and serenity of the inn and the ocean without actually being there. Almost lured to the most comfortable bed ever after "check in" (there is no checking in! just hugs!) and shower, we could not resist the 70's themed party going on at the Surf's Up Cafe restaurant. Leanne was aware that I am vegan, and made the tastiest special dishes for me all week. Speaking of a week, not long enough. Seriously. Linda arranged in room massages, shopping trips, and Ray brought us to a charming nearby town (not a tourist town). Leanne brought up to the Machado one evening. You really do feel like long lost friends with everyone there. Enjoy the pool, the private beach, the food at the Surf's Up Cafe- but most of all enjoy the hospitality. Stay awhile. I'll be back for two weeks next time. Hopefully soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise Suite. Sunrise over the Sierras, sunsets over the Pacific. But got a tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunandLife, Owner at El Sol La Vida, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi Guys, thank you for writing a great review! It was brilliant hanging out with you, talking about music & art around the bar in the evenings, it was cool we became such close friends in such a short time!!! Still hate goodbyes at the airport, look forward to your return!!! Cheers And All The Best from Ray Linda Leanne & staff at El Sol La Vida & Surfs Up Cafe Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sol La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol La Vida

Address: Avenida Ernesto Coppel #520 | Nuevo Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Sol La Vida 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The translation of 'El Sol La Vida' is: The Sun The Life. That's what you get when you visit us! We offer a luxury Bed and Breakfast directly on the beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We are in a secluded bay, where you can stroll for miles along the seashore. Each room has its own private entrance. Mazatlan has a lot to offer those seeking adventure, relaxation, or a romantic getaway. Our Boutique Resort is an oasis for the perfect vacation on Mexico's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your El Sol La Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sol La Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.