We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible!! best part of our vacation!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sol La Vida

Save Saved
You added El Sol La Vida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Sol La Vida
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Avenida Ernesto Coppel #520 | Nuevo Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“incredible!! best part of our vacation!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Ray and Linda , the proprieters, treat you like family! It is like staying with close friends.
The rooms are gorgeous and so clean, Ours had a private courtyard!!. The pool and ocean are like having private access. I know we weill stay at el Sol la Vida very time we go to Mazatlan!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!! Can't beat this place for atmosphere, location , everything!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
la paz, mx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights here last week and enjoyed every moment. The pool was just the right temperature. Coffee was fresh in the morning and we sat on the balcony watching the area wake up. Your hosts are friendly and very helpful. We look forward to returning next season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent the 3 most wonderful weeks at this beautiful boutique hotel. The location is nothing short of perfect, it is set in a tranquil location right on the the beach, I am torn between recommending this bit of paradise, or keeping it all to ourselves, if you want the perfect cross between convenience for the town and tranquility this is the place for you. The rooms are nothing short of stunning, and the pool area that overlooks the soothing sound of the waves just 20 yards away is amazing.
The cafe located alongside provides beautiful food that will excite your tastebuds, and only enhances the whole experience to this hidden gem

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this gorgeous boutique B&B just minutes away from the buzz of the city of Mazatlan, situated on pristine Emerald Bay. It has gorgous gardens, a heated saline pool with a lovely bar and comfortable deck furniture. The rooms are elegant, beautifully appointed, with luxuriously comfortable king beds. Each room has a private patio to relax and chill after a day at the beach. It's so quiet there, all you hear are the birds and the soft lull of the surf. So Peaceful! aaahhhh! Linda and Ray were gracious, wonderful hosts and made us feel like family. We enjoyed the wonderful continental breakfasts with Leanne's (from Surf's Up Cafe right next door) fabulous fresh baked banana bread, home made Granola, yogurt, fresh fruit and wonderful robust coffee. We loved the fact that we could get bar and restaurant service from Surf's Up Cafe right next door and it was simply added to our tab at the end of our stay! Doesn't get any better than this - like a mini- private resort! We'll definitely go back. Thanks Ray, Linda and Leanne for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a very comfortable king size bed and all rooms have beautiful private patios. One ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this lovely spot on the outskirts of Mazatlan. It's like a cross between a B&B and a boutique hotel. It's such a different experience than staying at an all-inclusive resort. El Sol la Vida is gorgeous and so full of character. We stayed on the 2nd (top) floor in a room with a great bed and beautiful balcony. Each morning we'd catch sight of some stunning birds and maybe get a glimpse of the huge iguana hanging out in one of the trees. We could walk for miles on the beach, collect shells and watch locals fishing and pelicans diving. Each morning we ate breakfast in the courtyard, catching the sun's rays while enjoying yogurt and fresh fruit and Leanne's homemade scones. So good! Leanne's cafe, Surf's Up, serves a yummy menu and we met people there who came from other hotels to see what the buzz was all about! Linda and Ray, who run the hotel, gave us beach chairs and boogie boards when we took a day trip to the Petroglyphs beach -- and they made sure we got there and back safely. I loved staying here. It felt so luxurious and at the same time, more in tune with the environment, because we got to meet locals and explore Mazatlan. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Corner room on the 2nd floor has a very charming balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island B.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks in Mazatlan where we had the good fortune to stay at the lovely El Sol La vida,a stunning boutique hotel situated in Emerald Bay in New Mazatlan, right on the beach.
All the rooms from the huge twin king with its private, sea view balcony to the romantic walled garden room are beautifuly decorated with fully tiled walk in showers and spacious bathrooms.
A pristine ' L ' shaped heated pool is three steps away from the curving beach around the bay.
Not comfortable with extreme temperatures we were pleased to find there is usually a cooling breeze from the ocean. Air conditioning and fans are present but , as another reviewer mentioned , we did not need them .The hotel is away from the bustle and noise of the city, though within easy reach if you want to shop or explore.
You can fish from the beach, stroll or watch the pelicans and frigates and gorgeous ever changing sunsets.
The restaurant has a variety of freshly prepared fare with excellent coffee.
Our hosts were friendly, helpful and available. Definitely no hesitation in reccomending a stay !!

Room Tip: None will disappoint but for romantic privacy the garden room or for view either of the balcony room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Brand New safe and serene place to stay 30 mins North from the hustle and bustle of downtown Mazatlan nestled on picturesque Emerald Bay. Very laid back atmosphere well appointed rooms, the pool was heated, the resort is directly on the beach, no venders just pelicans! At the adjoining surfs up cafe we enjoyed first class meals. Very romantic and calming two weeks we will defiantly be back soon!

Room Tip: Kokopelli room is huge with two king bed's and covered balcony, and the sunrise room has a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sol La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol La Vida

Address: Avenida Ernesto Coppel #520 | Nuevo Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Sol La Vida 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The translation of 'El Sol La Vida' is: The Sun The Life. That's what you get when you visit us! We offer a luxury Bed and Breakfast directly on the beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We are in a secluded bay, where you can stroll for miles along the seashore. Each room has its own private entrance. Mazatlan has a lot to offer those seeking adventure, relaxation, or a romantic getaway. Our Boutique Resort is an oasis for the perfect vacation on Mexico's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your El Sol La Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sol La Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.