We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sol La Vida

Save Saved
You added El Sol La Vida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Sol La Vida
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Avenida Ernesto Coppel #520 | Nuevo Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this lovely spot on the outskirts of Mazatlan. It's like a cross between a B&B and a boutique hotel. It's such a different experience than staying at an all-inclusive resort. El Sol la Vida is gorgeous and so full of character. We stayed on the 2nd (top) floor in a room with a great bed and beautiful balcony. Each morning we'd catch sight of some stunning birds and maybe get a glimpse of the huge iguana hanging out in one of the trees. We could walk for miles on the beach, collect shells and watch locals fishing and pelicans diving. Each morning we ate breakfast in the courtyard, catching the sun's rays while enjoying yogurt and fresh fruit and Leanne's homemade scones. So good! Leanne's cafe, Surf's Up, serves a yummy menu and we met people there who came from other hotels to see what the buzz was all about! Linda and Ray, who run the hotel, gave us beach chairs and boogie boards when we took a day trip to the Petroglyphs beach -- and they made sure we got there and back safely. I loved staying here. It felt so luxurious and at the same time, more in tune with the environment, because we got to meet locals and explore Mazatlan. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Corner room on the 2nd floor has a very charming balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island B.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks in Mazatlan where we had the good fortune to stay at the lovely El Sol La vida,a stunning boutique hotel situated in Emerald Bay in New Mazatlan, right on the beach.
All the rooms from the huge twin king with its private, sea view balcony to the romantic walled garden room are beautifuly decorated with fully tiled walk in showers and spacious bathrooms.
A pristine ' L ' shaped heated pool is three steps away from the curving beach around the bay.
Not comfortable with extreme temperatures we were pleased to find there is usually a cooling breeze from the ocean. Air conditioning and fans are present but , as another reviewer mentioned , we did not need them .The hotel is away from the bustle and noise of the city, though within easy reach if you want to shop or explore.
You can fish from the beach, stroll or watch the pelicans and frigates and gorgeous ever changing sunsets.
The restaurant has a variety of freshly prepared fare with excellent coffee.
Our hosts were friendly, helpful and available. Definitely no hesitation in reccomending a stay !!

Room Tip: None will disappoint but for romantic privacy the garden room or for view either of the balcony room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Brand New safe and serene place to stay 30 mins North from the hustle and bustle of downtown Mazatlan nestled on picturesque Emerald Bay. Very laid back atmosphere well appointed rooms, the pool was heated, the resort is directly on the beach, no venders just pelicans! At the adjoining surfs up cafe we enjoyed first class meals. Very romantic and calming two weeks we will defiantly be back soon!

Room Tip: Kokopelli room is huge with two king bed's and covered balcony, and the sunrise room has a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

If you want a totally relaxing and safe vacation in Mexico, we totally recommend El Sol La Vida in north Mazatlan. Our lare, upscale room, decorated using lots of tile, wood, and leather, had a great view from its large balcony where we never tired of watching those amazing Mexican sunrises and sunsets. The pool in the courtyard overlooks the sandy beach just a few steps away, where we walked forever in either direction; collecting shells was a favourite pastime! The hosts, Ray and Linda, were very helpful in organizing activities and transportation for us. Leanne, the head chef at the attached Surf’s Up Café, created awesome coffees, drinks, and meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We spent 11 wonderful days there and I can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel because we own property elsewhere in Mazatlan. However, we took a tour and it is delightful. It is a wonderful hotel for a romantic getaway. The rooms are beatuifully decorated and the amenities are great. A couple of the rooms have a great views. The restaurant has a great menu with fresh ingredients. We loved our meal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Thought we would give this Boutique Hotel a try. Well we were very impressed. Highly recommend it.
The rooms are wonderful. Step out of the pool onto the beach.
We will be going back again and stay for a few days in February for sure

Room Tip: I think there are only 4 or 6 rooms at this property. They are all brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The rooms were spacious, have a beautiful decor, comfortable beds and a great air flow to keep you cool. (air conditioning is available but not needed) Waking up to the sound of the waves and the smell of the lime trees in front of our balcony was amazing to experience. Starting off with a morning swim in the beautiful blue tiled pool and a walk on the beach followed by the yummiest breakfast at the Surfs Up cafe was just a typical day at El Sol La Vida. There are comfy chairs to lounge on and sun tan while you lay in front of the pool with an Ocean view and a cool ocean breeze. You can have a drink at the shaded bar as well as poolside under a big shady umbrella playing a game of cards.

El Sol La Vida is located 5 minutes away from shops/surfing/tourist attractions. Leanne Wright the owner of the Surfs Up Cafe is very helpful with information of local fair not to mentioned make you the best french toast and most delicious coffee you have ever had. After a day of touring the city you can have front row seats to a world class sunset every night.

We will continuously rave about how our experience here was amazing and tell everyone looking to vacation and unwind in a tranquil and beautiful environment that El Sol La Vida is the place to be and always will be our first choice!!

Room Tip: Both upstairs rooms have private balconys with amazing views. The bottom room is a bit more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Sol La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol La Vida

Address: Avenida Ernesto Coppel #520 | Nuevo Mazatlan, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Sol La Vida 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The translation of 'El Sol La Vida' is: The Sun The Life. That's what you get when you visit us! We offer a luxury Bed and Breakfast directly on the beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We are in a secluded bay, where you can stroll for miles along the seashore. Each room has its own private entrance. Mazatlan has a lot to offer those seeking adventure, relaxation, or a romantic getaway. Our Boutique Resort is an oasis for the perfect vacation on Mexico's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Sol La Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sol La Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.