We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlington, Wisconsin
1 review
“Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice resort, the people of El Cid Moro Beach made our stay memorable, especially Daniel Osuna and Ramon Ramirez in the restaurant La Concha. The resort is located on a beautiful beach. The food was very good.

Room Tip: beautiful views from ocean front units
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Tim C,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to write us this awesome review regarding your stay with us at el Cid Moro.

It is so good to know that our staff made your stay memorable be assured they will get a mention for their great effort.

We hope to see you coming back soon.

Warm greetings,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    227
    82
    47
    33
See reviews for
265
258
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay from December 20th to April 15th.The maid service , on Floor 7, Adreanna was excellent. she is very consciencous, works very had and leaves our room clean and tidy. she tries to please when it came to our requests. supplies were always refilled on time. The Spanish lessons she gave us were a good laugh for both of us. The servers in the restaurants were very cheerful,efficient and pleasant to chat with and were always concerned about our welfare. The hostesses were very pleasant and would seat us wherever we wished to dine. They greeted us at the door,knew who we were and where we liked to sit,and got us our preferred drink .
We were pleased to see the improvements that have been made. The quiet pool is a welcome addition Rui and the sales staff are very pleasant and helpful.
I am hoping that during our next stay from Nov. to April will see some new menus in all of the restaurants. We have spent two 6 month stays so far and during that period the menus have not changed. With such a lengthy stay the choices get pretty slim.
We spent 2 weeks in Cancun to get away from the noise of the Holy Week and Bike week and were very pleased. The room was so modern and nicely dept. The grounds were beautifully landscaped with an abundance of flowers. the restaurants all had a good variety of tasty food and well presented I liked the idea of being able to reserve ahead of time where at El Moro it was every second day you were on your toes to get in on time to secure a reservation. I could to on but I think you get the idea.
Honorable mention to name just a few. Rosy Morales,concierge, and staff at the front desk. Ramon,Jorge,Martin, Karla, Rosie(eggs) in the Concha. Endrique who is a roaming captain.
Francisco and Adrian in the Alkazar, Cesar, adrian, Mono, Issreal in the Granada. Adrianna the El Moro maid for 7125. Ephrim, head of the bell boys in the El Moro to name just a few. Rui and Susanna most helpful in the sales Dept.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear 690granny

Thank you for choosing El Cid Moro and for posting a review of your experiences.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful time while staying with us and found our overall service and facilities to your satisfaction, as this is what we always strive to achieve and provide our valued guests.

We are grateful for your positive feedback especially for your interest to come back so we will anticipate welcoming you again very soon.

Please feel free to contact me should you need my personal assistance with your next booking.

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Their primary purpose is to get you in for a sales pitch to get you to buy into their timeshare program. They cater to Mexican natives and while many employees speak English, they often left out sharing important information. For example they have a convoluted dinner reservation process as part of their all inclusive plan, but they never explained it. One night we dressed up for a nice dinner and ended up eating at the 'when all else fails cafeteria' - ugh. The all inclusive plan looks like a decent deal, until you realize that if you don't tip properly, you never get a real cocktail. We did have a beautiful view for breakfast every morning. However, it was a buffet and the linens at the table were not changed in between diners. We often sat down at a dirty table. The pool chairs were saved first thing in the morning, with towels or personal items, despite signs that noted saving was not allowed and guests could only leave their area unoccupied for 30 minutes. I will say the property is beautiful and kept clean.

Room Tip: An adjacent property, called the Marina, is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Deb0806 ,

Thank you for taking the time in writing this review on your recent stay,
I do apologies for the discomforts encountered during your visit, I would like to apologies for the time share staff and there persistence rest assure that I have talked to those responsible to know what is occurring and the proper actions will be take into action, we offer other restaurants Ala Cart which you can reserve for if you are looking for a more upscale restaurant, As far as the pool chairs go we are looking for a solution to prevent this from being a problem in the future we have already pre ordered more pool chairs. We hope you give us another chance if you ever find yourself in Mazatlan again so we can show you how great of a Resort we can be.

Kind regards,
Salvatore Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked an all inclusive that was not all inclusive...seems like if your a Black Band Member then they are... Sad rooms, lots of stucco, yellow furniture..after 3 rooms got on the renovated floors.. .still stucco..and had a 7 foot hand made tile shower tub with faulty fixtures. Grounds are great... if I had to do it again would have booked the smaller Marina area .Marina's beach though a 2 min ferry hop away was nicer. Was interesting to be able to go between resorts. Once sensitized at Moro, noticed drippy paint, unpainted balcony sections, permanent marker on marble mounted racks, and toothbrush holders near toilet seats... Buffets were somewhat disappointing. Still had a relaxing time.

Room Tip: Seek the Marina or Newly Renovated Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear SteveCz4479Vt,

First and for most allow me to thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns Your feedback is very important to us in order to continually improve the service we offer to our guests, Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope we can have the chance to show you better service.

Kind Regards
Salvatore Sanchez,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The resort is beautiful, from the lobby to the rooms and the pools. They were very busy this week but stillmamage to treat everyone special. The views are exceptional. They have a adult pool that is great if you don't have kids with you, but ample room at the other pools for lots of fun. Since they are connected to all the others it is fun to walk through all the different settings. The service is fantastic and even if you don't speak Spanish you will not be excluded. There were bands on the beach every night playing local music with laughter and fun until late at night. It was a great way to spend spring break from the first impressions, the bell hops, desk clerks, information (Xichele), to the other guests. Everyone was friendly and helpful . There is also shopping, a doctors office, a speciality coffee shop and a small grocery store, all part of the resort.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the north side of the towers in a elevated room 15 -27 floors if you want quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear deenapaul,

Thanks for having taken the time to post your lovely review on Trip Advisor. Your great feedback is a reward for us and we are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Inn at the Spanish Steps in a near future and we send you our warmest regards.

Salvatore Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before I begin my review I would like to mention a lady that probably never gets mentioned. Her name is Teresa Espinosa and she is one of the kindest ladies I've met. ( I never met her...I just heard her voice as she was the hotel operator ) Every afternoon, I'd call for a wake up call for approx. 6.30 or 7 so I could have a quick nap before going out in the evening.
Teresa knew exactly when to ring me and wake me up and she called me by name all the time and knew my voice. She is a definite asset to this hotel. Another is Felipa who sweeps the areas around La Concha every day. The towel team and the lifeguards are another asset and genuinely care about your well being. My friend had sand or grit in her eye and she mentioned it to Carlos and he came down to where were sitting on the beach and cleaned her eye with a saline solution and corrected her problem without even being asked to do so.
SANTOS is my favourite person at El Moro. Without Santos, it would not be the same. He works as hard as a bull pulling loungers out and putting them away, day after day.
All of the El Cid El Moro reception employees are genuinely friendly.
Evelyn, Veronica, Guillermo, Carlos, Luis ( night shift ) and all the rest of the people here exceed my expectations. I hate this when I forget names but everyone is included in this statement.
Rosy was very helpful as usual and I was very lucky to have the best maid in the resort again. Her name is Carolina Rojas and I trust her implicitly.
New mattresses were delivered during the time I was there and they are very nice but a friendly suggestion would be to get fitted sheets to cover them or they will be ruined in a short period of time. I think this only applies to the King sized beds but I'm not sure.
I would also appreciate some additional Canadian news channels or U.K. news channels as I am not interested in American news whatsoever. We were able to secure our favourite palapa again ( EVEN during Semana Santa ) so things couldn't have been any better.
No complaints from me this time and I commend the management for the positive changes they have obviously made and I'll be back hopefully in November.
Thank you to everyone.
xxxxxxxxxxxx
Gillian

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Gillian –L

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our fellow Trip Advisor Readers, I am glad to hear that my staff was able to provide to you such exceptional service, rest assure that those mentioned will be congratulated on their hard efforts and your kind suggestions will also be taken into consideration thank you for brining those topics to our attention. We hope you continue on being a repetitive guest, we await for your next arrival.

Kind regards,
Salvatore Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cesar, gabriel, cynthia, jesus awesome staff, they made mi vacations awesome, i got in love with Memo the lifeguard. I would definitely return also the show at la pergola was really good show we recommend it the ocean was beautiful every morning if you come to el cid look for the enterteiners and they gonna make your vacations a blast

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear zelaznog57,

How wonderful is to hear that you found to much fun with el cid crew. Thank you very much for have taken the time to give us this review about your recent stay with us.

It is so good to know that our evening shows met your expecations and that you will recommend them.

We will be waiting you come back soon.

Kind Regards,

Slavatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise by the sea at our breezy oceanfront El Cid El Moro Beach hotel with exquisite palm-lined beaches, endless diversions andfriendly staff ready to facilitate your dream vacation. Treat yourself to snorkeling, sailing, and deep-sea fishing; savor international cuisine and warm tropical breezes at oceanfront La Concha;swim in two large connecting pools featuring cascades and rock formations, swim-up bars and snack areas. Enjoy indulgent spa treatments, golf, and tennis just a stroll away at nearby El Cid Golf Country Club. El Moro is also conveniently connected to the pools, beach, and restaurants of sister hotel El Cid Castilla Beach,and it is ideally situated near the eclectic restaurants, bustling nightlife, and diverse shopping in the Golden Zone. • Ideal for Couples and Families • Upscale Resort right on the Beach • Gourmet Beachfront restaurant La Concha and Mexican-style La Cascada • All Suites withPrivateBalcony • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Large connecting pools with water cascades, rock formations waterfalls and swim-up bar and snack area • Easy access to facilities at neighboring El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid Granada hotels • WIFI Internet Access • Short walking distance from El Cid Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and a fitness center • Pronatours Tour Desk • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.