We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest service by far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N B, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 74 hotels in Mazatlan
Medford, New York
1 review
“Greatest service by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had one of the best vacations at the el cid el moro hotel. The grounds are kept very beautifully and clean, it is right on the beach. We had one of the rooms with both of the city view and the ocean view; just sitting out on the balcony listening to the waves while reading a book was enough for me to relax and forget all the stress. The hotel offers great food, do try to get the premier all-inclusive plan if you can, and just try all the restaurants, you may find some hidden gems. Please do try the dinner menu at the La Concha restaurant, the menu is short and simple but the food will WOW you.

I also have to mention the amazing staff at the hotel; they offer the best customer service I have ever experienced. I have to especially thank Angel Rodolfo & Ramon Morales from the La Conchita pool bar for making us feel right at home the first time we met them. They went out of their ways to make sure we got everything we needed. My brother looked for Angel and Ramon and basically stationed himself by the pool everyday if we’re not out touring. Thank you guys for making our week in Mazatlan a very special one, we will be back very soon! Until then my friends, keep doing what you are doing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    173
    66
    38
    29
See reviews for
201
203
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After spending i week at el moro beach all I have to said thai I love this place, great staff, perfect location and many dining options. Our special thanks to Francisco Renteria at bar La Conchita,Cap Arturo and Miguel at El Alcazar restaurant, Francisco Ocampo and Jorge Rochin at sushi bar restaurant. The staff service make the difference in a great vacation experince.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where do I even begin? There's so much to say about our stay at this hotel... From the popcorn walls and 70's decorated suites to high-pressure, lying sales people trying to get us buy a timeshare.

First, we stayed at this hotel because our parents owned a timeshare elsewhere and exchanged it through RCI and gave us a week for our honeymoon here thinking this would be a great place to have a week of relaxation after months of stress planning a wedding. When we called the hotel, they said they can arrange a pick up with their shuttle from the airport. We didn't realize that this shuttle is actually a taxi and you get picked up by a sales person who will try to get you to sign up for their timeshare presentation. An RCI rep named Olivia picked us up and immediately did her sales pitch. I told her we are not interested in buying a timeshare and we are here for our honeymoon. Newlywed has no money for timeshare! She then told us that they are not selling us anything. They just want to give us a tour of the hotel since it's our first time there and also wants to give us a city tour for free because they want us to know more about Mazatlan and hopefully we would come back. Sounds good, right? All lies. When she handed us the paper to sign for this 'free tour', it says we had to show a credit card. We told her no. We didn't want to do it because we know she's lying and this is a timeshare presentation. She flipped out and told us that we were the first people to say no to these 'free tours' and the only reason we needed to show our credit card was because they (the credit card companies) are the sponsors for these free stuff. Another lie. By the way, this was happening in the taxi on the way to the hotel. No shame. How could these people do this to their guests? They can't even wait for you to get to the hotel!

When we got to the hotel, we were surprised to see how old and worn out looking the hotel is. By the way, the sales lady was still hovering over us like a hawk and was really pushing for us to attend the free 'hotel tour'. Since she didn't want to take no for an answer and we were very tired from our travels and wanted to get rid of her, we agreed to do it.

We got to our room and was more surprised to see how old fashioned the room was. Popcorn walls everywhere and kitchen design was probably late 70's or early 80's. It was a little sad looking room. The kitchen was tiny and only one person can be there at a time. Our room has safety deposit box that uses an actual key! And if you lose the key, you have to pay like 600 pesos for it. So instead of not carrying anything with you except the room key card, we had to carry an extra key everywhere. Very inconvenience. And if you want wi-fi, you'll have to pay about 900 pesos per week per device. You can hear the hustle and bustle even on the 27th floor and there's no way to fully relax and disconnect. The hotel also hands out old pool towels with holes in them and they stop towel service at 5pm (according to the posted sign) when the pool closes at 8pm! It does not make sense!

The next day we went for this 'hotel tour' that of course turned out to be a sales presentation of their timeshare, like what we already knew. We told the person who was doing the presentation our horrible experience with Olivia and she at least was apologetic. Since we attended the presentation we got two tours for free, one for Deer Island and the city tour. The deer island tour was OK, but the city tour, don't waste your time. It was an advertising tour more than anything else. The tour stops at two jewelry shops, then at the end of the tour, you stop at a restaurant for lunch. You pay for your own meal and the food wasn't that good. I didn't really learn much about Mazatlan from this tour. In fact, just read it on Wikipedia! We really wasted almost a day for this worthless city tour.

Here's what I learned, if you don't own a credit card, they won't force you to attend the timeshare presentation. So maybe you should 'forget' to bring your credit card with you!

OK, few good things about this hotel:

1. Our room has a beautiful view of the water and the city (other hotels along the coast has the same or better view though)
2. Free parking across the hotel
3. Close to other restaurants and shops
4. They have a decent restaurant in case you don't want to go elsewhere

I would come back to Mazatlan, but I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After spending 2 weeks at this resort for years, I can honestly say that I love this place. The service and staff are amazing! Everything is very clean, the water is filtered and the location is perfect. The resort is right on the ocean and there are multiple pools also. The ocean breeze is relaxing and there are lots of spaces to spend time and unwind. I can't say this enough, the staff is amazing!! They go out of their way to assist and make the most of your vacation. The location is convenient to many dining choices on and off property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear, Jers93

Thank you so much for your trust and loyalty during this year’s, your review is much
appreciated, I’m proud to my staff, to bring to you a good service, always is great to be recognized such a good comments like this.

Be assure I will share your wonderful words about our Hotel with my inter staff, to let them not
as a work well done.

Once again thank you and we hope to host you in a not too distance future.

Warm greetings

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid-Atlantic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Good: Hands down, the El Cid has the best housekeeping and wait staff in the business. Luz Maria from housekeeping and pool wait staff Tomas, Ivan and Javier never missed a beat. They were consistently pleasant, efficient, hard working and simply got it right each time. Wait staff at La Concha was efficient and attentive as well. Spa masseuse Paula was excellent. The staff who train and oversee these departments understand what goes into making a guest's stay special. Whatever they are doing is absolutely on the mark.
The Bad: what is it with watered down drinks? This was something I criticized two years ago and it was nominally fixed last year. I seldom, if ever, drink so that when I do, one drink is generally more than enough. One afternoon I was knocking back frozen margaritas like they were Kool-Aid because there was little or no evidence that these drinks had ever even seen tequilla. Annoying, for sure. Next: pool umbrellas and I use the word "umbrella" loosely. They were broken, with broken wooden "spines" and broken latches to keep them up. Someone in our group who arrived several days early sent an email to bring nails and cords to keep them functioning, so to speak. If you can't offer guests an amenity as essential as pool umbrellas, something is amiss with the company's business plan. Add to this, frayed towels both in the room and at the pool. Admittedly not all the towels were in need of replacement, but what does it take for someone to simply discard or recycle shabby towels? Continuing with amenities (or lack thereof) Wifi throughout the facility is spotty. I have absolutely no idea what is involved with creating strong signals, but moving from one chair (inside the building) to another often meant loss of signal and the need to login again. I wonder if this is something that is even addressed by the IT department. One thing that was strong (obnoxiously strong I might add) are the speakers by one of the pools. Even if you're on one of the top floors, the relentless sounds of those speakers force you to hear everything. With the windows closed and the air conditioning on, I still heard every single number called in a bingo game. If your room is on the southeastern side of the building don't expect a quiet afternoon on your balcony or even in your room.
Now things get ugly: For two consecutive nights, the air conditioning units flooded, wall to wall, the bathroom. Both times someone came to fix it and it wasn't until the second time they got it right. If we hadn't been tired of complaining, we would have called to have something done about the leaky tub doors. Each time you used the shower, the floor was covered with water. Isn't caulking the tubs a routine maintenance task? Were it not for the outstanding housekeeping service I would have been concerned about how clean the floors were.
Final note: because of missed flights, our bags were late in arriving. I went to the front desk area to ask for assistance in attempting to track them down. No one was rude but it was clearly in the category of "not my job." This happened to me once on a cruise ship where they gave me almost hourly updates on this problem and once in a hotel in Vienna where they checked more than once a day to update us. The most assistance I received was someone dialing the phone to the airline but no one offered any further assistance. I know the hotel has nothing to do with this but given the sheer size of the El Cid, I can't help but think this is a weekly, if not daily occurrence. Having someone with a list of the airlines' baggage departments (and even offering to make the calls) would cut down on the stress that comes from that problem.
Can I recommend the El Cid? Hard to say. If our group chooses to try another facility next year I certainly won't object, but because of the cleanliness (and that's the primary feature I look for in a hotel) at the El Cid I'll go back.

Room Tip: Avoid any room near the "party" pool if you a quiet afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really liked El Cid i had a great trip , the food was very good and the shows very profesional. I would love to go back.

Me encanto la comida, el ambiente y que todos son muy amables ! Ojalá pudiera volver pronto.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Estimado Sergio,

Gracias por compartir su reciente comentario de 5 puntos en TripAdvisor.
Me alegra que hayamos cumplido sus expectativas en su reciente visita a El Cid Moro

Esperamos nos visite pronto, para más y mejores experiencias vacacionales.
Sinceramente,

Salvatore Sanchez
Gerente General,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I specifically chose this resort because it stated 'all-inclusive' option which I purchased. However, it is NOT 'all including'. Even as a RCI member, I was not afforded the same dining, bars, etc. as what they seem to think of as El Cid specific members. If one has never been to a REAL all-inclusive then this would probably be okay for them.
The hotel equates to an old Motel 6. It is old, the beds are horrible to sleep on due to hard 'spring' mattresses. The zipper on their bed cover was broken, therefore would not zip and exposed the multi-used inside parts. It was never changed in 7 days. The water, coffee, etc. in the room is an extra charge! So much for all inclusive! No free room service either! I had to either get my own drinks or run down a waiter, wait a very long time and he might actually bring me a drink! Some will take your order but never bring the drink!! And I tip every time so why they give such lousy service I have no idea.The food is like a Shoney's, not good and not hot and not a good variety on the buffet. I was told they provided free airport service to/from the resort, but it was actually only one way. The return is either self pay or you have to spend a couple hours+ listening to their pitch to buy a time-share to get a free ride back to the airport. My appointment was for 10AM breakfast, but there was nothing available for almost an hour which did not count towards the quoted time-frame. Not a very good start if they thought they could sell me a time-share! I had to continually ask each waiter if my bracelet afforded me that specific bar or restaurant so I would not be charged. The drinks were VERY watered down and only a few were 'included', as others that should have been included were an extra cost and I am not speaking of top shelf liquor either! There was no personalized service, and I mostly felt anonymous unlike other all-inclusives I have gone to. They indicated I could go to the Marina sister resort also, however their so-called all-inclusive there stopped at 5PM, which left out any restaurant dinner opportunities. After speaking to several employees about getting my return boarding pass printed and being sent to the same place several times, circling the (very hot) two sided resort several times after I was given wrong directions on who could do this service, I finally found the correct office, but the employee screwed it up by typing in my name incorrectly (even though I handed her my name in typed writing on my flight information) which could not be fixed online and I had to check in at the airport. One evening at dinner I was seated at a table ( there have no tables for just one or two people, only large tables), and even though there were others available the waiter seated a family with several children at my table. I was not happy but bit the bullet. However, when I returned to my seat after going to the buffet (horrid buffet BYW) that family had pushed my chair so far over to the end of the table I had only the corner to place my plate. Yes, I was annoyed, but could say nothing since I did not speak Spanish and that family did not speak English. The vast majority of the guests present when I was there were Spanish speaking people from Mexico and various Spanish speaking countries. Maybe that is why the entertainment announcer forgot to translate into English for the guests that do not speak spanish.
The 'entertainment' lacked just about everything other than nice looking costumes. Not at all like any other resort entertainment. There was no nightly music for after dinner. Entertainment was 8-9PM then nothing. Forget about going to a bar in the evening and getting service. They are either closed or you have to hunt for a waiter an beg for a drink (if you can find one) and he will never return to see if you wanted another one.
The hotel is right on the street so safety is another issue. Seems like anyone can walk into the hotel. They have security but it is not very effective as I observed. I found several people at the pool and walking around by themselves and they wore no resort bracelet.
The rooms were A/C as well as the restaurants but everywhere else was not and it was stifling hot and humid.
If I could give them minus stars I would. There are so many wonderful actual 'all-inclusive' resorts to go to, don't waste your time and money going to this one.
There is a kitchen in the room, but if you don't clean it up and wash your dishes you WILL be charged extra! So much for maid service!! Also, they do not mop the floors in your room daily or even during your stay, or do many of the things that are 'normal' maid service! Also, I found, there is no guarantee they will honor your 'do not disturb' door sign!
There was no place to get away from the multitude of kids either; no bar area, no place anywhere in this 'resort' regardless of the time of day or night. It was especially annoying when they played in the halls (very noisy) and though I asked them to stop, they did not speak English and no parents were around. Their noise echoed a lot and they sounded like they were right in my room.
I had hoped to go with my husband but he had to work, so even though 2 paid, they would not even 'up-grade' me so I could have the 'privilege' of their not included areas which would not have amounted to even near the second person cost! After all of this they actually thought I might join their way over priced time share!!! I met another couple who was also a RCI member and they were having the same experience as I even though they were staying at their other resort, Marina, and their 2 adult children were at El Cid where I was staying. We all acknowledged together we will never return!
On a positive note, I did have two separate experiences, one at breakfast and one during one evening's dinner where I got a very good waiter. Also, they had fireworks...very startling not knowing they were going to occur, however, lovely.

Room Tip: Try a room in another resort!!! Don't let their website pictures fool you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N B, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.