We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 63% Off
Ranked #7 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Very friendly staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this property in late November and we had such a great time. The staff was very friendly especially the waiters down at the beach (Renteria & Thomas). The staff made our experience very special and we will definitely come back for another vacation. The property had fun activities like Bingo by the pool and entertainment shows also. Enrike did a great job overseeing the social acitvities and he was such a great guy to be around. The food was also delicious! We were very satisfied with our stay at El Cid El Moro Beach and can't wait to go back.
Ernest & Meghan

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Globetrotte123456,

Thank you for your comments about your visit I love to hear about such enjoyable experiences
like yours.
I am glad our staff made your vacation unforgettable we always strive to have the most attentive customer service and in your case I’m glad we achieved it.
I will let to Renteria and Thomas know about how great there job has been and about your nice comments they will be happy to hear them.

We hope to see you again in the future.

sincerely,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    174
    66
    39
    29
See reviews for
206
204
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I generally agree with most of the views. We traded to this resort from our timeshare in Cancun. We loved Mazatlan but had some general concerns about El Cid overall. The balconies are very dangerous and not child-safe. I would not let my kids out on the balconies which is disappointing because the view is beautiful. The windows just open with NO screens so beware. The rooms need updating, for sure, but the maid service is wonderful and the staff is kind.
The pools are warm and fun for the kiddos, lots of fun activities, shopping, food, and the beach is flat/warm and amazing. We swam and never saw sting rays or any other sea creatures...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Eric Brittney D…. H,

First of all I do want to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.
Just to inform you we are contemplating on ways to make the balconies safer for the children.

We are also starting to remodeling rooms that need to be update as well. I am glad that our staff was able to bring you good service I’ll be sure to let them know, they will be happy to hear such kind comments.

Once again thank you for trust in us and give us the opportunity to serve you I hope that despite your inconveniences you visit us again in the future.

Cordially,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were pleased with our room as it was on the 27th floor and had spectacular city and ocean views. I wish I had seen the sting rays from above (as another reviewer mentioned) as my 16 year old son was stung. It was a VERY painful and scary experience. El Cid should post warning signs because if we had known we would not have gone into the water.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a good time this week in Mazatlan. The hotel picked us up from the airport, which was great. The check-in process took over an hour, however. This is the risk you run when staying at a hotel which services multiple timeshares, inclusive deals, etc. The checkin process is frustrating, so be prepared. The food is what you'd expect from a resort offering inclusive packages, so try to eat in town when you can. The service is fantastic overall. Our bellman, Ramon remembered us and offered additional help to secure a van back to the airport after the front desk told us they only assist with vans (there were 6 of us) TO the hotel. Ramon rocks. The poolside waiters are fantastic--especially Francisco, who went out of his way to accommodate us, providing us with anything we wanted. Multiple pools, a great beach area, and rooms which, while dated, are always clean.

The worst part of the experience was the timeshare up sell. Be warned that if you go to a presentation, which is presented as part of the deal when you stay here as part of an existing timeshare visit, there are multiple confusing layers, interviews and incentives. We joked that it was Like Hotel California, and feels like you can check in but you can never leave. This aside, the hotel staff is great overall and we enjoyed our week here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Family of 4 first time to Mexico. We went 12/20-12/26. Mazatlan was amazing. The staff at the El Cid resorts treated us like gold. The food was amazing. We had Elite All Inclusive and it is true, everything is included. Even what wasn't on the menu.
Ramon was a favorite waiter at the pool and he was great. All the waiters and hotel staff was amazing.
Yes, the pool is heated and it was like bathwater. Our two girls (7 and 10 years old) loved the pool and the resort. And the pulminias.
We went everywhere in Mazatlan and never felt unsafe. The locals were friendly, helpful and wanted us there. It was great.
El Cid was better than we expected and we loved it. It is great for families. We travel a lot to resorts in Southern California, Vegas, and Hawaii. El Cid was right up there with those resorts as far as service and food. The staff was the best we have ever dealt with. They were so great and helpful.

I have noticed many people on Trip Advisor leave negative reviews about Mexico. Yes, there are something challenging or different. But isn't that why we go to another country, because things are different? Mazatlan and Mexico was amazing and we will go back for Thanksgiving 201

Room Tip: Choose the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Bad service i was shouted by one employee speaking to me out loud (her name was Carmen) once i went to the hotel program. The rooms are old, the service is poor. Dont spend your money in this hotel while you can have an excellent service somewhere else

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We arrived dec 21 and checked in fairly quickly. We booked our rooms through club Wyndham and were expecting a renovated rooms based on the description we were given and pictures we saw. Unfortunately our rooms 1-1 bedroom and 1 regular room were very dated and the beds were one step up from plywood. We are not picky and have slept on hard beds in the past but nothing like these. The showers in each bathroom did not drain and there was a tub full of water by the end of the shower.
We were greeted by the time share company at the airport and agreed to attend the breakfast the next morning with the promise of half price all inclusive wristbands. The breakfast and presentation took over 2 hours. I said I would not ever consider purchasing after receiving the quality of rooms we got using our own timeshare. He said he would check about getting us a better room. We waited over half an hour more and he came back to say we had to put 20% down in order to get a better room. What a scam. We left to talk to the front desk about the rooms. They showed us 2 rooms, one of which was an improvement and the beds are excellent but the other room is no different. We changed our room but instead of hearing the ocean, we were kept awake much of the night by the noises from the street. We could also hear showers from nearby rooms very loud very early in the morning. In my sisters room, their phone didn't work and neither did their tv. It took a long time before anything was done about it. The food so far (we have been here 1 and a half days so far) has been ok but not amazing. We got our wristbands but only to find out they are not actually all inclusive. There a 3 restaurants we cannot use them for supper or for the Christmas supper. Very disappointing. The peddlers on the beach do not respect the rope boundaries at this hotel like they do at other hotels down the beach. We were eating supper near the beach and one guy was actually throwing jewellry up to our table while we were eating! There were security close by but they couldn't be bothered. In summary, we are here for 6 more days and unless something happens for the good, we will not be staying here ever again. I will add more when our stay is complete.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise by the sea at our breezy oceanfront El Cid El Moro Beach hotel with exquisite palm-lined beaches, endless diversions andfriendly staff ready to facilitate your dream vacation. Treat yourself to snorkeling, sailing, and deep-sea fishing; savor international cuisine and warm tropical breezes at oceanfront La Concha;swim in two large connecting pools featuring cascades and rock formations, swim-up bars and snack areas. Enjoy indulgent spa treatments, golf, and tennis just a stroll away at nearby El Cid Golf Country Club. El Moro is also conveniently connected to the pools, beach, and restaurants of sister hotel El Cid Castilla Beach,and it is ideally situated near the eclectic restaurants, bustling nightlife, and diverse shopping in the Golden Zone. • Ideal for Couples and Families • Upscale Resort right on the Beach • Gourmet Beachfront restaurant La Concha and Mexican-style La Cascada • All Suites withPrivateBalcony • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Large connecting pools with water cascades, rock formations waterfalls and swim-up bar and snack area • Easy access to facilities at neighboring El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid Granada hotels • WIFI Internet Access • Short walking distance from El Cid Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and a fitness center • Pronatours Tour Desk • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.