We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Mazatlan: Family vacation El Cid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N B, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 72 hotels in Mazatlan
Port Orchard, Washington, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time to Mazatlan: Family vacation El Cid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Family of 4 first time to Mexico. We went 12/20-12/26. Mazatlan was amazing. The staff at the El Cid resorts treated us like gold. The food was amazing. We had Elite All Inclusive and it is true, everything is included. Even what wasn't on the menu.
Ramon was a favorite waiter at the pool and he was great. All the waiters and hotel staff was amazing.
Yes, the pool is heated and it was like bathwater. Our two girls (7 and 10 years old) loved the pool and the resort. And the pulminias.
We went everywhere in Mazatlan and never felt unsafe. The locals were friendly, helpful and wanted us there. It was great.
El Cid was better than we expected and we loved it. It is great for families. We travel a lot to resorts in Southern California, Vegas, and Hawaii. El Cid was right up there with those resorts as far as service and food. The staff was the best we have ever dealt with. They were so great and helpful.

I have noticed many people on Trip Advisor leave negative reviews about Mexico. Yes, there are something challenging or different. But isn't that why we go to another country, because things are different? Mazatlan and Mexico was amazing and we will go back for Thanksgiving 201

Room Tip: Choose the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    169
    62
    36
    27
See reviews for
192
194
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Bad service i was shouted by one employee speaking to me out loud (her name was Carmen) once i went to the hotel program. The rooms are old, the service is poor. Dont spend your money in this hotel while you can have an excellent service somewhere else

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We arrived dec 21 and checked in fairly quickly. We booked our rooms through club Wyndham and were expecting a renovated rooms based on the description we were given and pictures we saw. Unfortunately our rooms 1-1 bedroom and 1 regular room were very dated and the beds were one step up from plywood. We are not picky and have slept on hard beds in the past but nothing like these. The showers in each bathroom did not drain and there was a tub full of water by the end of the shower.
We were greeted by the time share company at the airport and agreed to attend the breakfast the next morning with the promise of half price all inclusive wristbands. The breakfast and presentation took over 2 hours. I said I would not ever consider purchasing after receiving the quality of rooms we got using our own timeshare. He said he would check about getting us a better room. We waited over half an hour more and he came back to say we had to put 20% down in order to get a better room. What a scam. We left to talk to the front desk about the rooms. They showed us 2 rooms, one of which was an improvement and the beds are excellent but the other room is no different. We changed our room but instead of hearing the ocean, we were kept awake much of the night by the noises from the street. We could also hear showers from nearby rooms very loud very early in the morning. In my sisters room, their phone didn't work and neither did their tv. It took a long time before anything was done about it. The food so far (we have been here 1 and a half days so far) has been ok but not amazing. We got our wristbands but only to find out they are not actually all inclusive. There a 3 restaurants we cannot use them for supper or for the Christmas supper. Very disappointing. The peddlers on the beach do not respect the rope boundaries at this hotel like they do at other hotels down the beach. We were eating supper near the beach and one guy was actually throwing jewellry up to our table while we were eating! There were security close by but they couldn't be bothered. In summary, we are here for 6 more days and unless something happens for the good, we will not be staying here ever again. I will add more when our stay is complete.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We got picked up at the airport and were greeted by sales staff that was very nice and explained the tours and all inclusive deals during the 30 min ride to the hotel. When we got there we went to our room and then came down to finish our plan for our stay that took way too long to complete the paperwork. We stayed in theElCid Moro, 23rd floor and room was spacious but a little dated but accomodating with the kitchen and nice views. We finally finished and enjoyed a late lunch and after enjoying some relax time had dinner at the dance show (it was alright but needs some work before going to Vegas).
As for the hotel, as noted it was nice but in need of upgrading and the beds were hard with little give; the grounds were very nice and pools and water falls glistened in the sun. I would stay there again but will probably stay at the Marina even though we would have to travel to the Moro dining room for meals. now for the only negatives were we had no water one morning for about 45minutes and one nights found ants in one of the bathrooms and felt the staff was a little slow and never did call us to let us know the water was working, and very poor follow up.
Lets talk food and drinks! Well the food was good but you had to choose between the many mexican dishes, especially on the buffet at Breakfast: there were pleanty of choices and all the food was very good. The drinks were good as well with one exception, the Strawberry Margaritas were "The Best"! We truly enjoyed ourselves and hoped they wouldn't run out of strawberries.
Last was the Waiter staff, we must give high marks there as we had Joshua the whole time for Lunches and Dinners and were treated superbly. He was always by far the most accomodating to our needs and we felt he was truly interested in making our stay comfortable and special; would also add that one of the managers "Victor" keeps a tight ship and the Dining Hall was always very well kept and tableclothes were changed daily with different colors and themes, a truly nice touch for those that appreciate the little things to make your stay pleasurable. However I cant say the same for the other dining establishments. If you go to the mexican Sushi bar expect a disappointment with both food and waite staff. The all inclusive requires to make reservations before 5 PM daily for some places and not sure why since there were more waiters than diners (2 tables of 2) in the Sushi Bar.

Room Tip: the Moro has larger rooms and nice little kitchens in the suites, even on a side room we had beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labtec359
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

First, when I got to the hotel, everything worked out fine and had a decent room @ the other hotel. I think it was the El Cid Beach. After a day, I kept receiving a call from front desk stating that I did NOT have all inclusive package and from bookit they never sent the entire paper work. Therefore, I was down graded, and they switched my wristband colors. After dissatisfaction, bookit and the hotel, was nice enough to upgrade me and place me in the El Cid Moro in the corner 23rd fl with a view. OMG, it was an apartment overlooking the beach and the sunset. The most beautiful scenic site I have EVER seen. The hotel was able to contact bookit.com and make all the necessary arrangement to make my stay pleasant and no further interruptions. Left a basket of goodies full of fruits as well. ; ) Stay at El Moro. The experience in the service is night & day when you are served at the pool. Definitely will rebook for next year to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear: Labtec359

Thanks for your recent review, it's very satisfying to see how been going from bad to good, fortunately we are pleased to know that we could fix the situation with a wonderful finish, I’m so happy to know my team was a support as they usually do for clarified the misunderstandings.
I am very pleased to know that you enjoy our rooms, amenities, view, and that had a great experience after that happened, our principal goal is make happy faces, we love when our customers write about their experience.
Thank you once again for letting us be part of your vacation and for this great review that allows readers to decide which option is the best when they travel to Mazatlan.
If you decide come to Mazatlan, feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Thanks a million for the wonderful times I had at the El Moro pool, mainly due to the activity leaders such as Christian, Rogelio and Enrike. Every one was very polite and very professional. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear: Denis R

A million thanks to you for make us part of this great experience, be assure that will past this great review to all the activities guys, I’m sure that they will be happy to see their names In Tripadvisor, this is of result of the wonderful job.
We await your return and the endless possibilities we will have to make all your visits memorable.

All our thanks,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have 1 week a year there.
Last stay Nov 5-12,
The property is showing some age, but is clean and the people are pleasant.
I would prefer that they get rid of the "all inclusive" as it drives down the quality of the restaurants and the drinks.
As in anyplace in Mexico the time share folks pester you to do a "breakfast" with them, to try to sell you more or different time.
The resort and surrounding beaches were safe, and no evidence of the "drug cartel" is seen.
The appliances and cooking utensils could use an upgrade, but you can get by with what they have.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as they have balconies and good views. Higher is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear: Dogguy_12
I want to express my thanks to your recent contribution in Tripadvisor; though some comments were for improvement is assured that we ready take a note for make the adjustment and make it right.

Regarding your note in which you mention about our low quality of food and drinks, we want to know if your experience was the same in all our restaurants as it is that we have certifications in our hotel on record the quality of our food and we are concerned regard the comment.
We are working on renovations in the Hotel, we know that in this highly competitive market we need to be updated, is a project that we hope to finish next year.

I would like if you give me the opportunity to show you a few of renewed areas such as La Gruta restaurant, Late snack, and rooms in our Hotel. I’m sure in your next visit to our all inclusive you will have another opinion.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in not too distant future, please let me know.

Happy Holydays,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N B, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.