We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Afternoons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to El Cid El Moro. Although we did lots of things, one of our favorites was hanging out at the El Moro pool. The pool is heated which was great for that time of year. We had terrific service from the waiters, especially Ramon Romirez. He was very attentive to anything we wanted. He was EXCELLENT, our favorite waiter.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can get it. The view is great from the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Donn T

Thank you very much for your review and for comment about your experience at El Cid Moro Beah Hotel.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our heated pools, we always take care of every single detail to pamper you, we are delighted as well that the excellent service delivered by the waiters, especially Ramón exceeded your expectations, we are proud of have the as part of El Cid Family.

We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny beaches of Mazatlan and make your next stay equally unforgettable.

Best regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    185
    71
    40
    29
See reviews for
223
217
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I am a senior woman and traveled alone. I spent the last week in February at the El Moro. While it is an older property, it is very well maintained. I loved the one bedroom with two beds and two bathrooms. The living room had a comfortable chair and a pull out sofa for another bed. The dining area had a big table that I used for doing jigsaw puzzles. The kitchette, while very small, was more that adequate. Everything you need, even ice cube trays. Big, thick towels available at the pool, which had easy access for my bad knees. Easy access to the very long beautiful beach. I loved everything but had a little issue with the hard bed. They provided a foam topper but not enough even with the extra foam topper I had brought. By folding and putting the comforters from both beds under me, I had a comfortable sleep. There are computers by the fish tank that make it easy to keep in touch with home without bringing your own. I didn't use the all-inclusive as I hate to each by myself, so I bought shrimp from the shrimp ladies and everything else at the Mega. Easy bus ride to get there, a 5 pesos trip back to the hotel with all of my purchases. A few things available at the mart on the ground floor, but very limited. Definitely plan to return to this wonderful resort and beautiful, gracious and VERY SAFE Mazatlan.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear SuzanH

I am very grateful with you for providing details of your recent stay. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed of the spacious, comfortable and well-equipped room. As you noticed, our facilities are in a continuos renovation program.

It is good to know that you took the opportunity to cook some fresh shrimps, in fact Mazatlan is known as the capital of the shrimp, so there is no better place than Mazatlan to enjoy of some delicious and fresh shrimps.

Once again thank you for trusting in Mazatlan as a destination for your vacation, if you back to Mexico, hopefully Mazatlan will be the place of your choice once more.

Receive our best,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at a different resort, but decided we wanted to go to a Mexican Fiesta, since the Playa Mazatlan did not have one any more we thought we would try the El Cid. We purchased tickets and thought we were in for a treat. Well what a disapointment. So much for a Mexican Fiesta, we ate at the buffet, which was so so, along with the people that stayed there. About 7:45 the so called Fiesta started. First came the kids who came on stage to break open a pinnata then came the announcer, the first act was the grumpy old men dance, done by young dancers, then some singing and the band and then about three more dances then the show was over at 8:30. To me this was a joke. We noticed a lot of people leaving in the middle of the show. Our friends at our table left early too, we stayed expecting much more. If any one has taken in the show at Xcarte in the Mayan this would be a big waste of money. This was no more than a evening show put on by the resort. We had a better Mexican show at the Palladium in PV. They did the history of Mexico as well a many wonderful costumes. All in all don't waste your money to take in the Fiesta at the El Cid it cost us 380 peso's each.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Mercedes

I appreciate you expressing your comments regarding our traditional Mexican Fiesta.

While most of our guests and visitors enjoy the culture, food and folklore of our popular Mexican Fiesta, I really regret that we fell short of your expectations. At the Fiesta, our clients can enjoy Mexican cuisine from 6:30pm-10:30pm. At 7:00pm we begin with a Mexican toast, and as this is a family show, we share our traditions which is why we include a piñata for children to hit at 7:15p.m. Thereafter, the Mexican show begins at 7:30 with live mariachi music. The show is 90 minutes long and includes larriot rope spinning, a traditional contest and different folk songs and dances from Mexico´s states (Michoacan, Chihuahua, Chiapas, Veracruz, Jalisco and Sonora).

Hopefully you will give us the honor of having you experience a different show our professional team offers that you may find more to your liking, to mention a few, Broadway, International or Caribbean show.

Warmest regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We just returned from our trip 3/12/12. The food was good, 3 pools to choose from which allowed variety. Beach was nice as well. cons: bed was very uncomfortable. Activity pool was lacking in activities...they could improve this. If you have not been to Mazatlan, you should go. It can be windy in the afternoon, so spend your morning hours by the pool.

Room Tip: check the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear C P

Many thanks for selecting our hotel to stay. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed of our facilities and Food service, we work very hard to achieve that you have a memorable vacation.

With regards to pool activities , daily, activities staff is covering a schedule from 10:00am to 5:00 pm in pools, where Aquarebics, Darts tournament, Aqua volley ball (to mention a few) are done, sometimes due to weather or lack participation of our guests, some activities are cancelled, I will share your suggestions to our Activities Director in order to implement something else to do when that happens; concerning beds, rooms are provided of orthopedic mattresses, if a guest has preference for soft beds and let us know this, we provide them of egg crate foam pad to make beds softer; we value your suggestions as they help us to reinforce our product.

We really hope to be honor again with your visit very soon.

Receive our best wishes,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were with a timeshare plan. The cooking conditions are not good at all. Not a problem if you are all inclusive and do not plan to cook. No oven! Two small burners with huge skillet. No dishwasher and extra charge for the maid to do it. We had plumbing issue and fixed like pronto. Very clean and very good maid service. Pool service good as well. Very uncomfortable living room furniture. Dated as well. One way to get you out for longer to spend more money. Patio (deck) scarey with very low railing. Don't drink to much! State of the Art blenders for drinks! All girls on this trip.( Adult.) Ricco's coffee Rocks.

Room Tip: We had 24th floor connecting room facing the water with sunset but no view of the big pool. Not comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Hibiscus_KTN

Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate you for taking the time to review on your experience. We truly appreciate your comments, both positive and constructive, as they provide us with an opportunity to gauge our performance and improve where necessary.

On a positive note, we were pleased to note that you appreciated cleanliness in room and the service provided by our staff, although we were concerned to note that we did not meet your expectations of maintenance in room, and for that we apologies. In regards to your observations I would like to share with you that El Cid is a company that always thinks in safety or our guests in every way, in addition to the importance we give to our guest´s comments, since a while, in some floors, balconies have been updated, in order that you feel safer in room, it is important to mention that is a project in which we continue, as well as improvements in furniture, to mention an example, stove in some floors has been replaced with ones that allow that cooking become more practical, and we are still working in more improvements

I invite you to return to El Cid Moro Beach Hotel to pamper you as you deserve. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corcoran, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our stay was 1st week of march 2012. Room was located in older section of hotel. Room included 2 double beds that had to be pulled out from beneath built in countertops. Beds were not very comfortable & bedding looked outdated. Room included frig, toaster, microwave, sink, dining table, etc. (no stove). TV was older model. Balcony had a small table but no chairs to sit. Housekeeping was very attentive. Pool area was nice but we were not able to get towels because worker said they were out of pool towels. Ate @ breakfast buffet and food was ok but not great. Tried to relax under palapas on beach but vendors were a nuisance. Even though area was roped off to keep vendors a distance from guests they were allowed to pass the ropes to get closer to guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear tombargirl

Thank you for selecting El Cid Resorts during your recent visit to Mazatlan. On behalf of the staff, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences experiences during your stay. We appreciate the time you took to outline your comments, as this allows us to improve our product and services. Be assured that your comments will be addresses by the management team within each of the areas you outlined.

We hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you to Mazatlan at your first choice of resort, El Cid Moro Beach hotel.

Warm regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Our stay at the El Cid El Moro could not possibly have been better. We were given a two bedroom lock off in the older section. It was on the 24th floor with a view to die for. On the right we had the lights of Mazatlan and on the left the green waters of the Pacific. It was decorated in yellow and blue with tile counters and lots and lots of space. They are redecorating 3 floors at a time but truthfully, I preferred what we had in the older section. The people at the hotel could not possibly have been nicer or more accomodating. We were centrally located within walking distance to many nice places to eat as well as pool side swim up snack bars and restraunts within the El Cid itself. The pool also had wait staff that made sure you were happy and well libated! Each night had a themed show and there were fun and games all day long at the 10 connecting pools. The city had golf carts with VW engines that they called pullminarias (sp?) that took you anywhere for approx $5. 1/4 of a mile to the right outside the hotel was a teriffic little "Taco bar" with four stools and the food was delicious. Across the street to the left was a place called "Country Casa" where they had delicious steak and fish and where they actually make salsa tableside with a pestal and morter and it was scrumtious. This is a family resort with all age groups and many folks from Mexico also go there which gives you an opportunity to emerse yourself in the Mexican culture. The people that we met there have been coming back to the El Cid for years and years and it is easy to see why. See Carmen at the information desk for any help that you need ....she is teriffic! Great place to go and when we go back we will definately stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear mamy175

On behalf of everyone at El Cid Moro, let me thank you for giving us your preference to stay. I read with pleasure that overall had enjoyed of all aspects of the hotel, since the beautiful view from your room, food and the excellent service delivered by our staff, and to know as well that you have noticed some improvements done in our property. All of us here are committed in making our guests have an enjoyable vacation.

It is good to know that our guests enjoy of the jewels that Mazatlan offers, as a ride in the typical Pulmonias, I am sure that future travelers will appreciate your suggestions and will enjoy exploring this beautiful port of Mazatlan.

All of us here at El Cid Moro will be waiting for you with open arms to pamper you as you deserve.

Sincerely,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo S/N, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise by the sea at our breezy oceanfront El Cid El Moro Beach hotel with exquisite palm-lined beaches, endless diversions andfriendly staff ready to facilitate your dream vacation. Treat yourself to snorkeling, sailing, and deep-sea fishing; savor international cuisine and warm tropical breezes at oceanfront La Concha;swim in two large connecting pools featuring cascades and rock formations, swim-up bars and snack areas. Enjoy indulgent spa treatments, golf, and tennis just a stroll away at nearby El Cid Golf Country Club. El Moro is also conveniently connected to the pools, beach, and restaurants of sister hotel El Cid Castilla Beach,and it is ideally situated near the eclectic restaurants, bustling nightlife, and diverse shopping in the Golden Zone. • Ideal for Couples and Families • Upscale Resort right on the Beach • Gourmet Beachfront restaurant La Concha and Mexican-style La Cascada • All Suites withPrivateBalcony • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Large connecting pools with water cascades, rock formations waterfalls and swim-up bar and snack area • Easy access to facilities at neighboring El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid Granada hotels • WIFI Internet Access • Short walking distance from El Cid Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and a fitness center • Pronatours Tour Desk • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Moro Beach Hotel
El Moro Tower El Cid Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.