We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Food, And Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 63% Off
Ranked #16 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Food, And Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Hotel clean, Food Great, Service Great! Sorry i chose to go to Holiday Inn in Puerto Vallarta in December 2010 instead of returning here!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear sandrahamel

Thank you so much for nice words. It was fantastic to read that during your stay you found the hotel provides excellent service, great food and clean grounds.

We really expect to serve you in a near future, to provide you again with the excellent service that El Cid is characterized for.

Warm regards,

Mark Covarrubias Mckay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    402
    213
    103
    60
See reviews for
455
357
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This was our second trip to Mazatlan....and second to El Cid Castilla.

This resort is by far the best one that we have ever been too. My children are in their late teens and early twenties and enjoyed the resort as well.

Julieta and her staff in the business lounge were wonderful. Any question we may have had, they had an answer and if they didn't they found out for us. All of the ladies were very helpful.

All of the staff at the buffet or in the restaurants were excellent in their customer service skills. We were treated like gold.

The chambermaids were so friendly and went out of their way to ensure the rooms were clean and that we had any item we needed.

The girls at the spa were wonderful too. Prices are very affordable for massages, pedicures and manicures.

The pools are well set up for families and we had use of all the pools at Granada, the El Moro and Castilla pools.

Our Westjet representative, Kathie, was also excellent. She directed us to tours and gave us advice on where to dine or go have a drink etc.

Words can not express how much we enjoyed our Christmas vacation. We are planning our next trip to Maz and to the El Cid Castilla.

The only bad experience we had was the time share people -- do not give Christine at Walmart the time of day. She sells for La Jolla and they rip people off and are very rude. Javier, one of their sales people, should be ashamed of the way he treats people. If you are seriously interested in a time share, please go to the El Cid presentation. Marina has beautiful time shares as does Moro.

Thank you again for the wonderful treatment and vacation.

We will be back. And I can hardly wait!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear railqueen

On behalf of all at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, we want to express our thanks to you for your loyalty, and for all your praises; we are happy to note that once more you experience the excellent service that all the staff provide. It is important to mention that you also enjoyed of the facilities; this is a result of complete team efforts, and your comments are an inspiration to us. Every single person and specific are that you mention in your review, will be shared. We are honored by your comments.

Be assured that all of us, will be waiting for you; I remind you that you can contact me for any help you may need for making plans for your future stay.

Until soon,

Mark Covarrubias Mckay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

This was our third time in three years that we stayed at El Cid Castilla. This time we took our two children, son-in-law and two grandchildren. We had a fabulous time and now everyone wants to come back!

The staff are second to none. We have made some very good friends...and they are excellent ambassadors for the resort. Management of the resort are always seeking ways to improve service. We are very impressed with the hands-on approach they take.

Jose Velasco who manages the rooms/service is always at hand to ensure that everything runs as smoothly as possible. He will take time out of his busy day to talk to people and speedily looks after problems when they occur.

Raul Hernandez who looks after the restaurants on the resort is a fabulous man...he always looks after everyone and pitches right in when things get busy. Napolean, the chef, does a fabulous job....there are always lots of choices and even though our son-in-law and grandson are picky eaters, they always found more than enough to eat. Netza who assists Raul works hard to ensure that everything is as it should be, and both men are so friendly with a great sense of humor and a huge smile.


The waiters are excellent...if you want good service look for the following:
Adrian at the pool/beach...he is a small guy but he never sits still and you have fresh drinks served to you without having to ask for them.
Angel at the beach bar is a very good at his job and is always smiling and friendly.
Silvestre at the El Moro Pool has been at this resort for 9 years and he really knows how to look after his guests.
Rueben at the evening meal is always on the go, and he provided us with first rate service every evening.
Hugo also did a fabulous job serving us. Gilberto even sang "Yellow Submarine" to me when he saw me walking by with our grandchildren's sandtoys.

We had a great room on the 15th floor with a super view....the beds are firm but we like them that way...there were always plenty of towels and faceclothes, lots of shampoo, soap etc., and the maids always left the rooms spotless and smelling wonderful. OUr beds were always freshly made. This were the best cleaning staff we ever encountered in Mexico.

The only problem we had was with the Time Share People on the streets. There are time share staff in the hotel but if you don't want to be bothered, then don't give them your room number, or just tell them you are not interested and they leave you alone.

We are already planning our next trip to El Cid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear hroobie48

Greetings from the beautiful port of Mazatlan!!!

First, we extensively thank you for your preference, and it takes a great pleasure to have read your comments about your remarkable stay at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
At El Cid Resorts we always take pride in delivering the higly recognized hospitality standards, wich leads to exceeding guest’s expectations. Our commitment is to guarantee our guests have a hassle free stay; we are delighted to read that once more we exceeded your expectations.

I am very excited to read that you have notice that we are always seeking ways to improve service, we are aware that we are in a competitive market, for that reason we do our best for satisfying our guest´s satisfaction. Mr. Velasco, Mr. Hernandez, me, and the rest of the staff are 100% dedicated to contribute in that you have an unforgettable stay.

I will be delighted in sharing your nice comments with the entire staff; I can assure you that all of them will be grateful with you for your recognition.

Please, feel free to contact me for further help you may need for planning your next trip with us.
All of us, will be anxious waiting for you.

Until soon,

Mark Covarrubias Mckay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aitkin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We reserved a room with an online company that called this hotel 3.5 stars. The pictures on the website would seem to validate that rating. We did not feel the same after seeing the rooms. Our visit started at the front desk where Dego asked if we were okay with a pool side room. I stated that my preference would be for a quiet room. He replied that the pool room would not be quiet but that he could get me a nice, quiet room: one that was bigger and remodeled for an extra $200 American. I said no. He immediately came down to $100. My husband agreed and said "Put it on our bill." Dego said it had to be cash. My husband said we did not have that much cash, but Dego said that we could give it to him the next day. The room that we were shown to was on the 9th floor of the tower and had an ocean view. The glass shower door was lined at the bottom with a 1-2" strip of black mildew. The tub was painted with glossy, white paint that was not the first coat - as it was obvious that the paint had chipped and been repainted over and over. There was a sticky ring of something on the bedside table. Without examining the room further, we went back to the front desk and talked with a woman this time, who changed our room. This second room had a shower curtain, so no mildewed doors. The tub was the same painted version, though. There was a permanent, yellow/brown stain at the base of the toilet where the constant leak made a persistent puddle. We had to leave a towel there the whole time to keep from stepping in the wet. The air conditioner vent and the exhaust fan in the bathroom were both flocked with that grey, fuzzy stuff. The top of the hair dryer was covered with dead bug carcasses (and we did not see one bug the whole time - so how long had the dead ones been there????). The air conditioner didn't work after day 3. The room smelled sour and stale..... But we kept it because the view was wonderful and we did not want to be subjected again to extortion by the front desk. The coffee machine was only cleaned once in our week long stay. My mug was never cleaned. The sign on the coffee machine stated the cost of the coffee would be charged to our room and the money given to a childrens' charity. (We went to the store and bought our own coffee.) I don't believe the maid ever had replacement towels when she cleaned in the morning. She had to return in the afternoon with them. (One afternoon we had 4 visits in one hour by maintenance and maids - not once from our request: once light bulbs we didn't need, once towels, once some room/fragrance spray, and I forget the 4th....) The towel desk at the pool did not have replacement towels the 2 times I went there and at check out they couldn't find the slip we had to give them to get towels in the first place. The waiters at the breakfast buffet were good about removing our used plates and silverware, but never replaced the utensils. The persistent imposition of time share people and beach vendors when outside the hotel was distressing to the point of my saying we will NEVER return to Mexico. All in all a very disappointing vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear swedesand

Thank you for sharing your concerns. We apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the request for cash payments for the upgrade you requested. It's the hotel's policy to ask our guests if they like to open up a voucher by using their credit card in order to cover any incidental expenses. Those who prefer not to submit a credit card can make the payment in cash.

Regarding your other concerns, I have contacted our customer service staff and they have no record of your complains, or of any other guest's complains, on the issues you mentioned. Nonetheless, we're grateful for your input and we're looking into this matter. We'll make sure that any deficiencies found will be immediately corrected. Excellent customer service is what we strive for--our guests deserve nothing less.

Sincerely,

Mark Covarrubias Mckay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Although the beds at the hotel were a bit hard, the service and amenities were great. We had reservations at all the different restaurants - Mexican, Italian, Sushi, and Argentinian. We attend the New Years party at the main buffet restaurant, and although the food was good, it was probably the worst meal of the week. We ate breakfasts at the buffet and at the sit down restaurants with a menu. All were good. The waiters were all courteous and very helpful. The tour directors were also very nice. They helped us organize a catamaran cruis to Deer Island where we saw sea lions, birds, whales, and experienced the snorkeling and banana tube rides, as well as kayaking and swimming. They also provided us with a nice meal. There is plenty of shopping near by and the band at GUS GUS was great too. All in all it was an excellent vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear cozfirsttime

On behalf of all the staff at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience with us.

It is wonderful to learn that your expectations were met during your stay. The level of service delivered is a reflection of the pride and dedication that our staff takes in each of their duties.
We are happy to read that you took the opportunity to eat in all of the restaurants El Cid offers; we are proud in offer a wide variety of restaurants for the delight of our guests.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back and to providing you with a service of excellence.

Sincerely,

Mark Covarrubias Mckay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We just spent 2 weeks for the holidays in Mazatlan. We were very pleasantly surprised on the quality of this all-inclusive. The food was good and with all of the hotel restaurants to pick from we had a wide variety. The service was excellant throughout the resort. Our room was very nice and much bigger than we had anticipated. The only downside was the bed was very lumpy, hard and uncomfortable, and the pillows were too.
The entertainment in the evenings was a pleasant surprise and was better than on some cruise lines we have been on. The Christmas Eve show was very good.
The hotel was one of the cleanest and well kept places I have stayed in. There was constant upkeep being done on the hotels.
The other thing we greatly appreciated was the time share salespeople not being too pushy. As soon as they saw we weren't interested they backed off and left us alone, which was a big difference from other resorts we have stayed in. We have spent a lot more and received a lot less from other vacations than we did from this one.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear PaulandLindaB

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions of your visit at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you found an hospitable staff and that our all inclusive restaurants met you expectations. Our goal is to make that all guests feel at home away from their country during their time with us and that each visit is a special one.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to make a booking or if there is anything further that I can assist you with.

All the best,

Mark Covarrubias Mckay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We had a wonderful relaxing trip in El Cid. It's exactly what we needed - no cooking, no dishes, no phone calls or internet, and not many decisions to make. We brought a 1.5 year old with us, and she had a wonderful time.

The room was excellent - we were upgraded to a tower. We asked for a King size, but they couldn't accommodate that in the tower. We were offered a King size right in front of the beach, but those pool side & beach side rooms have not been renovated & they seemed very noisy. We opted to stay at the tower, but the staff were so nice & they showed us all the available rooms they thought we might like.

Warnings:
1) When you get out of the elevators and walk to your rooms, the hallway is on one side of the building, and there is a 2.5 or 3 foot clearance from your foot to your waist that the kids may be able to fall through - it seemed very dangerous coz we were on the 14th floor. I didn't let my daughter walk on the hallways.
2) There's also quite a few ants, so don't leave food lying around in your hotel room.
3) The waves were very strong on the beach, and there isn't much room between the waves & the hotel. If I had left my daughter out of my reach, she would have been taken by the waves.

Tip - if you're bringing a toddler or infant, bring a travel stroller - it made my life so much easier. Also bring a thermos for the milk - I filled it up at the buffet, and put in a bucket of ice and kept it in the sink.

We loved the outdoor buffet - they make the best prawns! We also enjoyed the Italian restaurant - make sure to book this as soon as you get there. When we got tired of the buffet, we ate in the Mexican restaurant for breakfast & lunch - we asked for items that were not in the menu and they did an excellent job.

We attended a couple of shows in the buffet area, and they weren't bad.

We went on a Mazatlan city tour & it was a good deal - especially since there was a $25 off in your coupon booklet, which basically makes it 2 for 1.

There was a Senor Frogs right on the street level of the hotel, but we never went. We didn't hear the noise from the 14th floor, unless you went out to the hallway. We went to the Golden area 2-3 times. It was only busy when the cruise ships were docked. Otherwise, it was very quiet.



We didn't do much, because we didn't want to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear a22m22

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and share this review, it is greatly appreciated.

For what I read, I can notice that you came back home fully renovated; I am so pleased to note you had a very relaxing vacation at this your resort, and that the staff at the Front Desk made their best to accommodate you in a comfortable room with a nice view. Our F & B staff is happy to know that your expectations were met, as you can experience, we try to satisfy any request of our guests, as in your case, when you ordered something that was not on the menu.

Your suggestions are much appreciated, be assured that we will take the necessary actions. Regarding your tips, I am sure that they will be of helpful to other travelers.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again on your next trip to Mazatlan.

Best Regards,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Mazatlan's Golden Zone with splendid views of the ocean, refined comforts, and warm, friendly service, El Cid Castilla Beach offers a delightful combination of sun and fun for all ages. Relax on our beautiful sandy beach as the Pacific laps at your toes, sip a refreshing beverage at one of our two connecting pools or enjoy a gorgeous sunset from your balcony as it melts on the horizon. Serving as a tropical oasis for unforgettable getaways, Castilla's vibrant location makes it the perfect retreat for entertainment seekers as it is just a few sandy steps away from the energetic nightlife, enjoyable shopping, and restaurants including Senor Frogs restaurant and disco on site. • Ideal for Friends and Families • European, All Inclusive and Elite All Inclusive Plans • Three restaurants with international cuisine • Kids Club (From 10am -10pm) • Teens Club (From 11am-7pm) • Theme night dinner buffets with live entertainment • Two expansive free form pool with swim up bar • Beach front property with aquatic center • Pronatours Tours Desk • WIFI Internet Access • El Cid Golf & Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and fitness center • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Cid Castilla Beach
El Cid Mazatlan
El Cid Castilla Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.