We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EL CID MAZATLAN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 50% Off
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
“EL CID MAZATLAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Since 1992, I know that Cid Resorts as the best Hotel on Mazatlan….. 22 years ago, my National Water Commission’s friends had a Technical Congress.
Today, I visited Cid Resorts for second occasion with my wife. She’ assisted to Landin Annual Convention (500 persons),,,,,, this occasion was on December 1 to 5’ 2014.
Well, well…. I liked rooms, restaurants (La Pergola, Argentinian, La Concha), pool, beach and nightlife. The two stay, we had received good treat of El Cid’s people…. Specially the waiters (Alejandro Rangel y Diego Tirado). . . . the waiters had more communication with us than other El Cid’s people. . . . they did a magnified work. They attended us like kings...... This is true!!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jorge E,

Thank you for choosing El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel at Mazatlan. We are thrilled to hear that your experience at our property was to your satisfaction

I have shared your comments with my team particularly with Alejandro Rangel y Diego Tirado and the waiter’s associates. They love to hear that their efforts do not go unnoticed and we would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets, they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.

El Cid Castilla is well located and we are a popular family choice for accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    420
    227
    106
    62
See reviews for
498
375
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swift Current, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Resort was clean, food delicious, staff accommodating for the most part. Time share Hawks were a pain. We upgraded but still didn't have wifi in our room, unless you paid even more. Shuttle to sister resort- marina was great, also across street to country club had great ala carts as well. Beach was fairly flat, great for walking along way, quite a few rocks about 10-15 feet into ocean, had to swim over to get to sand, or use water shoes. Warm ocean. When upgrading the special breakfast & lunch are was great, not as crowded as main buffet area.
One thing concerned us the most was the railing around the outside of the hallways down to the hotel rooms were very low, and open at the bottom. Very easy for a child to fall through, all levels were like this, high & lower levels , not very child friendly for sure.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear GmaCathy,

We appreciate hearing from our guests and sincerely remarks on the great service, that you liked our a la carte restaurant, our sister’s hotels and cleaning resort.

I am terribly sorry that your hotel experience while at our hotel was below your expectations and will certainly work on correcting the areas of deficiency that you point out. While the level of service is not typical of our hotel, we do realize that there are times we fail to deliver.

We hope that you reached your destination safely and that you would choose to have enjoyable stay in El Cid Castilla next time. We appreciate all our guests and it is not in our interest to let them leave unhappy, we hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.

Kind regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The El Cid hotels in Mazatlan give great opportunity to all different tastes, with many restaurants, a golf course, marina, secluded pools, conference center and daily events. Choose the right hotel in the complex to suit your tastes.Hotel El Moro is quite with secluded pools, beach access and fine dining in the La Concha and La Cascada restaurants. El Cid Castilla Beach great pool, buffet dining, beach access and a great Italian restaurant. El Cid Granada Country Club with it own 27-hole championship golf course, country club with tennis fitness center lap pools and spa as well as with it own restaurants. If you are into boating, the El Cid Marina is the place for you great moorage private beach, pools and restaurants. Lots of options at the El Cid hotels

Room Tip: All room look to the Beach and pools. Higher in the towers is better than pool side lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear DonSchilling,

Thanks for noticing everything and for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay in El Cid Resort.

I am very happy to read that you are enthusiastic about our location and that we were able to meet your expectations with the service we provided you and the ambiance of our hotel.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back and serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the groundskeeping and housekeeping staff right on through waitstaff (beverage and dining), housekeeping, activities and front desk, thank you for an awesome two weeks vacation at El Cid Castilla Beach. This is our 3rd visit and it just seems to get better and yes, we will be back. Have shared our experiences with family and friends and they too would like to come. Special thanks to Cesar, Cinthya and Jesus for keeping Andy "from Oregon" entertained! and to all others...Car;ps. Aldo, Angie and Frank for helping them out. Appreciate Cisneros Cantinero at the pool bar, he is the best! Happy Holidays...Feliz Navidad. Andy and Donna from Oregon US.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Donna K,

Thank you very much for this pleasant comment; you can't imagine how much couple of nice words like these motivates the hotel staff! It's so great to hear our staff goes beyond expectations to take care of our guests!

When we see that our everyday efforts make our guests happy so they even find it possible to make us aware of that, it's really great and it's a guarantee that we will continue to do our best to deliver best possible quality.

Thanks again for helping us to serve you better and we will certainly be more than happy to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was was our first time staying at this hotel.
Check in was a breeze... just watch out for the people who want you to join them for a "Information breakfast"..... Don't do it... Ive been coming to Mexico off and on for 20 years and every hotel i've been at has the good old fashion "Info Breakfast". They just want you to buy crap...

Our ocean view room was actually a ocean view room!! The view was great.
Rooms were quite and comfortable,in room electric keypad safe.No fridge though...We were on the mexican 12th floor according to the elevator numbers ...But i think it was actually only the ninth floor.
We hung out by the pool for our whole stay no chance to get a beach chair unless you were out early to claim one.
Beach was absolutely great,lots of sand ,no rocks and there was no sharp drop off as you went into the water.
Hotel is right across from El cid golf course. there is a pedestrian walkway over the street to the golf course, very handy..
Good eating within a couple blocks in any direction,Eg : the F.I.S.H ,Marys ,Ricos,Fat Fish and the Shrimp Factory just to name a few.
There is also a money exchange in the hotel as well as a ATM.
No complaints with this hotel,staff was friendly .
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear bigc15,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel and for taking the time to comment on your experience. Your detailed, positive yet honest review is very much appreciated.

We were very pleased to note that you enjoyed your accommodations, took advantage of facilities and that our staff succeeded in exceeding your service expectations. It was also great to see that you were able to enjoy the wonderful beach… you wouldn't let me lie, Mazatlan has one of the most spectacular sunsets in the world.

Also I am glad to read the very detailed and objective comments of the timeshare sales…great tips for future travelers.

Should your future travels bring you to Mazatlan, we would welcome another opportunity to provide you with a flawless vacation experience. Until that time we send our warmest regards!

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I went to Mazatlán for 5 days and stayed at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. We were elite all inclusive. Everything about our stay was fantastic. Beautiful rooms with a spectacular ocean view. Prono Tours escorted us to and from the airport and the driver was excellent. We had the pleasure of taking a city tour with the same driver. The Elite Club was wonderful to have. We had access to the Elite Club bar, private check in and out, complimentary use of the computers and many other perks. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. The property was right on the beach. Activities at the pools every day. They offered so many different choices in dining it was wonderful. And the city of Mazatlán is something everyone should experience. We went on a boat to Deer Island and that was so much fun. We snorkeled and saw many colorful fish. We actually found seashells on the beaches! We also went to the local festival for Día de Muertos and experienced shows put on by the local art school students. We had access to all four El Cid resorts each offering its own original charm. El Cid can truly cater to anyone. Marina El Cid is so charming. The Country Club was excellent. We felt so at home in this colorful city. I could not be more satisfied with everything about our vacation. The only regret is not staying longer! If you are looking to go to Mexico- I whole heartedly recommend any of the El Cid Resorts. The care they give to their guest is outstanding. I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff. There are many shops in the resorts, a great coffee shop, and Senior Frogs right next door. There are a lot of stores walking distance. We felt very welcomed by the entire city. The five mile long board walk was full of families enjoying the local gifts and food. Cliff divers are along the boardwalk. And many beautiful monuments and statues. The Cathedral in Mazatlán is breathtaking and the market is full of everything! It is an amazing city. When we go back- it will be to the El Cid Resort!

Room Tip: There are pool activities with a DJ daily. A higher floor will be better for noise reduction. The po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JBec71,

Very pleased that you enjoyed all that we and the area have to offer. ..We have worked hard to appreciate our guests and visiting El Cid Castilla should be like returning home.

I am glad to note that our convenient location, facilities and friendly staff exceeded your expectations; it is rewarding to note that our focus on consistency and efficient service is welcome and we will review our approach in delivery and make the necessary adjustments to add more warmth.

You can expect the best in personalized service from Elite Club, and all the benefits this has which takes great pains to make your vacation the best time of your life.
Again, thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate it and the pleasure is all ours.

We look forward to seeing you again!

My best,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived on a saturday afternoon for a week in Mexico for my thankagiving vacation. My first night was great. I was an all inclusive visitor and had a great time watching a PPV boxing match in the lobby bar. The pools were great, though a little on the cold side compared to the beach, and access to the beach was very easy. The grounds were great and I loved the food. My personal favorite was the Bacon wrapped shrimp (Imperial Shrimp) from the nicer restraunt on the beach, I would recommend trying it. Overall it was a great trip. And Ivan X. was a great beach waiter! He heard it was the birthday of some of our party members and surprised them with cake we didnt even request. He was always way ahead with the drink orders and was great at making sure we alwaya had what we needed. Karla in the Eliete lounge who initially gave us our braclettes and room assignments was also very helpful! Within 5 minutes she had drinks in our hands and within 10 had us on our way to our room. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great Mexico adventure!

PS: None of my group was ever pestered or bothered at the resort about buying into the time share. At the airport kiosk one lady asked if we were interested in the seminar and that we would recieve some activity vouchers if we attended,byt after letting her know we were not interested we were no longer bothered. I think that if you are staying all inclusive they do not bother you about the time share as much because half of the hotel is made more availabe to the elite all inclusive patrons. This side of the hotel had much better service and higher quality beverages, which is to be expected with the higher cost.

Room Tip: choose a room in the bigger buildings as they have a better view of the beach. Firwoeks were launche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, Gerente at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking your valuable in letting us know about your stay. We are very happy to hear than you spent unforgettable moments. I'll be congratulating our staff, Karla from Club Elite office and Ivan who spoke to you at the pool. We sincerely hope your return early with us again.

Warm regards.

Salvatore Sánchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Mazatlan's Golden Zone with splendid views of the ocean, refined comforts, and warm, friendly service, El Cid Castilla Beach offers a delightful combination of sun and fun for all ages. Relax on our beautiful sandy beach as the Pacific laps at your toes, sip a refreshing beverage at one of our two connecting pools or enjoy a gorgeous sunset from your balcony as it melts on the horizon. Serving as a tropical oasis for unforgettable getaways, Castilla's vibrant location makes it the perfect retreat for entertainment seekers as it is just a few sandy steps away from the energetic nightlife, enjoyable shopping, and restaurants including Senor Frogs restaurant and disco on site. • Ideal for Friends and Families • European, All Inclusive and Elite All Inclusive Plans • Three restaurants with international cuisine • Kids Club (From 10am -10pm) • Teens Club (From 11am-7pm) • Theme night dinner buffets with live entertainment • Two expansive, connecting free form pool with swim up bar • Beach front property with aquatic center • Pronatours Tours Desk • WIFI Internet Access • El Cid Golf & Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and fitness center • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Cid Castilla Beach
El Cid Mazatlan
El Cid Castilla Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.