We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 50% Off
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was honestly impressed, i had heard about the hotel before but i didnt think it was going to be that amazing! the first thing walking into the room that automatically made me fall in love was the view! The Pacific Ocean view was absolutely to die for! Apart from the Natural things around the are, the Hospitality was Marvelous! i got along with absolutely everybody! they truly made you feel like you were at home away from home! The Ladies From the Elite Club were very generous and helpful! Overall, my stay at El Cid Castilla was Absolutely amazing, and just saying that i feel like its an understatement, the experience is unexplainable. I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: stick to the middle, the 9th Floor is great, you're not too far up and not too far low, and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Paul A

First and for most I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how your Stay was here in El Cid Castilla. We always strive for our guest to have an unforgettable experience and for us to hear we yet again made someone’s vacation memorable brings good joy to me. Your kind words about our staff make me feel very proud to have them as a part of our team. This lets me know that our staff is going towards the most important goal we always want them to achieve which , is to always give outstanding service by giving our guest anything they need following in the direction of make them happy and satisfied . On behave of the whole hotel el Cid we thank you for choosing us and giving us the Opportunity to be the ones who take care of your throughout your vacation, we hope we can do it once again!

Sincerely,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    421
    227
    106
    62
See reviews for
499
375
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have stayed at the El Cid Castilla 3 times now and enjoyed ourselves every time. We really enjoy the poolview rooms on the lower levels that do not require an elevator. This makes it quick and easy. The buffets range from good to excellent and the specialty restaurants are fantastic. The staff is always eager to please. The beach is a little on the small side and the vendors are ruthless at this resort so we spend most of our time at the pool - this is the only real negative to this resort. Well okay - maybe the service at the swim up bar - which has been poor every time we have been here. The pools are great for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear: Schmingie

We appreciate your comment regarding your recent visit in El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
The experience you have shared concerns us deeply, as we are committed to provide the best possible services to our guests.
El Cid strives to adhere to a high standard of quality and services throughout all the properties. Your words are beneficial and will serve to aid us in our efforts as we continue to improve and monitor our services.
Regarding to the vendors on the beach we have security staff checking areas to keep as far possible to our customers, unfortunately outside areas of the hotel are completely out of reach.
Even so that was not bad at all during your stay, we know that you could enjoy our food, our staff, and our beautiful pools
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Kind Regards

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Rooms are very clean and comfortable. I stayed in the tower which had a great ocean view. There was only a couple English TV channels in the room, but not sure if that was because it was the summer. There is lots of shopping in the resort and a very nice pool with a waterslide for the kids. There is a lunch buffet area and a dinner buffet area. The restaurants are not included in the all-inclusive. The buffet food was not great, but the pay restaurants on the resort had excellent food. There is not a lot of beach area in front of the resort.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear: Lady

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I would like to apologize for the less satisfactory experience in relation a TV channels and buffets. Your constructive comments have been sincerely received and have been conveyed to proper channels of management for serious improvements.

We truly hope to be awarded another opportunity to redeem ourselves
On a more positive note, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our furniture, pools, a la cart restaurants. Undoubtedly this is the best way to motivate the team; they love to hear about guests enjoying their stay.

We look forward to your arrival and serving you and your family for a most memorable trip. Prior to arrival or during your stay with us, should you have any concerns or questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Whe we arrived during the slow season, many locations at and around the hotel were under construction however, I completely understand that and did not let it affect me. Our room had a terrific view in Castilla 19th floor and the room service (Martha) was timely, efficient and clean.

When I arrived I imagined somewthing completely different. However I was pleasantly surprised by the courteos staff at all el cid locations that were always willing to assist you in every way,

But a major thumbs up to the few staff that work at the Club Elite office. I met Estefany Vejar when I was referred to her by the woman at the information desk. I organized a delivery of a personalized birthday cake from a local bakery and she went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure everything was taken care of. She was also very savvy about the hotel and its services and was one stop shopping for all Mazatlan and information about tours and the region. Other times, her colleagues (Marisela, Zuleyma and Gisel) were happy to assist me in any way possible. Especially in keeping the cake a secret when my wife and I walked in together.

When it comes to the people, the staff at el cid were fantastic and helpful. Granted, it was the slow month of September, but if it means stepping it up a notch, then this team of Super Chicas at the Club Elite Centre know what good customer service is. Hopefully, management recognizes their efforts.

My only regret? Not being able to stay on their holiday weekend for Independence Day.

Room Tip: Castilla top floor is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Sir

I would like to begin by apologizing for the inconvenience that you submitted on your recent stay at El Cid Castilla.

As a part of our commitment to constant improvement and delivering greater value to our guests we guarantee that every visit to our hotel will be a unique and memorable experience, so letting us know how good we performed during your stay is a real great help to us!

Your nice words about the super chicas in the elite club made us feel very proud of having them as part of our team because they are doing their best to follow in the direction to score our most important goal which is to make our guests happy.

I hope we will soon have a chance to welcome you back and deliver even more pleasant vacations, please be assured that myself and my club Elite team will be more than glade to be able to pamper you once again.

My Best Wishes,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

 
I stayed at El Cid Castilla for 4 days, my room was very comfortable with a wonderful view and great service..! 
The Italian restaurant was my favorite, and the ladies in Club Elite were very helpfully, specially Marisela, Estefany, Gisel and Zuleyma, they answered all my questions and attended every need.I will definetly visit again soon! 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear: Sir

A positive feedback is the best success we can receive, so I cannot thank you enough for this wonderful comment.

We are pleased to know that you trust in the high level of El Cid Castilla as always work with the desire to offer our customers a first class service.

I have just had the pleasure of personally sharing your comments with Marisela, Estefany, Zuleyma and Gisel. It is feedback such as this that drives the team to aim even higher in terms of guest service. Your comments regarding our staff being so friendly and helpful is right on the mark as our people philosophy is that 'people are our greatest asset and vital to our success'.

Please know that you have a place here and at any of our hotels, and should you need any point of contact for a return visit or a new adventure please don't hesitate to let me know; Be assured that elite club girls would be honored to personally assist!

Yours Sencerely,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We bought a time share in the tower, when it first opened, and the place was awesome. We went a few years later with some friends and it was nice, but not as nice. Ten years later, and yes we were still paying for the time share and the $500 a year maintenance fee, we show up. The first thing we noticed was that the place really looked run down. We went to our room, the same one we had been to the two times before and it was barren. This double suite with a kitchen is on one of the higher floors, looking south, but they no longer had glasses, utensils, forks and knives or any decent niceties like vases or anything else, unless it was bolted down. A couple hours later, we are asked to come to the front desk. We are told, we are five days late and that we have two days, but if we talk to a specialist, they might be able to accomodate us to another location, away from the ocean and the tower. The meeting was set up for the last day and they told us that unless we were willing to spend $3,000 to modify our timeshare we needed to leave. Since we don't appreciate being strongarmed we kindly refused, they kicked us out. During the two days, we had a meal there and though the food was OK, the service was not the best. The front desk was awesome and after the first day we were there, my wife and I brought back meals (hand made tacos and condiments, from the same restaurant we had just eaten at to feed over ten people. The staff was totally surprised and appreciative. Due to the greed of the management and thier give a I don't care where you flew in from attitude, I will never set foot on any part of that large resort. Their golf course and caddys were totally a blast. IMHO, I you stay at Publo Bonito Emerald Bay, if you want intimacy, though it's away from the main hotspots, or any of the many other fine resorts/hotes in Mazatlan.

They also let vendors harrass you when you are on the beach. I even had two strangers approach me about using my card so they could play the golf course. This place caters to the masses, unlike when they first opened, and it is not what it used to be.

Room Tip: Unless you get a deal to play their golf course, find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear: Know BS

I deeply regret for the inconvenience we have caused concerning points you describe in your recent comment.

First of all I appreciate you for taking the time to let us know our strengths and weaknesses, as I already mentioned previously in other reviews your opinions are important to us they are essentials in order for us to continue growing in this competitive market.

We are definitely thinking about renovating our installation. This is because we recognize the importance of having modern equipment for the better experience of our customer. We are working on a project that we hope to finish next year remodeled all our rooms and general areas; we have advanced more than half of the project.

All our suites feature amenities kitchen (knives, glasses, to name a few.) We are investigating in your case why you did not have these amenities in your room with supervisor in this area.
Concerning the vendors on the beach we have security staff reinforcing on key points preventing them to have access with our guests.

I have met with executives from other departments to strengthen our special measures, as we have noted each of your comments and we are reviewing carefully.

We want to do a big effort for the inconvenience we have caused, for this we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again and change your perspective of your last experience at El Cid Resort.

Reiterate our sincere apology and we remain at your disposal for any assistance you need.

Best Wishes,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We are a part of the El Cid family and we have been going to this resort for more than five years. The people are very friendly and very attentive! Since i dont speak very much spanish, it was awesome to have a waiter that spoke wonderful english and spanish! If you ever visit this hotel, be sure to request Carlos Schmidt or Roberto as your waiter during the spectacular shows every night in the Pergola!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear: Karla M

What emotive comment. It gives me honor to know that you as part of our team.
I am very glad to know that the staff of meet your expectations and the effort of each of them made, in order to achieve customer satisfaction

Be assured that I will pass your congratulations to Carlos Schmidt and Roberto for their great job.
Thank you very much for making us part of your experience and even more for your loyalty, hope to see you again in this your home El Cid Castilla Resort.

Kind Regards,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Mazatlan's Golden Zone with splendid views of the ocean, refined comforts, and warm, friendly service, El Cid Castilla Beach offers a delightful combination of sun and fun for all ages. Relax on our beautiful sandy beach as the Pacific laps at your toes, sip a refreshing beverage at one of our two connecting pools or enjoy a gorgeous sunset from your balcony as it melts on the horizon. Serving as a tropical oasis for unforgettable getaways, Castilla's vibrant location makes it the perfect retreat for entertainment seekers as it is just a few sandy steps away from the energetic nightlife, enjoyable shopping, and restaurants including Senor Frogs restaurant and disco on site. • Ideal for Friends and Families • European, All Inclusive and Elite All Inclusive Plans • Three restaurants with international cuisine • Kids Club (From 10am -10pm) • Teens Club (From 11am-7pm) • Theme night dinner buffets with live entertainment • Two expansive, connecting free form pool with swim up bar • Beach front property with aquatic center • Pronatours Tours Desk • WIFI Internet Access • El Cid Golf & Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and fitness center • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Cid Castilla Beach
El Cid Mazatlan
El Cid Castilla Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.