We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip was a winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 63% Off
Ranked #16 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First trip was a winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were greeted with a bouquet of flowers and wine, thanks to friends of ours who have been staying at the El Cid for the past 5 years. The room service was great and the maid surprised us with a floral designs on the bed made with orange crystals. The shower was hard to control for the water temp. The one disappointment was the missing knobs on the dresser drawers (room 4099) so we had to leave them ajar in order to access the clothes within, which made the room appear messy. Food was excellent, as was the waiter service, whether you were eating inside or outside. A wave of your hand and poolside service was seconds away. A walk on the beach was mere minutes away and most enjoyable. Sleeping was not easy in the beach front suite, as the waves at night sounded like a unceasing raging winter storm, but then maybe that's just me.

Room Tip: Ocean waves can disturb a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear richgat

Many thanks for let us know how pleasant was your stay with us. I am delighted to read that once more we have achieved our commitment in making our guests have a memorable vacation. I really appreciate your compliments in regards to the great service delivered by our staff, the food service and facilities. About the bouquet of flowers and wine, it was our pleasure, we are aware that a touch makes the difference in service.

I also appreciate you for making our knowledge the room number where you stayed (it has helped us a lot), Maintenance department is currently working in the issue you mention. I can assure you that this will be solved.

We hope to se you again very soon!!!

Best regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    553
    402
    216
    103
    60
See reviews for
461
357
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
parkfalls wi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

i have wrote a review till today and afet coming to el cid in mazatlan for 5 years
I have to say this is the best resort in the world. By far they have the best service out here. Fransisco Renteria the waiter on the beach was great we had a drink in our hands non stop he never stopped to rest. so far he is the #1 waiter I have seen so far on the beach. he is all about service and always has that smile on his face. this resort is all about service they wait on you hand and foot. I will only come to el cid based on their service.

Room Tip: ask for Susana in sales she will make sure you are taken care of
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear chris1994m

Your comments really brightened up our day. With sincere appreciation we thank you for taking the time to comment on the service provided by Francisco Renteria, who will be congratulated on this great mention, I'm sure he will feel very motivated after reading this review.

Moreover I wish to thank you for your loyalty in these 5 years; as a repetitive guests you have experienced that the most important for us is to make you have a memorable vacation, and we take care of everyneeds that you might have.

If I can be of any help for future trips, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, CA.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I don't normally write reviews but felt compelled to write about my experience at the El Cid. Staff was very accommodating and the 'VIP Elite' upgrade was very well worth it. Ocean view rooms afforded incredible views and were comfortable. The staff were very cordial and have to give special commendation to Ivan X in the Lobby Bar who made certain that his guests were always served promptly and made one feel as if they were in their own home. Leticia at the same lobby bar was also very accommodating.

Would definitely return to visit!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the difference to upgrade to 'VIP Elite'...definitely get an Oceanview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear silaldana

I am delighted to see that it has been your first time of writing a review and I feel even more fortunate that it was written for El Cid resort.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities, your satisfaction to the Elite plan and as well, the service provided by Leticia and Ivan at the lobby bar. We take pride in the excellent service provided by our staff; we can not have a better result that when we love what we do.

In closing, hopefully we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future for another wonderful stay and take the opportunity again of having the benefits of the Elite plan once more; we appreciate your high recommendation to others to this plan.

Best wishes,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed on the 9th floor in the tower, great view and fairly quiet. The room was kept clean and we had fresh towels each day. The elevators were small and a little hit and miss. There are two for tourists and a larger one for the staff /freight. It was not unusual for one of the smaller elevators to be out of service. Check in and checkout was seamless. We only ate in the buffet once, it was ok. The specialty restaurants were all very good, with great service, all the staff was very helpful and really wanted to please. Our favorite restaurant was El Patio we ate breakfast and dinner there quite a few times. Our favorite waiter was Roberto Benitez, he had a sense of humor and looked after us very well, and he is a good ambassador for the resort.
The pools were nice and warm with lots of activities; the music was varied and not too loud. Lunch at the La Alhambra excellent, the birds made it amusing; there is a nice view of the beach.
We did not venture out of the resort after dark; there is a covered walkway over the road leading to the Granada side of the resort, therefore you can travel back and forth without going on the street. . During the day we walked quite a lot and the time share folks were a pain to say the least. We had a really good one hour massage for $25:00 each at a little place called “Myo Massage” , as you leave the Granada turn left it is about a block and in behind Mary’s restaurant, well worth a visit, we booked the day before.
We would go back to the resort anytime. The weather was warm and people friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear BryanSandra

I was delighted and extremely proud to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly value such encouraging and complimentary comments in regards to our service and facilities.
For next time, we wish that you allow us to pamper you at our Spa which offers a wide variety of services, I can assure you that you will feel completely renovated.

Please for next visit, I will appreciate you to contact me directly for any help you might need, we would like to welcome you with an special dinner at your favorite restaurant, El Patio.

On behalf of all the staff, we will be waiting for your return.

Kind regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

First time in Mazatlan, and we totally picked the right place to stay, We stayed at the Granada and they were very accommodating to all our needs, the rooms clean and huge,with a nice balcony,the staff were all wonderful, so much to do in one resort as you had access to the Granada, the Castilla and the Marina, by free shuttle. We had so much fun at the Patio Pool with Christian , he totally made us feel like family. The A-la-cart restaurants were amazing and the supervisor at the Argentina restaurant Netzar was one of the nicest people I have ever met, the waiters were all fabulous, there were always clean towels, and the maids were right on the money,if you needed anything you just called and they were there is minutes, I totally recommend this hotel, and I felt very safe at all times.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the south side, corner unit , on the 2nd or third floor , much quieter , large and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Paria P

Many thanks for your kind words. Making that our guests feel at home away from home is our top priority, for that reason your comments makes us feel so happy, and I agree with you, you could not have chosen a better place to vacation than Mazatlan and El Granada to stay, I will share your comments with our associates of our sister hotel.

It is nice to read as well, that you took the opportunity to visit our sister hotels which offers a lot of entertainment and activities for our guests of all ages.

I will ensure to share your comments to Netza, waiters at El Patio and maids, because they were those who made your stay so enjoyable.

We deeply appreciate your recommendations to others. We look forward for your next visit I can assure you that it will be even more memorable, hopefully, next time you allow us to serve you at El Cid Castilla.

Best regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our stay at the El CID was great. The resort was very tidy, the rooms especially. We stayed in a pool view room, but also were able to view the ocean from the balcony. The food was delicious in all of the restaurants, especially at the El Patio. Ricardo was a very nice waiter, super helpful and friendly. In the evenings we went to the lobby bar, it was relaxing. Ivan X was our favorite as he always brought us our drinks without us even having to ask. Our vacation was wonderful and we loved El CID.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear mrc_forever_96

I am very happy that you had a wonderful stay. I thank you for your praises in regards to our facilities and service, we effort to offer our guests the most comfortable stay and the best service possible, and your recognition is the best reward we can have from you. I already shared your encouraging words to Ricardo and Ivan, they are so grateful with you for that.

Thanks for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at the El Cid Castilla Beach from Feb 9th to Feb 23rd. I have to say that this was the best holiday that I have had in years. The hotel rooms were very clean as was the whole resort. The staff was more than accommodating, Ricardo, Adrian, Luis, Hermes helped make this a fantastic vacation. The service was the BEST! The food was great, the presentation and quality of the meals in the a la carte restaurants was phenomenal.. I can't say enough about this resort.. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: definitely an ocean view.. fabulous sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Dear JLW69

Thank you for taking the time to write this encouraging review, your comments are very important for us. It is amazing to know that our staff and facilities have made you have the best holiday in years, it give us tremendous happiness to read that we are achieving our commitment.

Food service is one the most important aspects in the hotel industry for that reason our team works very hard to satisfy your needs in variety, presentation and taste. I will make sure to share your comments to all the staff especially with who you mention by name, Hermes, Adrian, Luis and Ricardo, we are proud of having them as part of this great family.

We hope to have you with us any time soon.

Warm regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Mazatlan's Golden Zone with splendid views of the ocean, refined comforts, and warm, friendly service, El Cid Castilla Beach offers a delightful combination of sun and fun for all ages. Relax on our beautiful sandy beach as the Pacific laps at your toes, sip a refreshing beverage at one of our two connecting pools or enjoy a gorgeous sunset from your balcony as it melts on the horizon. Serving as a tropical oasis for unforgettable getaways, Castilla's vibrant location makes it the perfect retreat for entertainment seekers as it is just a few sandy steps away from the energetic nightlife, enjoyable shopping, and restaurants including Senor Frogs restaurant and disco on site. • Ideal for Friends and Families • European, All Inclusive and Elite All Inclusive Plans • Three restaurants with international cuisine • Kids Club (From 10am -10pm) • Teens Club (From 11am-7pm) • Theme night dinner buffets with live entertainment • Two expansive free form pool with swim up bar • Beach front property with aquatic center • Pronatours Tours Desk • WIFI Internet Access • El Cid Golf & Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and fitness center • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Cid Castilla Beach
El Cid Mazatlan
El Cid Castilla Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.