We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some safety concerns” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Sale: Up to 63% Off
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Some safety concerns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Overall, we have nothing to complain about our stay at the Castilla. It was of good value for the price we paid for our vacation. However, I have two safety concerns. From floor 14 up to the 19th at the Castilla, the concrete railing is very low and fairly wide open along the hallway. This is very dangerous as people can slip and fall over to their deaths if not careful - particularly children. Below floor 14, the hallways have an extra piece of glass over the railing for added protection. I am not sure why this was not installed from floor 14 and up! The second safety concern has to do with the patio above the Cascada restaruant at the El Moro. Again, there is no protective railing so people can fall and severely hurt themselves.

Mazatlan is a great place to visit although the time share people along the Golden Zone can get pretty aggressive and very annoying.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Dear Calgarytequilla

Thank you for selecting El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel for your recent stay. We appreciate every comment from our beloved guests, as they provide us the tools to measure their levels of satisfaction. I am happy to read that overall, your experience was pleasant.

We sincerely value your observations in regards to balcony railings; while many guests enjoy of the amazing view to the city, we understand that the height can be disconcerting. As you mention, we have already updated some balconies, and let me share with you that we will continue the process on additional floors; our guests’ safety is our priority. In regards to the patio above La Cascada, our guests enjoy of this area to appreciate the unobstructed view to the Pacific Ocean, however your observation will be addressed to our management committee.

We look forward to serve you again as you deserve.

Warm regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    408
    221
    105
    61
See reviews for
480
366
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My family and I stayed at the El Cid Castilla for spring break. The hotel provided a lot of great activities for any age to enjoy. The views were gorgeous and the staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating. Raul, the activities coordinator, was so much fun and a pleasure to be around. He was really devoted to making sure the guests were having a good time. Our stay went by so fast because of how much fun we were having. I would definitely recommend staying at the El Cid Castilla. I hope to return for another amazing vacation there.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear bellabloom

Firstly, many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at El Cid Castilla with other travelers. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed of both, facilities and service. It is rewarding to us to know that our objective was achieved with you. I will pass along your kind words to Raul and the rest of the staff members.

All of us will be waiting for your return.

Until soon,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from this resort and it's pretty nasty. Upon check in we were "upgraded" to a one bedroom suite in the Moro hotel (which we booked Castilla). The first room we couldn't get into since the key card wouldn't work. My boyfriend went to the front desk and they told him to enter the key with the side that does not have the arrows. He came all the back up to find it still didn't work. He went back to the front desk and a bellboy accompanied him and tried the key. The key didn't work and the bellboy said it was because the batteries were low. We had to go back to the front desk to get a new room. When we got in the room it was almost creepy. The living room furniture was old and the TV was placed behind a chair. The showers had no lights in them and the balcony was tiny with a view of a nasty vacant lot. I returned to the front desk and asked if there was a regular room available in the Castilla Hotel. They had one left overlooking the pool. We took that room and it was okay even though the shower broke a couple days later and there was no remote for the T.V.
We explored the property and found that one of the pools had a ton of missing tiles all over and the water was filthy. The swim up bar was a complete wreck and had very rude bartenders except for Ramon. You never new where to go for a meal as one would have breakfast one day and not the next. We even tried to order room service and my boyfriend was hung up on when he asked if we could get a menu. The food was the same everyday with a small variety.
Overall, this hotel is a poor excuse for a resort. To top it all off my checkbook was stolen from the room!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear kjonhson1977

Thank you for selecting El Cid Resorts during your recent visit to Mazatlan. On behalf of the staff, please accept our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that you and your boyfriend experienced during your stay. We appreciate the time you took to outline your comments, as this allows us to improve our product and services. Be assured that your comments will be addressed by the management team within each of the areas you outlined.

We hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you to Mazatlan at your first choice of resort, El Cid Castilla Beach.

Warm regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had an event filled week, beginning the day of check in. We got the safe lock and key, only to lose the key within the first four hours of our stay. It took the maintenance man over 4 hours to drill out and remove the lock. Pools were clean, and staff was up earlier than I was to continue cleaning the pool. One bad thing about the pools, is that the tile is starting to come off the bottom of the pool leaving sharp edges that catch little toes (my daughters numerous times). Rooms in Castilla tower were great! New flat screens, comfy beds, DVD player. Balcony overlooking pools and ocean! I was concerned about the railings on the upper floor (we were on 15). As in other reviews, it would be easy for a child to fall through the railing, as an adult could easily fit through the spaces. Excellent service. Always someone around. Juan at Pergola - AWESOME! Ignasio at pool - AWESOME! Juan the lifeguard who helped with my daughters cut to her toe - Fantastic! Tip your servers well, and they will take care of you too! LOTS of beach vendors - it seemed they liked Castilla more than the other hotels...Food was ok. Went to the a la carte italian restaurant - make sure you take advantage of the a la carte restaurants - you won't bore so quickly with the buffet.

Room Tip: All ocean view rooms are in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear twgrindle

Thank you very much for your recent review, we are so delighted you had a nice stay at this your home and that your expectations in room, amenities, cleanliness and service, were met. We appreciate your kind words about these aspects of the hotel and for pointing out the great service provided by specific individuals you were kind enough to praise.

We also appreciate you taking the time to point out ways in which we can improve our product; they will be addressed to the department involved.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Mazatlan.

Warm regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Although we did not stay in this hotel, we went there everyday seeing how we always had the most fun there laying by there pool and participating in there activities. The staff were all very friendly and outgoing, always making you smile! Its a very safe and clean environment, for all ages. Raul was someone who stood out the first time we came, making conversation instantly. He was always interested in playing a game a volleyball or any activity, even if he was off work. He was constantly going out of his way to make everyone happy and laugh. I would defiantly stay here my next time I visit! Thanks everyone at El Cid, had a blast!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear Brittany_sd

Thanks so much for expressing your comments with regards to El Cid Castilla. We greatly value your feedback to the staff, especially to Raul and the Activities staff; it give us a great pleasure to read that all of them were very professional, hospitable and were able to meet your needs. Comments such as yours, is the best reward we can have from our guests. Undoubtedly, when you visit us, you will have a pleasant vacation and will be able to enjoy all the services El Cid offers; El Cid has something for everyone.

As soon as you decide to make plans to visit us, please contact me, I will be more than happy in assist you.

Best regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The all inclusive buffets were edible at best. Food poorly prepared, tasteless, few options, slow drink service. People who like it have probably not been to any other resorts...ever.Doors have no safety chains so toddlers can open them with no problem, this on a 12th floor.when I called customer service about this , they sent a men who told me he could not put anything else in the door and then questioned my parenting skills. It's impossible to regulate the temperature in the shower. On the good side....room was nice with new furniture except the old tv and had a perfect ocean view. Most employees were really nice to us too

Room Tip: D not choose all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear hafidgueco

We appreciate your expressing your satisfaction with our room accommodations and the good service provided by our employees. We very much value your comments as we strive to deliver excellent customer service to our guests. We also thank you for pointing out what can be improved in our all inclusive buffet, as well as the other issues you mentioned. Be assured that our management team is working upon to reinforce these areas you mention.
P
lease allow us to host you again in order to change your first impression.

Kind regards,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The beach was fantastic and the pools were great. My kids and I really enjoyed all the a-la-carte`s, especially the Italian and Argentinian (that is of course very personal). Absolutely loved to have breakfast and lunch buffet by the ocean and the a-la-carte in the evening. What a fantastic scenery with beach, ocean, sun, the music by the waves and a friendly service!
The ocean-view rooms are spacious with a big balcony and a fantatic view!
Loved the daily forecast - 32C and sunny!
We had difficult time understanding the talking at the evening shows but the performers were very good.
Downside was that there were too many salesmen on the beach.
Loved the shuttle to the El Cid Marina and to be able to jump in the pool there with the towel and food service! Met all the Iguanas, of course! What was a hit with the kids. Definitely would suggest to upgrade to Elite!
The Staff was very friendly. Thank you for a great hospitality!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms and upgrade to Elite Club are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear lillekerous

On behalf of all the staff at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, I would like to express my thanks to you for sharing your experiences with us. I am delighted to read that you and your kids had such a fantastic stay and enjoyed of the pools, hospitalable staff, food service, room and the beautiful view to the ocean from your room. Also, I am pleased to read that you were upgraded to the All Inclusive Elite and enjoyed of all the benefits it offers, for mention some of them, to enjoy of the Food service at La Marina; we thank you for your recommendation to others. It is nice to read that your kids loved the iguanas.

Your suggestions are much appreciated; they will be addressed to the department involved to take the appropriate actions to reinforce our service.

We look forward to host you very soon and provide you another unforgettable vacation.

Sincerely,

Raul Hernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Mazatlan's Golden Zone with splendid views of the ocean, refined comforts, and warm, friendly service, El Cid Castilla Beach offers a delightful combination of sun and fun for all ages. Relax on our beautiful sandy beach as the Pacific laps at your toes, sip a refreshing beverage at one of our two connecting pools or enjoy a gorgeous sunset from your balcony as it melts on the horizon. Serving as a tropical oasis for unforgettable getaways, Castilla's vibrant location makes it the perfect retreat for entertainment seekers as it is just a few sandy steps away from the energetic nightlife, enjoyable shopping, and restaurants including Senor Frogs restaurant and disco on site. • Ideal for Friends and Families • European, All Inclusive and Elite All Inclusive Plans • Three restaurants with international cuisine • Kids Club (From 10am -10pm) • Teens Club (From 11am-7pm) • Theme night dinner buffets with live entertainment • Two expansive, connecting free form pool with swim up bar • Beach front property with aquatic center • Pronatours Tours Desk • WIFI Internet Access • El Cid Golf & Country Club, offering golf, tennis, spa, and fitness center • Only 18 miles from Mazatlan Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Cid Castilla Beach
El Cid Mazatlan
El Cid Castilla Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.