We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Durango Du
1 review
“Nice staying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I liked the hotel, everybody was helpful and they treated us well. The room we stayed in was great. I didn't like too much the food they served at the restaurant, and maybe there should be more options in the menu without hot pepper in it or it should be specified in the menu what contains hot peeper and what doesn't. overall.. good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    21
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
26
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rifle
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Few of the services advertised were available.. Transportation and food service amenities were not available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelEDM, Gerente at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Todd
Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure that each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and will work to improve our service. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Los Delfines Restaurant one of three on site was closed for a couple weeks but not longer . For transportation we try to schedule all the service, we have 4 vans

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 6699155850.


Sincerely,
Angel Macias
General Manager
Wyndham Las Villas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spend the winter in Mazatlan but always go spend three days at Estrella to relax, chill and play golf. It is fabulous, beautiful golf course right on the ocean, fantastic staff, English spoken here!
Fabulous place for lovers..honeymooners, very close to the airport. Shuttle will take wo into town.

Room Tip: Waterfront, fall asleep to the waves on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our time at Estella Del Mar was wonderful. We were almost the only people there and that was ok with us. Everyone was kind, helpful, and patient with our lack of Spanish. The food was terrific. The drivers were extra helpful because I am on crutches and need extra time. The pool was great. Everything was clean. It was a once in a lifetime trip we will always remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One may difficulty (and the reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5) is finding this property. We
signed up for this hotel as a Wyndham Hotel and had no idea that it had "Estrella del Mar"
connected to it so when we turned on the road that said "Isla de la Piedra" we did see the
sign which only said "Estrella del Mar" but there was no "Wyndham" after that name so
we continued on for 9 miles as our Garmin said to do. It took us a good 1 1/2 hours to get
this figured out with the staff and to find our way back and to the hotel - very frustrating.
Once there, it is a beautiful, but very secluded hotel. We don't think it should be advertised
as a Mazatlan hotel as it isn't anywhere close to downtown Mazatlan and takes you 30-45
minutes to drive back into town. The staff, once there, couldn't have been nicer and the
hotel would be perfect for someone wanting to be secluded (suggest a fly in to Mazatlan as
they will pick you up) or there for a golf vacation. This was the first step in our special
anniversary trip. We are taking this trip to celebrate our anniversary and that of our son's, who
we will be meeting in Seattle for his 20th anniversary and an Alaskan cruise with his wonderful
wife. It is a beautiful property. This hotel needs to warn the guests driving in to look for the
sign "Estrella del Mar" not "Wyndam" since that word isn't on their sign!

Room Tip: We only saw our room. It was lovely and quiet with a gorgeous view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelEDM, Gerente at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear ….Nevadatraveler1

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Resort.
Is very important to us your feedback.
We recently changed our Hotel name to Wyndham Estrella del Mar Resort
Specifically for this issue , now you can see online the name updated
Thanks again and we hope to see you again
Sincerely;

Angel Macías
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Address: Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
68-room oceanfront hotel in Mazatlan, Mexico within the gated community of Estrella Del Mar, just 10 minutes from Mazatlan airport. Activities and amenities include a spa, salon & workout facility, conference & wedding facilities, pool & hot-tubs, restaurant & bar, tennis courts and horseback riding, 18-hole championship golf course and 3½ miles of beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.