We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ron & Alma Seibel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 72 hotels in Mazatlan
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
28
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 nights at Las Villas and couldn't of asked for a more relaxing vacation. Due to the location, you are not exposed to all of the sights and sounds of the city and can really just spend some peaceful time on the beach. The private beach is wonderful since you do not have to fend off the street vendors that you would encounter on the beaches in the Golden Zone. We enjoyed beautiful sunsets, golf, massages, and some good food in both restaurants. Our last morning was spent on the balcony watching dolphins near the beach. If you want to go into Mazatlan, the hotel can arrange a ride and I believe there is a daily shuttle between the hotel and an office in the city. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating and even arranged a sunset horseback ride for the two of us. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Las Villas for our honeymoon and we fell in love with Mazatlan. It is absolutely beautiful and we had a nice and pleasant stay at Las Villas. We loved almost all aspects of it with the exception of the restaurant hours and misinformation from the front desk. Other than that we absolutely loved it and would definitely go back. For the most part the staff was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelEDM, Manager at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Tony.
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and will work to improve our service.
Is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 6699155850.

Sincerely,
Angel Macias
General Manager
Wyndham Las Villas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The location was a little far from the action , If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and unwind this is it ! The food I had in the Estella Del Mar golf club resteraunt, The Casa Club, was the best ever ! the rooms are comftable above average and the beach in front is perfect for long walks. A true paradise ! Because the hotel is located aways from town, If I was the manager of the hotel offering a free shuttle into town once or twice a day would make the experience absolutely perfect . In front of this hotel there is not a hundred taxi,s as there are with other hotels in mazatlan.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during Carnival as we were passing through and wanted a "quiet" evening away from the madness. It was wonderful! The property is situated about 25 kms. away from town, 3 1/2 miles of sandy beach, pools, golf, spa the works. The rooms were fabulous and the front desk staff upgraded us to an ocean front suite, magnificent with limestone floors and the works. We were looking forward to a meal that matched the rest of the surroundings and were very very disappointed. There was a bare bones wait staff, our meal was cold when served, the food was terrible and I would never recommend it. Most of the wait staff had a bad atttitude and took no pride in their job or the restaurant. Think again before staying here as it is a "drive" to venture out for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilCarben, Internet Marketing Assistant at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
While it has been over a couple of months since this review was posted, we would now like to respond by way of an update regarding the action that has been taken in the light of the comments made about the restaurant and staff.

Firstly, we would like to thank the reviewer for her candid comments. That her praise for the property and rooms was overshadowed by her experience of the restaurant was of course very disappointing for us. However, we monitor our customer feedback very closely, and this review was brought to the immediate attention of senior management who stressed that this was unacceptable and that corrective action be taken as a matter of priority.

Specific quality controls at Resort & Hotel Managerial level were instituted immediately for the restaurant, while at the same time the process began for the hiring of a new Food & Beverage Manager. We are pleased to convey that the appointment was made at the end of March and our early reports suggest that things have certainly changed for the better, both from the food quality aspect and restaurant staff. We realize that continued monitoring and solicitation of feedback is essential if this turnaround is to be maintained and again, we thank the reviewer for giving us the opportunity of improving our overall guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Mochis, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stay at this wonderful Hotel, for the Semana Santa vacations, honestly, i had been in a lot of hotels all around Mazatlan, and well as all is what it is, it depends on whats your trip propose, but if you are searching for a peace place to stay, this is the best option I'm sure you will found in town, it haves a Golf Camp with 18 holes, the garden is huge, even you can see it in Google Earth and make sure of it, it haves an artificial lake, and so many beautiful beach places, we stay in the "Hotel Side", because it haves condos and other houses around the Golf Camp and beach, it haves a good swimming pool, 2 jacuzzi, volleyball net, 2 tennis court, a gym, spa beds, and a lot of different facilities in the resort.
You wont have any disco or party places as you will find in other hotels in Mazatlan, but what you will find here is a really peaceful time, quiet nights, the sound of the sea in your window, and the wind blowing the whole day.
We take a suite which haves a little kitchen, and we bought some stuff at town, but later we discover there's a little store in the resort which haves the same prices that in the super market, so we finally decide to continue buying the things there.
Definitely i would come back to this place again.

Room Tip: I suggest to ask for the Villas with kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico city
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I´ve stayed 3 times in Las Villas Hotel (Estrella de Mar Resort) and each one of them have been very pleasant. The last time I went because of the triathlon (which I actually made), but I realy enjoyed the golf course, that is, for sure, the best and most beautiful course I've been. We played 5 days in a row!!

This last trip I didn't have time to make other sports, but is an good place for surfing, wave runners, football, soccer and for relaxing in the beach and in the pool.

The food... awsome and you have lots of options. Sea food, international food, snaks, etc.

In a nutshell, I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilCarben, Internet Marketing Consultant at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you very much for your recent review and we are so glad you had a pleasant experience here at Las Villas Hotel & Spa. We are not only proud of the golf course, which was actually designed by the legendary Robert Trent Jones Jr, but also honored that it has been chosen to host the Mexican PGA Champonship this year – May 5-8, 2011 - one of only two events held in Mexico on the Canadian Tour’s 2011 schedule.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Also Known As:
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Address: Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
68-room oceanfront hotel in Mazatlan, Mexico within the gated community of Estrella Del Mar, just 10 minutes from Mazatlan airport. Activities and amenities include a spa, salon & workout facility, conference & wedding facilities, pool & hot-tubs, restaurant & bar, tennis courts and horseback riding, 18-hole championship golf course and 3½ miles of beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.