We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms and location, the restaurant stinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 72 hotels in Mazatlan
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful rooms and location, the restaurant stinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during Carnival as we were passing through and wanted a "quiet" evening away from the madness. It was wonderful! The property is situated about 25 kms. away from town, 3 1/2 miles of sandy beach, pools, golf, spa the works. The rooms were fabulous and the front desk staff upgraded us to an ocean front suite, magnificent with limestone floors and the works. We were looking forward to a meal that matched the rest of the surroundings and were very very disappointed. There was a bare bones wait staff, our meal was cold when served, the food was terrible and I would never recommend it. Most of the wait staff had a bad atttitude and took no pride in their job or the restaurant. Think again before staying here as it is a "drive" to venture out for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilCarben, Internet Marketing Assistant at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
While it has been over a couple of months since this review was posted, we would now like to respond by way of an update regarding the action that has been taken in the light of the comments made about the restaurant and staff.

Firstly, we would like to thank the reviewer for her candid comments. That her praise for the property and rooms was overshadowed by her experience of the restaurant was of course very disappointing for us. However, we monitor our customer feedback very closely, and this review was brought to the immediate attention of senior management who stressed that this was unacceptable and that corrective action be taken as a matter of priority.

Specific quality controls at Resort & Hotel Managerial level were instituted immediately for the restaurant, while at the same time the process began for the hiring of a new Food & Beverage Manager. We are pleased to convey that the appointment was made at the end of March and our early reports suggest that things have certainly changed for the better, both from the food quality aspect and restaurant staff. We realize that continued monitoring and solicitation of feedback is essential if this turnaround is to be maintained and again, we thank the reviewer for giving us the opportunity of improving our overall guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
28
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Mochis, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stay at this wonderful Hotel, for the Semana Santa vacations, honestly, i had been in a lot of hotels all around Mazatlan, and well as all is what it is, it depends on whats your trip propose, but if you are searching for a peace place to stay, this is the best option I'm sure you will found in town, it haves a Golf Camp with 18 holes, the garden is huge, even you can see it in Google Earth and make sure of it, it haves an artificial lake, and so many beautiful beach places, we stay in the "Hotel Side", because it haves condos and other houses around the Golf Camp and beach, it haves a good swimming pool, 2 jacuzzi, volleyball net, 2 tennis court, a gym, spa beds, and a lot of different facilities in the resort.
You wont have any disco or party places as you will find in other hotels in Mazatlan, but what you will find here is a really peaceful time, quiet nights, the sound of the sea in your window, and the wind blowing the whole day.
We take a suite which haves a little kitchen, and we bought some stuff at town, but later we discover there's a little store in the resort which haves the same prices that in the super market, so we finally decide to continue buying the things there.
Definitely i would come back to this place again.

Room Tip: I suggest to ask for the Villas with kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico city
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I´ve stayed 3 times in Las Villas Hotel (Estrella de Mar Resort) and each one of them have been very pleasant. The last time I went because of the triathlon (which I actually made), but I realy enjoyed the golf course, that is, for sure, the best and most beautiful course I've been. We played 5 days in a row!!

This last trip I didn't have time to make other sports, but is an good place for surfing, wave runners, football, soccer and for relaxing in the beach and in the pool.

The food... awsome and you have lots of options. Sea food, international food, snaks, etc.

In a nutshell, I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilCarben, Internet Marketing Consultant at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you very much for your recent review and we are so glad you had a pleasant experience here at Las Villas Hotel & Spa. We are not only proud of the golf course, which was actually designed by the legendary Robert Trent Jones Jr, but also honored that it has been chosen to host the Mexican PGA Champonship this year – May 5-8, 2011 - one of only two events held in Mexico on the Canadian Tour’s 2011 schedule.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

What a tranquil and beautiful hotel. Our room was on the beach where we watched amazing sunsets.
The room was big and very comfortable. The bathroom was so roomy and well laid out with every amenity needed.
The hotel has a wonderful spa and gym over looking the beach.
We tried all the restaurants and really enjoyed the menu and service.
For the golf lover what a course. There are several holes right on the beach, and is a challenging course.

We walked the beach and found the turtle sanctuary, very nice. I would love to go back when it is turtle season and see them going out to sea.

Room Tip: Beach front on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilCarben, Internet Marketing Consultant at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
We appreciate your kind words about the hotel. You’re right – the sunsets are amazing and almost become a ritual for many people staying with us. The best time to not only see the turtles going out to sea, but participate personally in this process, are the months of October, November and into early December, which in themselves are great months for a vacation here. Releases usually happen right after sunset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This hotel is a real gem and being brand new it will take a little time to get a following and reputation, but for me and my family it deserves just that.

We knew about it from having previously stayed in the wonderful condominium complex of Estrella Del Mar which forms part of the same resort, and while the hotel is effectively a separate entity, it shares the same fabulous location: right on the beach, adjoining a marvelous 18-hole golf course and within a private gated community.

In fact, I think it’s the location that makes it so special, so unique and the perfect place to unwind from the stresses and strains of work and all the reasons for wanting a beach vacation. That’s because instead of butting up against other hotels, this hotel and resort command 3½ miles of effectively private beachfront. No competing for sand space, interference from beach vendors or hordes of tourists and the beach itself is pristine. It literally feels like your own piece of paradise, and I think you have to walk something like 8 miles along the beach to come across the next civilization!

The hotel itself has about 70 rooms, with either a garden view or ocean view (ocean “front” being the best). We did ask to have a sneak peek inside one of the Presidential suites which looked absolutely wonderful. It’s classified as 3½ star, which is probably erring on the conservative side but the fact that it’s brand new and has so much to offer, I think people will be perfectly content. I loved the courtyard layout with the fountain in the middle – very classical. And everywhere you go, the staff is polite, smiling and very friendly. This is an often overlooked aspect of many hotel establishments, but for us makes a real difference, and especially as they went out of their way to make our daughter feel special.

As far as amenities go, one of the main attractions is the golf course. My husband played it as many times as I let him and he says it’s an absolute belter, whatever that is. Within the hotel there is a wonderful spa and workout facility and I can vouch for the quality of the deep tissue massage – simply the best I’ve had anywhere. We didn’t try it, but there’s horseback riding on the beach and tennis courts beside the hotel. Our preference though is the pool and hot-tubs (as well one for the kids) and just plain, good old-fashioned, sunbathing and relaxation. Vegetating might be an appropriate description.

The Hotel also has a first-rate restaurant and bar called Los Delfines, and we were lucky enough to be there on opening night. The place was absolutely buzzing, and it was even “blessed” – if that’s the right word – by the local religious dignitary during the evening. The menu choices were extensive, the food superb and the service exceptional. They even had live music and dancing the whole evening, and while I recognize this was a one-off, it did make for a very special occasion.

Because the hotel is only a 10 minute shuttle from the airport, you can literally be on your balcony enjoying a cold beer less than an hour after touching down and going through all the immigration and customs formalities. The town of Mazatlan is about a 25 minute drive away, and we did venture in a couple of times for a change of pace and dinner in the historic town square.

I think Las Villas Hotel is great for couples and families wanting a safe, peaceful and relaxing environment in which to enjoy the beach, pool and ocean but still have enough things to do on-site as well as be in easy reach of downtown. We loved our sunset ritual of a swim, hot-tub and a cocktail, always looked forward to the next day and already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Also Known As:
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Address: Km 10 Camino Isla de la Piedra, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
68-room oceanfront hotel in Mazatlan, Mexico within the gated community of Estrella Del Mar, just 10 minutes from Mazatlan airport. Activities and amenities include a spa, salon & workout facility, conference & wedding facilities, pool & hot-tubs, restaurant & bar, tennis courts and horseback riding, 18-hole championship golf course and 3½ miles of beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.