We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A three week stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sombrero Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sombrero Suites
1938 Camaron Sabalo | Fracc: Sabalo Country, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A three week stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good location right across from the beach. Handy to restaurants and local stores. The front bedrooms can be a bit noisy from the street. Well maintained. Kitchens are clean with all the appliances, Use of the pool and a restaurant discount at the associated Solomar Hotel next door was much appreciated. Staff is friendly and competent. Great courtyard.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed in two different rooms at the El Sombrero, one for 5 weeks and the other one later for an additional 5 weeks. The staff members are very knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms are cute and well kept up. If you are lacking anything, it will be gotten for you. I have recommended this hotel to two different groups of friends and they have all enjoyed the 2 room suites that they have gotten. I myself stayed in the one room suites which I liked very much. The location is excellent, good for walking to shops, restaurants and bars, and easy to catch a bus on the corner to go downtown. I loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Have stayed there (at all the options available, i.e. homes, hotel and other locations) many, many times and have always appreciated the excellent service and the fact of knowing that you are close to stores and restaurants, as well as being just across the street from the beach. It is very easy to take public transportation to the downtown area, as well as other options. Everything is extremely affordable and we love Pacifico, a locally produced beer. The staff at the Minnesota cafe (the restaurant at the hotel close to the Sombrero) are always friendly and responsive.

Room Tip: Only two rooms in the hotel have a king-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We returned once again to sombrero and everything was as before, facilities and people great. We have already made our reservations for November/December 2013. It's a perfect place for us, as we've done all the tourist things, and just like to hang out.......enjoy meals , drinks, and wonderful people at the Minnesota Cafe. ( also the pool at Solamar )......this within a few steps from Sombrero. We also are so welcomed, that it feels like a home away from home, we have stayed at the large resorts, and there just isn't that warmth. I certainly would recommend this place, in fact, we've had family return there year after year as well.

Room Tip: we like the front rooms, as my husband likes to people watch, the dining, kitchen area is at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasha B, Owner at Hotel Sombrero Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I am very glad that you enjoy staying with us and looking forward to seeing you real soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Clean suites, friendly and helpful staff. convenient location. A laundry, convenience stores, salon and produce available within a few steps.Many excellent restaurants with in close proximity and the bes breakfasts and waiting staff at the Minnesota Cafe. One thing that definitley need up grading ar the mattresses,quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasha B, Owner at Hotel Sombrero Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.. Even though we would like to hear good things all the time, if something isn't right we need to know to be able to fix it.. We are aware that some of the rooms do need new mattresses and started getting new ones last year.. We will continue on upgrading them throughout the year..
Just to clarify in the Restaurant there is no smoking allowed..
There is a seperate bar where people can smoke..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is one of the nicest possible properties.

Fully equipped, extremely clean, and modern facilities. Inner spring beds!!!!!
We stayed in the Ole suites which were pet-friendly. Had all of the appliances and other amenities for an enjoyable stay. Excellent customer response with several nearby restaurants, a 24 hour pharmacy, and they'll even do your laundry for you.

Room Tip: All rooms require going up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasha B, Owner at Hotel Sombrero Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi!! I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope one day you will return!!
Mazatlán is such a beautiful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have stayed at Sombrero quite a few times, and are very pleased with this accommodation....it's very clean, and importantly for us very friendly...

The cooking facilities are excellent.

Located just across from the beach...with amenities close by.

A little grocery store, produce store, and a laundry , on street level. The laundry does a really good job, so no need to bring lots of clothes.

The young men in the grocery store are very pleasant...also the staff in the produce store.

Room Tip: we like the front rooms as they have a balcony, but the back rooms overlook a very tasteful courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sombrero Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sombrero Suites

Address: 1938 Camaron Sabalo | Fracc: Sabalo Country, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suites at the Sombrero Hotel are all nicely decorated and very clean. There are 18 suites in the building. They are located on the main street, ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE BEACH , in the Golden Zone where you will find all the beach activities including parasailing, boogie boards, jets skis and much more.The JR.SUITES have 2 double beds, full kitchenette with everything that you would need to cook with and balcony big enough for table and chairs. These are above the garden area..Nice and quiet.. One Bathroom with shower.Sleeps 4The SUITES have 2 double beds tucked away in an alcove seperate from the Kitchen, Dinning and Sitting area , full kitchenette with everything that you would need to cook with and a balcony big enough for table and chairs..One bathroom with shower..These are street facing....Sleeps 4..The MASTER SUITES have a private bedroom with double bed plus the tucked away alcove with one double bed. In the Living room there is a day bed that makes into 2 twin beds..There is also a full kitchenette with everything that you would need to cook with and balcony big enough for table and chairs..There is one bathroom with shower...These are street facing .Sleeps 6.. KITCHENETTESThe kitchenettes are equipped with a fridge, small 4 burner stove with oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender, and place setting for 4 - 6 people. It also has everything that you would need to cook with..Also included are:Maid service /Linens includedCable television in English and SpanishEnglish speaking Manager available 24 hrs a day..Use of the Pool next door at the Hotel Solamar Inn..Hot waterAir Conditioning The 1st floor is made up of the office and an interior courtyard with a nice sitting / lounging area full of plants and birds..Just out front there is a laundrymat, mini super and fruit and vegetable market, arts and crafts stores..Our base is located at the Solamar Inn which is just next door.Over here is the pool , lounge chairs and a great restaurant the Minnesota cafe and Sports Bar which you are also welcome to use along with any associated discounts..At the Minnesota Cafe we also have free for you, wireless internet..Our main offices are located over here also.. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sombrero Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sombrero Suites to your Saves list