We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are You Kidding” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Palace Hotel / Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Palace Hotel / Suites to your Saves list
Luna Palace Hotel / Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, B.C>
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Are You Kidding”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

So ...many many trips to Mazatlan but very first time staying at Luna palace.
Got to the hotel at 1:30. Check in isn't till 3 o'clock and they made us sit in the lobby for 1.5 hours while we watched other people check into their rooms. People who we flew in with we having a great time in the pool drinking beer as they were checked into their room right away. A group of 10 nationals came to thendesk after us and were checked in right away. At 2:55 I asked how much longer and the guy at reception reminded me again that check in wasn't till 3 o'clock. Are you kidding me.

Once we finally got into our room it was quite lovely. A one bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms which is so convenient. A balcony out the front overlooking the ocean and a balcony off the bedroom over looking the pool which we could never leave open the first 3 days as the noise from the pool was horrible. I was sick the first 2 days from the a/c on the plane I think and there was a horrible kids band playing on the beach out front from 2 in the afternoon till 10 at night. When I called down at 9 and asked if they could just ask the music to move along the front desk girl just flatly said no.

We spent most of our time elsewhere at other resorts as the service at this hotel is just plain non-existent. The first day which was Monday that we went to the pool once all the nationals left it was extremely quiet and quite lovely but trying to get service was terrible. When we finally got a waiter to take our order and I asked if he was busy he said....no not so much. Well perhaps we could get a coke rapido. Ah no...took over 10 min.

If you are looking for a nice room in a great location just to sleep it's very good. If you are looking for wonderful service and helpful staff try the El CID. We had a fantastic time at the el CID marina every day.

Also, the food and drink here are extremely expensive. More costly then the 5 star el CID marina and btw there are no-shows hotel and the sister hotel Oceano Palace is under construction and will be for a couple years.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up so pool noise doesn't bother you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanoPalace, Public Relations Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Dear BonitaMama,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Luna Palace back in April of this year. We are transitioning our customer online response and we now have a Canadian team looking after our Canadian clients that are extremely important to us.

We would like to let you know that Oceano Palace's renovations are done. As a matter of fact they were done a few months. These renovations were never planned to last years. Both hotels have been renovated and new suites added. We have some new gorgeous Oceanview superior suites as a result of our improvements.

We are truly sorry for your experience. We would like to talk about some of the points you mentioned in your review.

Early booking is generally not an issue for any hotel. Although please keep in mind that sometimes it depends if the room designated to a particular guest has not been cleaned up yet. This is a common situation for all hotels particularly during high occupancy periods when rooms are in high demand and check outs are taking place while check ins are happening. However, we are not trying to justify what happened to you because it is unacceptable. IMPROVEMENTS: We are working very closely with our front desk personnel to avoid any delays. We know our guests are anxious to start relaxing so our check in times have improved.

Pool service improvements: With regards to the pool service, we are happy to report that the service has definitely been improved. We invite you to look into our most recent reviews where our guests (Mexicans, Canadians or Americans) have certainly praised the service. We take any review very serious and make changes to improve our guests' experience.

As for the noise, that's something we are working on it. Particularly when it comes to hotel activities or entertainment. April 2014 was an extremely busy month for us since in Mexico there's a 2 week vacation period for Easter and that's our busiest season with domestic visitors. We know it can get very noisy with Mexican visitors coming to Mazatlan to party on April. IMPROVEMENTS: We have worked on better policies to make sure someone's fun vacation is not somebody else's annoying time.

We have recently signed up with Westjet Vacations and Sunwing Vacations to offer more competitive rates for Canadians. We hope you give us another chance if you are ever visiting Mazatlan. Perhaps coming over to visit Luna Palace and see for yourself all the improvements. Please get in touch with us and our Canadian team for a follow up through our Facebook page (MazatlanPalaces) to let us know when you will visiting Mazatlan so we can perhaps treat you and your guest.

Thank you!

Luna Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    79
    42
    20
    42
See reviews for
149
103
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
british columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We are repeat customers for 7 years at Luna Palace. Hotel staff very helpful and have become good friends, their English much better than our Spanish. Very best Activities Person leading yoga on beach, water aerobics in pool, crafts, games, Spanish lessons, beach or pool volleyball, some days even Texas Holdem. The 4-section swimming pool excellent, good for all ages, from kiddie section to swim up pool bar as part of great restaurant. Luna has best location on long stretch sandy beach, good for swimming, boogie boarding, walking or jogging. Horses, sailboats, jet skis and parasailing all available on beach. Part of a great community of 3 - 4 blocks of shops, money changer (cambio), restaurants, bars, laundry, dentist, hairdresser, chiropractor massage therapist, etc. with bus, taxi etc. right in front at street. Also this hotel has very excellent security. Relax in a lounge on pool deck or under a Palapa on the beach. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Middle rooms up to 3rd or 4th floor get better WiFi in room, 6th floor might be too high, but can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanoPalace, Public Relations Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Dear Rouw,

On behalf of our people in Mazatlan and our new Canadian team in Vancouver, we would like to thank you for your review at TripAdvisor.

We will make sure we share your review with our personnel and through our social media sites. We work very hard to have happy Amigos returning year after year! Your support to locally owned and operated business has a huge impact in our local community so on behalf of our local community of Mazatlan: Gracias!

Please stay in touch with us through our Canadian Facebook page MazatlanPalaces or our Twitter account (same name) since we are always sharing news about the hotels, sales, or interesting information about Mazatlan and Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Luna Palace from March 5th to the 12 2014. We chose this hotel from the very good reviews we read. It is a clean and well kept older hotel which suited us just fine. We stayed in a junior suite however a studio would have worked just as well and we could have saved a bit of money - it really didn't provide anything more except more space if you want it. The room had a comfortable bed (king or two double) spacious kitchenette and dining room. What it really needed is a comfortable chair to sit in - unless you are satisfied with a kitchen chair or lying on the bed. There is a fabulous view of the pool and ocean - all rooms are ocean view - it is close to many shops and restaurants - we stopped doing all inclusive as the restaurants are well priced easily accessible. The bus stops in front of the hotel and it is $1.00 US to ride anywhere you want. People are great and there are many people who have been coming to Mazatlan for years each year because they just love this city. The Pueblo Benito is just next door - a little more luxurious but for the price Luna Palace fit the bill.

Room Tip: We didn't eat or drink at this place so cannot comment -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanoPalace, Public Relations Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Dear APTravel101,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Luna Palace. Seems like your second visit was a good experience. We will pass on your comment about the lack of a comfortable chair in your room.

We absolutely value our Canadian guests, as a matter of fact, we now have a Canadian team based in Vancouver, looking after any inquiries and reviews, reservations, and working very closely with travel agents to improve our guests' experience.

Our locally owned and operated hotels: Luna and Oceano Palace are looking better than ever. We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again. Please stay in touch through our Facebook page: MazatlanPalaces to find out about upcoming events, promotions, sales and news about our hotels or Mazatlan. We would love to hear from you on Facebook, please feel free to share you vacation photos.

Regards,
Luna Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell Gardens ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very good rooms . And nice people , with a very good service and atention to the visitors.my self i hahd a very good time and with all my pleasure .i'll be back there any other time , back to Mazatlan , i found this Hotel very good and enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A great experience, I loved the facilities and the good service especially in very friendly reception, very quiet beach and the pool clean which enjoy every moment trip with my family, and I highly recommend it, I love Mazatlan hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Luna Palace from February 26 to March 12 th 2014. Our room on the 6th floor (6008) was very comfortable an had an excellent ocean front view.

Many of the guests are people returning to the Luna Palace for multiple times, and it seemed like most people were happy with the hotel. The clientelle at the time of our visit were mostly retired people and Mexican families.

The Luna Palace is an older hotel, however the grounds are well kept and it looked like our room had been partially renovated in the recent past. The bed was very comfortable, and the furnishings were adequate. The kitchenette hot plate needs to be updated, and there could be better kitchen supplies, but it was adequate to prepare a few simple meals when we didn't feel like going out. We only ate at the on-site restaurant one time, and the food and service were fine but not outstanding. There are a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance. There are limited ammenities at the hotel, but there is all of Mazatlan to be enjoyed just outside your front door.

We would like to make special mention of our housekeeper Martha who is a very hard worker and kept our room spotless. We fould all of the staff helpful and accomodating.

Overall, we found this hotel to be comfortable and provides good value for your vacation dollar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed a Luna Palace during Carnaval this winter and quite enjoyed ourselves. We had a kitchenette suite which allowed us to make our own breakfasts. It is a very basic kitchen set up - fridge, 2 burner cooktop, microwave, coffeemaker and toaster - but enough to get our day started without having to go out for brekkie every day. In order to use the kitchen you ahve to ask teh concierge to unlock the cabinets that have the plates, cutlery and pans. The fridge was unplugged when we got to the room but that was an easy fix for us. Our only disappointment with the room was that there were 2 double beds which made for very cozy sleeping! There seemed to be no option to have one larger bed in that type of suite. We walked the length of the beach in front of the hotel both ways which was a very pleasant 7 km. We went out to the end of the breakwater one night but were quickly turned back by the incoming tide! Be careful folks - you run the risk of being drenched! No real danger though. We went to La Katrina and Panchos and had great meals (both within walking distance). La Katrina has a wonderful singer on Wednesday evenings. The place hops when she is belting out tunes. The staff recommended Costa Marinera for dinner one evening but we weren't impressed. Uninspired IMO. All in all, Luna Palace was a nice place to hang our hats at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor (3006) and views were mostly obstructed by trees. Room higher up would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Luna Palace Hotel / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Palace Hotel / Suites

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Palace Hotel / Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Palace has a reputation of excellence in service and a home-away-from-home atmosphere. Luna Palace favourite among short and long stay travellers, as it offers fully equipped kitchenettes in every suite, as well as a beach front restaurant with a la Carte service. Our 71 suites are newly renovated, and all have a private balcony with an ocean view which offers a great opportunity to share quality time with your family or on your business. Location: Golden Zone of Mazatlan 30 minutes from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 from aquarium, and 10 to golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luna Palace Hotel / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Palace Resort All Inclusive
Luna Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.