We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luna Palace most comfortable friendly hotel, best beach and neighborhood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luna Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
british columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luna Palace most comfortable friendly hotel, best beach and neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We are repeat customers for 7 years at Luna Palace. Hotel staff very helpful and have become good friends, their English much better than our Spanish. Very best Activities Person leading yoga on beach, water aerobics in pool, crafts, games, Spanish lessons, beach or pool volleyball, some days even Texas Holdem. The 4-section swimming pool excellent, good for all ages, from kiddie section to swim up pool bar as part of great restaurant. Luna has best location on long stretch sandy beach, good for swimming, boogie boarding, walking or jogging. Horses, sailboats, jet skis and parasailing all available on beach. Part of a great community of 3 - 4 blocks of shops, money changer (cambio), restaurants, bars, laundry, dentist, hairdresser, chiropractor massage therapist, etc. with bus, taxi etc. right in front at street. Also this hotel has very excellent security. Relax in a lounge on pool deck or under a Palapa on the beach. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Middle rooms up to 3rd or 4th floor get better WiFi in room, 6th floor might be too high, but can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    65
    37
    18
    41
See reviews for
128
88
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Luna Palace from March 5th to the 12 2014. We chose this hotel from the very good reviews we read. It is a clean and well kept older hotel which suited us just fine. We stayed in a junior suite however a studio would have worked just as well and we could have saved a bit of money - it really didn't provide anything more except more space if you want it. The room had a comfortable bed (king or two double) spacious kitchenette and dining room. What it really needed is a comfortable chair to sit in - unless you are satisfied with a kitchen chair or lying on the bed. There is a fabulous view of the pool and ocean - all rooms are ocean view - it is close to many shops and restaurants - we stopped doing all inclusive as the restaurants are well priced easily accessible. The bus stops in front of the hotel and it is $1.00 US to ride anywhere you want. People are great and there are many people who have been coming to Mazatlan for years each year because they just love this city. The Pueblo Benito is just next door - a little more luxurious but for the price Luna Palace fit the bill.

Room Tip: We didn't eat or drink at this place so cannot comment -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell Gardens ca.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Very good rooms . And nice people , with a very good service and atention to the visitors.my self i hahd a very good time and with all my pleasure .i'll be back there any other time , back to Mazatlan , i found this Hotel very good and enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A great experience, I loved the facilities and the good service especially in very friendly reception, very quiet beach and the pool clean which enjoy every moment trip with my family, and I highly recommend it, I love Mazatlan hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Luna Palace from February 26 to March 12 th 2014. Our room on the 6th floor (6008) was very comfortable an had an excellent ocean front view.

Many of the guests are people returning to the Luna Palace for multiple times, and it seemed like most people were happy with the hotel. The clientelle at the time of our visit were mostly retired people and Mexican families.

The Luna Palace is an older hotel, however the grounds are well kept and it looked like our room had been partially renovated in the recent past. The bed was very comfortable, and the furnishings were adequate. The kitchenette hot plate needs to be updated, and there could be better kitchen supplies, but it was adequate to prepare a few simple meals when we didn't feel like going out. We only ate at the on-site restaurant one time, and the food and service were fine but not outstanding. There are a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance. There are limited ammenities at the hotel, but there is all of Mazatlan to be enjoyed just outside your front door.

We would like to make special mention of our housekeeper Martha who is a very hard worker and kept our room spotless. We fould all of the staff helpful and accomodating.

Overall, we found this hotel to be comfortable and provides good value for your vacation dollar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed a Luna Palace during Carnaval this winter and quite enjoyed ourselves. We had a kitchenette suite which allowed us to make our own breakfasts. It is a very basic kitchen set up - fridge, 2 burner cooktop, microwave, coffeemaker and toaster - but enough to get our day started without having to go out for brekkie every day. In order to use the kitchen you ahve to ask teh concierge to unlock the cabinets that have the plates, cutlery and pans. The fridge was unplugged when we got to the room but that was an easy fix for us. Our only disappointment with the room was that there were 2 double beds which made for very cozy sleeping! There seemed to be no option to have one larger bed in that type of suite. We walked the length of the beach in front of the hotel both ways which was a very pleasant 7 km. We went out to the end of the breakwater one night but were quickly turned back by the incoming tide! Be careful folks - you run the risk of being drenched! No real danger though. We went to La Katrina and Panchos and had great meals (both within walking distance). La Katrina has a wonderful singer on Wednesday evenings. The place hops when she is belting out tunes. The staff recommended Costa Marinera for dinner one evening but we weren't impressed. Uninspired IMO. All in all, Luna Palace was a nice place to hang our hats at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor (3006) and views were mostly obstructed by trees. Room higher up would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived in Mazatalan on March 1 / 2014 and were taken to the Luna Palace. Ozzie and Hydi from Prona Tours as usual were there to meet us and take us to our hotel the Luna Palace. Thank you Westjet by the way for moving us from the Oceano Palace (still under renovations) to her sister the Luna Palace you did us proud again looking out for our interests (Well Done) The Staff at the Luna Place was great except for one desk clerk named Laida she is IMO, one of the rudest people I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. I at first thought she may have been having a bad day but her attatude didn't change the whole 2 weeks we were there. There were other desk clerks that were great like Raul with his ever present smile and warmth. The Luna 's rooms are a bit outdated but so are most of the Mazatlan hotels. Our room was more then enough for us we had a Jr suite, it was clean thanks to our maid Perla who took very good care of us during our 2 week stay. The bed had a pillow top mattress, I slept like a baby. The pool was great, our pool side waiter George was great. Everything about this hotel was great. Great beach location as well can't waite to return next year. Laida just learn to smile dear your way to pretty to be rude.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Palace Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Palace Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Luna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Palace Resort All Inclusive
Luna Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.