We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Palace Hotel / Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Palace Hotel / Suites to your Saves list
Luna Palace Hotel / Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Luna Palace from March 5th to the 12 2014. We chose this hotel from the very good reviews we read. It is a clean and well kept older hotel which suited us just fine. We stayed in a junior suite however a studio would have worked just as well and we could have saved a bit of money - it really didn't provide anything more except more space if you want it. The room had a comfortable bed (king or two double) spacious kitchenette and dining room. What it really needed is a comfortable chair to sit in - unless you are satisfied with a kitchen chair or lying on the bed. There is a fabulous view of the pool and ocean - all rooms are ocean view - it is close to many shops and restaurants - we stopped doing all inclusive as the restaurants are well priced easily accessible. The bus stops in front of the hotel and it is $1.00 US to ride anywhere you want. People are great and there are many people who have been coming to Mazatlan for years each year because they just love this city. The Pueblo Benito is just next door - a little more luxurious but for the price Luna Palace fit the bill.

Room Tip: We didn't eat or drink at this place so cannot comment -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanoPalace, Public Relations Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear APTravel101,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Luna Palace. Seems like your second visit was a good experience. We will pass on your comment about the lack of a comfortable chair in your room.

We absolutely value our Canadian guests, as a matter of fact, we now have a Canadian team based in Vancouver, looking after any inquiries and reviews, reservations, and working very closely with travel agents to improve our guests' experience.

Our locally owned and operated hotels: Luna and Oceano Palace are looking better than ever. We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again. Please stay in touch through our Facebook page: MazatlanPalaces to find out about upcoming events, promotions, sales and news about our hotels or Mazatlan. We would love to hear from you on Facebook, please feel free to share you vacation photos.

Regards,
Luna Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    68
    39
    19
    41
See reviews for
130
91
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bell Gardens ca.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Very good rooms . And nice people , with a very good service and atention to the visitors.my self i hahd a very good time and with all my pleasure .i'll be back there any other time , back to Mazatlan , i found this Hotel very good and enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A great experience, I loved the facilities and the good service especially in very friendly reception, very quiet beach and the pool clean which enjoy every moment trip with my family, and I highly recommend it, I love Mazatlan hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Luna Palace from February 26 to March 12 th 2014. Our room on the 6th floor (6008) was very comfortable an had an excellent ocean front view.

Many of the guests are people returning to the Luna Palace for multiple times, and it seemed like most people were happy with the hotel. The clientelle at the time of our visit were mostly retired people and Mexican families.

The Luna Palace is an older hotel, however the grounds are well kept and it looked like our room had been partially renovated in the recent past. The bed was very comfortable, and the furnishings were adequate. The kitchenette hot plate needs to be updated, and there could be better kitchen supplies, but it was adequate to prepare a few simple meals when we didn't feel like going out. We only ate at the on-site restaurant one time, and the food and service were fine but not outstanding. There are a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance. There are limited ammenities at the hotel, but there is all of Mazatlan to be enjoyed just outside your front door.

We would like to make special mention of our housekeeper Martha who is a very hard worker and kept our room spotless. We fould all of the staff helpful and accomodating.

Overall, we found this hotel to be comfortable and provides good value for your vacation dollar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed a Luna Palace during Carnaval this winter and quite enjoyed ourselves. We had a kitchenette suite which allowed us to make our own breakfasts. It is a very basic kitchen set up - fridge, 2 burner cooktop, microwave, coffeemaker and toaster - but enough to get our day started without having to go out for brekkie every day. In order to use the kitchen you ahve to ask teh concierge to unlock the cabinets that have the plates, cutlery and pans. The fridge was unplugged when we got to the room but that was an easy fix for us. Our only disappointment with the room was that there were 2 double beds which made for very cozy sleeping! There seemed to be no option to have one larger bed in that type of suite. We walked the length of the beach in front of the hotel both ways which was a very pleasant 7 km. We went out to the end of the breakwater one night but were quickly turned back by the incoming tide! Be careful folks - you run the risk of being drenched! No real danger though. We went to La Katrina and Panchos and had great meals (both within walking distance). La Katrina has a wonderful singer on Wednesday evenings. The place hops when she is belting out tunes. The staff recommended Costa Marinera for dinner one evening but we weren't impressed. Uninspired IMO. All in all, Luna Palace was a nice place to hang our hats at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor (3006) and views were mostly obstructed by trees. Room higher up would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived in Mazatalan on March 1 / 2014 and were taken to the Luna Palace. Ozzie and Hydi from Prona Tours as usual were there to meet us and take us to our hotel the Luna Palace. Thank you Westjet by the way for moving us from the Oceano Palace (still under renovations) to her sister the Luna Palace you did us proud again looking out for our interests (Well Done) The Staff at the Luna Place was great except for one desk clerk named Laida she is IMO, one of the rudest people I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. I at first thought she may have been having a bad day but her attatude didn't change the whole 2 weeks we were there. There were other desk clerks that were great like Raul with his ever present smile and warmth. The Luna 's rooms are a bit outdated but so are most of the Mazatlan hotels. Our room was more then enough for us we had a Jr suite, it was clean thanks to our maid Perla who took very good care of us during our 2 week stay. The bed had a pillow top mattress, I slept like a baby. The pool was great, our pool side waiter George was great. Everything about this hotel was great. Great beach location as well can't waite to return next year. Laida just learn to smile dear your way to pretty to be rude.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at the Luna Palace in February 2014. I found the place to be very clean, the bed comfortable, king pillow top, The shower was great, lots of hot water and great pressure. The view of the ocean great from little balcony accessed by a sliding door. The pool was crystal clear. The staff was very helpful. especially a man named George who helped me through a sick day by bringing me chicken soup. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good value.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view because they all have a balcony that face the water. The lower floors th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Palace Hotel / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Palace Hotel / Suites

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Palace Hotel / Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Palace has a reputation of excellence in service and a home-away-from-home atmosphere. Luna Palace favourite among short and long stay travellers, as it offers fully equipped kitchenettes in every suite, as well as a beach front restaurant with a la Carte service. Our 71 suites are newly renovated, and all have a private balcony with an ocean view which offers a great opportunity to share quality time with your family or on your business. Location: Golden Zone of Mazatlan 30 minutes from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 from aquarium, and 10 to golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luna Palace Hotel / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Palace Resort All Inclusive
Luna Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.