We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luna Palace One Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luna Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Luna Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 72 hotels in Mazatlan
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    65
    37
    17
    40
See reviews for
126
83
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, EEUU
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Staff was over the top helpful and knowledgeable. Beds extremely comfortable. Very clean. Balcony allowed fresh air, nice pool area, this hotel was exactly what I was looking for. everything was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, General Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello Geo O

I appreciate your feedback is very important to us and that the hotel was what you are looking for and its good to hear from you we have covered your expectations in quality and service,we hope to see you again soon

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hi, my wife and kids booked a Junior Suite at this hotel, advertised as including full breakfast, parking, and wireless internet. She had to argue at the front desk about the breakfast, and after much debate agreed to give her 2 continental breakfast (although there were 3 of them, and the reservation indicated full breakfast). There is NO wifi connections when you are in your room, and her phone in her room was out of order. When she asked to speak to the manager, they indicated there were no managers??? The only plus about this hotel, is that it has a nice pool for the kids to play on. At the end of the day if you want to save yourself a headache, do not stay at this hotel. Lots of other quality places to stay at in Mazatlan, stay away from Luna Palace!!!

Room Tip: My tip for any traveller choose a room is.....choose a room elsewhere, this place offers no customer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed only briefly, wanting to sample various hotels in Mazatlan, but found the accommodations at Luna Palace very comfortable and clean. The pool was clean and warm, there was always a staff member watching over things from a pleasing distance, and there was a delightful small pool area for the kids as part of the big pool. There was also a swim-up bar, although it was not serving at the time we were there; maybe it is a late-night thing. The staff was helpful with small pieces of local advice (restaurants, etc). We did not care for the restaurant food but there are other places to eat within walking distance. The bar service at the pool was very nice. We were approached by a time-share person but told them a decisive "no" immediately and were not bothered again; they just wished us a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: You might wish to ask to be close to the elevator; there is only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello Island Hopper

First of all your comments are very important to us and to know that your stay at Luna Palace was exellent and you have found quality service in all our areas. Thank you for having stayed with us and we hope to see you again soon


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sask, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the 4th winter we have spent at the Luna Palace , And as before it was a great stay. The front deck staff we great they spoke very good english and were always willing to help anything that you needed. We did not eat at the restraunt, but the waiter staff were around the pool if you needed them for drinks and snacks. The bell man was supper always ready to help with your load of groceries. The rooms were always cleaned in good time.And the maid staff were very friendly. The only thing that could of been better was to turn the heat up in the pool as on most days it was very cool. Ok for kids cause they don't notice the cool water but for us older one we like it just a little warmer. Overall will stay there again to us its like being home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello Sams- Canada Deb


First of all Thank you for you loyalty to Luna Palace,being the fourth time that you stay with us. For us your comments are very important and also the Knowledge that the quality of the service were to you satisfaccion

Thank again for your comments and We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Luna Palace has about 70 room. All have balconies they face the ocean as well as kitchenettes. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms large enough to longer stays. A safe is provided so you can lock up your valuables. The staff is friendly and helpful. Luna Palace is close to many restaurants and buses stop out front.

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the morning get a room with a low number (i.e. 4001 - 4003). There are 9 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello Patrick D


your comments are very important to Luna Palace and I am Glad to Know that the Hotel met all your expectations and you enjoyed a Great Vacation

I will pass your comments to our Staff and Thanks for you preference

Look Forward to see you Again soon


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Luna Palace for close to three months this winter, January 1 to March 19. We had picked out this hotel last year, when friends who were staying showed us the one-bedroom suite they were staying in, we liked it a lot, and found out that the monthly rates quoted to us over the winter months were almost within our peso range. And after a poor experience elsewhere, we were prepared to spoil ourselves for a bit more comfort.

Over the summer, we were surprised and delighted to see the hotel climb in the TA rankings to fourth place, so we finally booked in the fall, asking for a one-room suite on the ground or second floor...mobility issues.

On arrival, we were absolutely blown away by getting room 1001, ground floor with huge patio as close to the beach as any place in Mazatlan, and a smaller patio overlooking the pool off our bedroom.

This hotel has undergone extensive upgrades over the last three or four years, which are on-going judging from the new appliances appearing from time to time, so any reviews from a few years ago are clearly way out of date. The only negative reviews we read on arrival were the loud wedding parties over Christmas, but during our stay any weddings were strictly time controlled, and no problem whatsoever. Presumably management listened.

Service all round was excellent. A few minor issues after a quiet few months before we arrived were quickly taken care of, the desk was tremendous and quite bi-lingual, the maid service spotless and accommodating, and the wireless internet was free and reliable....at least where we were. The kitchen supplies were all we needed, although we do bring some of our old familiar stuff with us to Mazatlan.

The views both morning and evening were to die for, either the beaches north and south, or the pool area. The only negative was that we couldn’t eat out on the big patio until late into the trip because of those damn north winds blowing, but that’s hardly the fault of Luna Palace!

Overall, a tremendous stay, we were made to feel entirely welcome everywhere, and made many new friends, and we will be looking to repeat the experience next year, all being well. Even the time-share people backed off quickly......

Room Tip: One-bedroom suites preferable, the regular suites are a little small for some. If possible, rooms x...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello Nails


Thank you very much for you comments and thank you also for giving us the opportunity to serve you, we are pleased to Know that we meet your expectations and that you liked the Room a lot, I do appreciate the comments of Luna Palace Staff, I will let them know

we hope to see you again soon


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Palace Hotel

Also Known As:
Luna Palace Resort All Inclusive
Luna Palace Mazatlan
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Palace Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Luna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.