We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Palace Hotel / Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Palace Hotel / Suites to your Saves list
Luna Palace Hotel / Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
british columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just spent our 6th trip at the Luna Palace, and after coming to Mexico for about 20 years, Luna Palace is the best, clean and fresh.. The staff is so friendly and cheerful, and service great. We feel like family here. It is great for any age group, except perhaps the spring break crowd, who don't come here. Late night activity is only once in a while for a wedding.  The heated pool and one-level pool deck / patio is great for both adults and children, 3 main depths, children's area nicely separated with slides and landscaping. When we brought family with us, we hardly got our grandsons, aged 3 and 6, out of the pool. Lots of palm trees, and situated by the best beach in Mazatlan. Also in a wonderful neighborhood, fine shops, cafes, music, little grocery stores all welcoming us back again. Easy walking taxi or bus system. Wish holiday longer. Enjoy!

Room Tip: WiFi here but 7th floor too high for it. OK in bar / restaurant. Lower rooms shady & quite coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    83
    42
    22
    42
See reviews for
156
105
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RiversideCa.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our room was large, comfortable and had a fantastic view of the ocean. The service was excellent all around. The hotel was clean, breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The price was very reasonable for Mazatlán, Go back any time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Emma

your feedback is very impñortant to Luna Palace Hotel, we are pleased to know that was your liked our hotel in service and quality, we hope to see you again soon


Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Hotel Luna Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I read some earlier reviews about the noise and uncleanliness experienced here, and thought c'mon it can't be that bad... and I was right! First of all, you're on a vacation so why let the small stuff get to you? We had no hot water for a few hours until it was fixed.. Big deal, it's all part of the adventure! People you need to lighten up and realize the world doesn't revolve around you! This hotel is the perfect location for shops, restaurants, convenience stores and a pharamacy. The staff are very fluent in English and most helpful with tours and questions in general. My bed was incredibly comfortable and I loved the view from the 8th floor. Cleaning staff sweep and mopped my room each day. No complaints about staying here for my 2 week vacation!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room (ocean view) if you want to hear the waves of the ocean slap against the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear ABTRAVELER64

We apprecite your comments as they are very important to us, we are very pleased that the hotel meet your expectetion.
we will look forwards having the opportunity of serving you.


Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Luna Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just back from Mazatlan. We have visited Mazatlan about 5 times over the years. This was our first stay on Luna, and we really enjoyed ourselves. Every room is ocean view. Our room was a suite and so spacious with an amazing view. But the best attribute about Luna is the staff! Very friendly, and like family by the time you leave. Would stay there again for sure! Great housekeeping, service, quiet & comfortable! When you meet Hector, as seen in attached photo, say Hi from Kevin & Katrina :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Katrina S

Your comments are very important to us , we are happy to know you enjoyed your holidays and that the Luna Palace Hotel, Liked you for its, Service and Quality
Thank you for you review, I will pass your comments to our Staff,
We hope to see you again soon


Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Luna Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The only good thing about this Hotel is the GREAT staff and the location and its cheap, but you get what you pay for. We were kept up till 2:00.am on many nights. The hotel caters to the general public with weddings, graduations, Christmas partys. The music actually made our hoteal windows rattle, the pool was so cold that nobody could enjoy it. It was very sad. We were told by people that the owner has no regard for his guests. He says if you don't like it LEAVE !! WE will never stay there again. WE would rather spend more money and get a Hotel that cares. The pool deck would have no room for the guests to enjoy the day, because it would be taken over with tables and chairs for the partys. Again I would like to thank the WONDERFUL staff. They put up with non stop compaints from guests. We were not the only ones complaining. Jill & Dave

Room Tip: sorry but there are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Jill r.

We appreciate your comments, they are very important to our hotel, we will take action to what you described . I do appreciate the comments of Luna Palace Staff,. well let them know


Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Luna Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a family trip in early December. I was a little torn between this hotel and another one that seemed to be more "popular" but it seemed as if the staff at the other hotel up the street were snooty and felt their hotel was the best. So I decided on Luna Palace with my family. It was a great quiet hotel with very friendly and amicable staff. The receptionists were delightful, friendly, and even spoke some English :-) . The hotel was down a ways on the beach strip to make for a nice stay. The rooms were cute and small with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool area and a view of the ocean. The poolside was great for the whole family, there was a kiddie wading pool and a pool for adults. I would recommend this hotel because everyone was so friendly and on time with requests. It is a beautiful property. I loved every bit of it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkalnd,WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We bought a vacation package through US Airways and booked this hotel for 8 nights. After we arrived, we found out that it hosts weddings for Friday, Saturday and Sunday evening in the courtyard at the swimming pool area. The band was very loud and every room could hear it. It lasted until 2:00am. We suffered through our first two nights (12/22 and 12/23) but had to move out for our last two nights (12/28 and 12/29). Neither the hotel nor the US Airways would reimburse us for the nights we paid this hotel through the US Airways.

The hotel was clean, has nice sized Junior Suite, good location, nice swimming pool but very limited services: No laundry, no gym, no concierge, no maps or any guides. It seemed to cater to Mexicans. The staffs were very nice but Only 1 or 2 spoke English.

You can not use the room phone directly dial even local numbers but to go through the front desk, which is not convenient and lots of times the phone was busy. The wireless Wi-Fi was very slow.

We only had one breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. The food was normal but very expensive compared to many restaurants across street.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is very nice for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.2 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#31 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#2 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#7 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
#29 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#8 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Palace Hotel / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Palace Hotel / Suites

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Palace Hotel / Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Palace has a reputation of excellence in service and a home-away-from-home atmosphere. Luna Palace favourite among short and long stay travellers, as it offers fully equipped kitchenettes in every suite, as well as a beach front restaurant with a la Carte service. Our 71 suites are newly renovated, and all have a private balcony with an ocean view which offers a great opportunity to share quality time with your family or on your business. Location: Golden Zone of Mazatlan 30 minutes from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 from aquarium, and 10 to golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luna Palace Hotel / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Palace Resort All Inclusive
Luna Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Palace Hotel / Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.