We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luna Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
san francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a family trip in early December. I was a little torn between this hotel and another one that seemed to be more "popular" but it seemed as if the staff at the other hotel up the street were snooty and felt their hotel was the best. So I decided on Luna Palace with my family. It was a great quiet hotel with very friendly and amicable staff. The receptionists were delightful, friendly, and even spoke some English :-) . The hotel was down a ways on the beach strip to make for a nice stay. The rooms were cute and small with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool area and a view of the ocean. The poolside was great for the whole family, there was a kiddie wading pool and a pool for adults. I would recommend this hotel because everyone was so friendly and on time with requests. It is a beautiful property. I loved every bit of it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    65
    37
    18
    41
See reviews for
128
88
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkalnd,WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We bought a vacation package through US Airways and booked this hotel for 8 nights. After we arrived, we found out that it hosts weddings for Friday, Saturday and Sunday evening in the courtyard at the swimming pool area. The band was very loud and every room could hear it. It lasted until 2:00am. We suffered through our first two nights (12/22 and 12/23) but had to move out for our last two nights (12/28 and 12/29). Neither the hotel nor the US Airways would reimburse us for the nights we paid this hotel through the US Airways.

The hotel was clean, has nice sized Junior Suite, good location, nice swimming pool but very limited services: No laundry, no gym, no concierge, no maps or any guides. It seemed to cater to Mexicans. The staffs were very nice but Only 1 or 2 spoke English.

You can not use the room phone directly dial even local numbers but to go through the front desk, which is not convenient and lots of times the phone was busy. The wireless Wi-Fi was very slow.

We only had one breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. The food was normal but very expensive compared to many restaurants across street.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is very nice for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a medium sized hotel that in the wintertime seems to cater to a few snowbirds and Mexican tourists. The rooms are comfortable with fabulous views, equipped with stove, refrigerator, lock safe and small eating area. Each room has a small balcony facing the water where you can sit and relax. The poolside is gorgeous. The staff was so attentive, if you needed something you got it in less than 5 minutes. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Perhaps the only downside is that the food in the restaurant was not the greatest and the hotel is not equipped as handicapped accessible. I couldn't travel there with my father who needs handrails on stairs and low steps to enter a pool. I will surely return with my husband. Love the front desk staff : >)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple ridge BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I travelled with my two children ages 6 and 11. Our room was 3001 beautiful view of the ocean and pool. The rooms are huge,beds were super comfy! The wifi worked everywhere at the resort, in the rooms on the beach, and in the restaurant!!
The kids and I felt safe we were well looked after,I would recommend this hotel any time :)
A special thanks to the hotel staff Jesus,Berenice,Jesus (bell boy) and Jorge from the bar!! see you guys next year :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, USA.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in Luna Palace for vacation. The rooms, pool were more than I expected. While our room was a bit small, it had a great view and was always clean. I would choose this hotel again for sure! Staff were more than helpful and any request was handled quickly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Needed a place to stay for a few days. WouLd not stay again. The hotel needs some serious updating. Our sliding patio door did not lock, we had a lizard on our ceiling, bugs on the floor, air conditioner fan roared, wifi only worked in the lobby and it only has one elevator. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to some good restaurants.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Jalisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated on the beach and the view from the room is fabulous. Rooms are spacious with coffee pot, ironing board, hair dryer and lots of closet space. This hotel is smaller than many of the other hotels, yet it is done well. Lobby, landscaping and one pool was attractive, clean, updated, and well maintained. Staff was friendly and accommodating. It is a very pretty setting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Palace Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Palace Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Luna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Palace Resort All Inclusive
Luna Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.