We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luna Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were in Mazatlan March19,2012 through April 2nd. We had an amazing time. The hotel was very clean and looked after. The staff very friendly and helpful. The only concern we had was that if we wanted to drink at the pool we had to purchase drinks at the pool bar which were very expensive in comparison to other bars in the area..they did not have happy hour..on the upside there are many restaurants and bars within walking distance where we had a great time and awesome food

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    65
    37
    18
    41
See reviews for
128
87
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherokee, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Another year in Mazatlan. This year we stayed at the Luna Palace for 12 days. Luna is located in north end of Golden Zone area, on the beach. with many fine restaurants, plenty of shopping for a little of everything you might need and all of the amenities of the larger resorts. Our room was awwww dropping gorgeous..newly updated with kitchenette including all the must haves for use and the most comfortable KING SIZE bed we've ever slept on in Mexico. We had full view of the ocean from our room and balcony and below the semi-heated pool. The staff was always ready to assist in any way they could. All were very nice every day of our stay, some went above and beyond making us so very welcome. i prefer a smaller resort for so many reasons and the Luna did not disappoint.

Room Tip: We like to stay in rooms on higher floors for views and such....Fish Market, 3 Amigos, Fat Fish and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We really didn't enjoy our time at the Luna and left for elsewhere in Mazatlan at our first opportunity.

The front desk staff aren't particularly friendly or helpful. It literally took an hour and a half for us to acquire a room service menu which involved about 5 phone calls and 2 trips down to reception (where we were told they wouldn't give us one as there was already some one on the way to the room with one). It felt like they were playing games with us, it was really that ridiculous.

The maid would pester us if we hung the do not disturb sign (because they make good money from the tips when they clean your room). One day even calling out to my girlfriend through the door and then trying to let herself in!

A wedding by the pool on the friday night was the worst though. We were on the 7th floor, not facing the pool yet the music was ridiculously loud until 3 30am. By no means are we whiney retirees mind you, we're both under 30 and enjoy partying as much as anyone. I'd like to be able to sleep in the room I've paid good money for though!

The waiters/bar staff were nice!

If by some misfortune you end up here, take solace that there's a great breakfast spot across the road, amazing orange juice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Mn.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Trip a was great! A little windy, cold for this time of year.
Too bad the bad press has hurt the bussiness's down there!!! I have never seen so many Police and Federally's in and around town!
you are safe, we were there for 12 days and no problem! the food was great and the service was wonderful and we took the bus everywhere we went....I also had a crown put on at the Mexican Dental Vacation Dental! very reasonable! Not much in vendors, just the same ones over and over and they give up. We met up with friends and enjoyed our time!!! This is our 12th trip and love it there~

Room Tip: get your room above 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover, mn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed here with a friend the 2nd week of February. Quick check in, we had so much help right away, getting our bags to the room, setting up the safety deposit staff, getting extra blankets etc. Staff extremely helpful. Room was awesome! 2nd floor, with balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. Room came with kitchenette, electronic in-room safe,etc. The beds were the best I've ever had in mexico! Location is fine.. close to a lot, or a short pulmonia ride away.They had security at all times. Felt safe. All good, no problems.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed for 9 days in early February. I was told if I was expecting the "Ritz" I would be disappointed. I was not expecting much. We had a package with U S Air and I was very nervous about the Hotel because it wasn't very expensive after you factored out the airfare. Was I pleasantly surprised. We had a corner room (1002) on the first floor, large patio, and a great ocean view. I had asked for a bottle of wine to be in the room when we arrived (33rd anniversary) and it was waiting for us. The maid had left beads on the bed that said welcome (I think) in Spanish and left a couple of towel animals for us. The pool was large and plenty of seating. With the exception of "George" service was lacking but it wasn't far to get to the bar.

Check in was quick. We had a studio and it had plenty of room for the both of us with a king sized bed that was softer than I have come to expect in Mexico. The refrigerator and coffee maker worked great. Martha, the housekeeper, did a great job of cleaning the room.

I don't think the hotel was very full. We ate at the restaurant twice and the food was good and reasonably priced and the service was good. There is no entertainment and it is a very quiet hotel, which is what we were looking for. There were places within walking distance for excitement.

I would rate this hotel better than average and for the price we paid an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I took a solo trip to Mazatlan in Sep. it was an amazing trip. From Phx. to Mtz. and three nights for less than $400.00 the hotel was right on the beach, great location and safe. They have a guard 24 hrs. so I didn't worry much, took walks on the beach and enjoy the pool bar, with a restaurante on the property, rooms with a balcony and ac, fridge, coffe makers(take some filters and your own coffee) otherwise there is a small convenience store walking distance. quiet at night and comfortable bed. If you want to be where there is not a lot of tourist crowd I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms have ocean view. for not extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Palace Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Palace Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Luna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Palace Resort All Inclusive
Luna Palace Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.